We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, welcoming canal side pub & campsite”
Review of The Shady Oak Pub

The Shady Oak Pub
Ranked #24 of 37 Restaurants in Tarporley
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Shady Oak is a newly refurbished country free house under the ownership of a family business. The pub is situated on the side of the Shropshire Union Canal, with beautiful views of Beeston and Peckforton Castle from our large beer garden. We serve food daily, as well as a wide range of lagers, ciders, traditional ales, wines and tea and coffees. The Shady Oak also has a campsite on the grounds, with hardstanding pitches for caravans and many pitches for tents, with the option of electric hook up on every pitch as well as a well maintained shower block and washing facilities. In the pub, we allow dogs up in our 'top bar' to allow a separate area for those who may wish to drink/dine with their canine friends.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, welcoming canal side pub & campsite”
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Went for a last minute weekend with our friends in two camper vans - got a real welcome, fantastic food really reasonably priced, beer not overpriced as with some campsites and enjoyed a great night singing in the pub. The camping facilities were fine - everything you need. Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillyarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
thank you so much for your review, its so nice to be appreciated for what we are! we do not try to be something we are not, just real food & real prices! the campsite is basic but, in a beautiful setting,and for only £13 per night with ehu, and free entertainment at night, yes we are in the heart of cheshire but no frills! just good down to earth hospitality, i just wish all customers were like you ! thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    110
    44
    41
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very disappointing. Inside needs updating, no cards taken cash only .”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I went with my daughter for lunch on a Tuesday . We had about an hour or so before an appointment . The pub was not very busy, about 15 or so people eating. Only one staff behind the bar and one bringing food out from the kitchen. We ordered our food but it soon became obvious that other people had been waiting a while for there food order. After half an hour we started to get a bit anxious as time was going on. After three quarters of an hour we asked how long it would be before our food came (one plough mans and one omelette, not exactly hi tech). We were told there were just finishing them off. After another ten minutes we had to tell the waitress we had to go as we were going to be late for our appointment. We were then told it was ready to be served, we explained that unfortunately we did not have enough time to eat it, had we know there was going to be 45 minute wait we would not have ordered . We were met with a quite abrupt "we'll it's been cooked now" . We were not given a refund of our money and left without an apology. A group of five people were also waiting for food after us and after talking to them they were not impressed by the attitude either.
Very disappointing and will not be recommending or returning again .

Helpful?
4 Thank arenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
not very busy! we had 24 meals waiting to be cooked, the party of 16 in the conservatory had booked their table and ordered their meals as had 4 others! your check came in after those and im afraid we work on a system where they go in order! if you had told us on your arrival that you had to leave at a certain time we would have rushed it through for you, but nothing was said, i did come around and apologise to all tables that there was a wait as one of my chefs had rushed off as his dad was taken in hospital, un avoidable! the group of 5 you reffer to very much enjoyed their meals and stayed with us for most of the day ! im sorry but we are not fast food we are home made fresh food that is cooked to order! no we cant take cards due to the debt left by previous tenants! i will not over staff my pub as i do not need more staff untill weekend i am the landlady who was serving the meals and i work the pub as much as i can. its my job! and people like to see me!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“not to be recommended”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We visited this pub one Sunday lunch with a group of walkers. it had been pre booked but it was obvious that they had not noted the booking We managed to find a table for us all. The bar was very understaffed and struggling to cope. We ordered our food and was told there was a 40minite wait. After about 15 min had passed the waitress came out to tell us they had no steak pie left so we had to reorder. The food was OK but thats as good as it got. Not one to recommend

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ModyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
thank you for your review, as for your booking not being taken it had! but we had 2 other large parties in that day, and they had pre-ordered their food,that is why you had to wait, as their food was being cooked,we were not under staffed! we had lots of staff that were all busy catering for other customers! we get lots of walking parties and boat groups, and we tell everyone to pre-order if they can! the steak pie is our best seller and it sells out on a daily basis,so that cant be helped and our orders go on a que system so its when we got to your order we realised we had none! but its a bit unfair to say "not recommended" we cant help it if we were busy! its what we want !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor Signage”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Moored up opposite 'The Shady Oak' on Sunday the 23rd Sept at 4pm intending to go in for dinner in the evening. There is a big sign on the canal side which states 'Great Food served 7 days a week, open daily from 12 noon'. Went over just after 7pm, ordered some drinks and was then met with a fairly abrubt 'I hope you're not expecting food, it stopped at 6' from the young lady behind the bar, so 4 very large appetites finished their beers and headed back to the boat, grateful that there was food on board!
Had the sign on the canal stated food serving times (bearing in mind that stopping food at 6 is a bit unusual) we could have a a good meal each and probably sunk lots of beer!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
thank you for your review, you state poor synage! but you said you moored up opposit the pub, so you must have walked over the bridge! we have a large sign facing the bridge that states our food serving times! 12-8.30 mon-sat, and 1-6 on sunday! and as most other places stop serving at or around 3 on a sunday i think we have good times! if the young lady behind the bar was abrupt, i apologise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Captive Audience disappointed”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Visited this pub to eat in August during a narrowboating holiday. The pub was very busy - due to the fact it is siuated on the Shropshire Union Canal and is the last pub before Chester. During the evening there was usually only one girl behind the bar and only one girl waitress. Both never stopped! The menu was what you would expect and "pub food" describes it perfectly. The prices were reasonable. The bar was serving several quality real ales. Although the food was plentiful I must say that, at best, it was served luke-warm - in fact one of our party complained that her meal was quite cold. I appreciate that the pub was very busy but we were disappointed having visited on several recommendations.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OldGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shady o, Owner at The Shady Oak Pub, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
thank you for your review, im sorry that you were dissapointed! but! the shady oak is quite uniqe in the fact that no 2 days are the same! if you came in the week then yes! i do only have 1 barstaff & 1 waitress! as our busiest time is weekend, and we do have more staff on then! but during the week we can be quiet as we are very weather dependant! and i dont see the sense in bringing more staff on "junt in case" we get busy! i have bills to pay! im suprised your food was as you said luke warm!! did you not send it back? food is not left out to chill it is served up fresh from ovens or fryers! we are not perfect but! i cant fix something if i dont know its broken!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shady Oak Pub also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Shady Oak Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing