We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at Shady”
Review of The Shady Oak Pub

The Shady Oak Pub
Ranked #22 of 40 Restaurants in Tarporley
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Shady Oak is a newly refurbished country free house under the ownership of a family business. The pub is situated on the side of the Shropshire Union Canal, with beautiful views of Beeston and Peckforton Castle from our large beer garden. We serve food daily, as well as a wide range of lagers, ciders, traditional ales, wines and tea and coffees. The Shady Oak also has a campsite on the grounds, with hardstanding pitches for caravans and many pitches for tents, with the option of electric hook up on every pitch as well as a well maintained shower block and washing facilities. In the pub, we allow dogs up in our 'top bar' to allow a separate area for those who may wish to drink/dine with their canine friends.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Have been visiting the Shady Oak, since I was (very) young. Have a photo of exterior as it was, well before it was extended/altered. Seen a succession of landlords come and go. The Landlord & Landlady are giving it a really good go, are very down to earth, friendly and work extremely hard, as they have been since they moved in. A vast improvement on the previous 'Piano Bar' !!! Meals are well cooked, and a good choice selection, staff are friendly and can't fault anything. Please give them a break, as when moved in they had a lot to organise due to 'the other lot' who had moved out........ As for credit/debit cards not being accepted, well, there are enough signs around to inform people of the fact.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jane Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you are happy with what we have done to the shady,we just think that it deserved to be a real country pub again! i would love a copy of the photo you have of the old shady! would look great up in the pub, we do try to please everyone not always possible! some people want more than we have to offer, but! most people seem to like what we have done! hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 411 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Absolutely brilliant time had by us and friends great food, very friendly and down to earth.(proper people) great evening entertainment with chris the landlord. even got up and did a turn .great settings and tranquil, will be going back next week . come and join us !!!! (mark from Bolton )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mark-from-bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

thank you so much for your lovely review! we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked the entertainment, we try to make the shady very relaxed so that everyone can let there hair down and chill, look forward to seing you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Went for a last minute weekend with our friends in two camper vans - got a real welcome, fantastic food really reasonably priced, beer not overpriced as with some campsites and enjoyed a great night singing in the pub. The camping facilities were fine - everything you need. Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gillyarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

thank you so much for your review, its so nice to be appreciated for what we are! we do not try to be something we are not, just real food & real prices! the campsite is basic but, in a beautiful setting,and for only £13 per night with ehu, and free entertainment at night, yes we are in the heart of cheshire but no frills! just good down to earth hospitality, i just wish all customers were like you ! thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I went with my daughter for lunch on a Tuesday . We had about an hour or so before an appointment . The pub was not very busy, about 15 or so people eating. Only one staff behind the bar and one bringing food out from the kitchen. We ordered our food but it soon became obvious that other people had been waiting a while for there food order. After half an hour we started to get a bit anxious as time was going on. After three quarters of an hour we asked how long it would be before our food came (one plough mans and one omelette, not exactly hi tech). We were told there were just finishing them off. After another ten minutes we had to tell the waitress we had to go as we were going to be late for our appointment. We were then told it was ready to be served, we explained that unfortunately we did not have enough time to eat it, had we know there was going to be 45 minute wait we would not have ordered . We were met with a quite abrupt "we'll it's been cooked now" . We were not given a refund of our money and left without an apology. A group of five people were also waiting for food after us and after talking to them they were not impressed by the attitude either.
Very disappointing and will not be recommending or returning again .

4  Thank arenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

not very busy! we had 24 meals waiting to be cooked, the party of 16 in the conservatory had booked their table and ordered their meals as had 4 others! your check came in after those and im afraid we work on a system where they go in order! if you had told us on your arrival that you had to leave at a certain time we would have rushed it through for you, but nothing was said, i did come around and apologise to all tables that there was a wait as one of my chefs had rushed off as his dad was taken in hospital, un avoidable! the group of 5 you reffer to very much enjoyed their meals and stayed with us for most of the day ! im sorry but we are not fast food we are home made fresh food that is cooked to order! no we cant take cards due to the debt left by previous tenants! i will not over staff my pub as i do not need more staff untill weekend i am the landlady who was serving the meals and i work the pub as much as i can. its my job! and people like to see me!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We visited this pub one Sunday lunch with a group of walkers. it had been pre booked but it was obvious that they had not noted the booking We managed to find a table for us all. The bar was very understaffed and struggling to cope. We ordered our food and was told there was a 40minite wait. After about 15 min had passed the waitress came out to tell us they had no steak pie left so we had to reorder. The food was OK but thats as good as it got. Not one to recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ModyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

thank you for your review, as for your booking not being taken it had! but we had 2 other large parties in that day, and they had pre-ordered their food,that is why you had to wait, as their food was being cooked,we were not under staffed! we had lots of staff that were all busy catering for other customers! we get lots of walking parties and boat groups, and we tell everyone to pre-order if they can! the steak pie is our best seller and it sells out on a daily basis,so that cant be helped and our orders go on a que system so its when we got to your order we realised we had none! but its a bit unfair to say "not recommended" we cant help it if we were busy! its what we want !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shady Oak Pub also viewed

Tarporley, Cheshire
 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Shady Oak Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing