We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“family unfriendly”
Review of The Boot Inn

The Boot Inn
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent food and service in beautiful surroundings, with plenty of local ale. We also do are own walking book with six circular walks to suite all.We open all day every day from 10am until 11.30, food is served from 12 until 2.30 for lunch and 6 until 9.30 for dinner from Monday to Thursday and all day from 12 until 9.30 Fridays ,Saturday ,and Sunday.You can look at out menus on our website, we also have many boards that change often and roast beef every Sunday ..
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“family unfriendly”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have been to the Boot on many occasions and have always had decent food although the welcome and service has never been anything to write home about. We have taken our baby before and have sat in the bar room without any problems but today we were told to move to the room at the back, right next to the toilets as we had a baby with us. The attitude of the staff was quite rude and when I questioned them on their policy no explanation was given. This was on a Sunday afternoon when you would expect to be able to go to a local pub with a family and not made to feel like a social pariah. We used to overlook the lack in PR skills because of the location of the pub but I'm afraid that today will be our last visit. The Boot should have a sign outside to say that children and babies (however well behaved) are not welcome, at least then people like ourselves would not have to put up with being asked to hide ourselves away in the corner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    70
    11
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Food, and Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The food was wonderful and good value for money. the service a little slow but friendly, which a nice warm atmopshere. Will be calling again soon!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MilHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“MUST visit Pub - Delightful food and Cosy atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my first time to the Boot Inn and I have to say it was WONDERFUL. We were warmly welcomed throughout the meal by two young members of staff, the food was spot on (particularly the Sticky Toffee Pudding) and an impressive selection of local ales on tap. I had no choice but to give them a generous tip for such a warm welcome and impressive service. There was a party which had children, and I didnt see any hostility from the staff.

I would suggest however that booking is advisable, and to arrive early if you are just using the bar as it does get very busy/congested at peak times. Also VERY impressed at the provision of Deodorant and Hairspray in the gents toilets!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andybell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“More rudeness!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My friend and I have been eating here for many years; it is a tradition for us whenever we come to Chester. However on this occasion, at lunchtime, we were met with a very offhand attitude from one particular member of staff - a middle-aged woman with no grasp of PR. Although the food was good as ever, the service was quite slow considering that the rush was over and there werenoo many people to be served.
This is extremely disappointing as it has made us question whether we will return there, although I have many happy memories of dining there with family members now deceased.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, lovely atmosphere ...”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

As newcomers to this area - visiting friends - we were treated to a meal here a couple of weeks ago. What a delight ... a proper pub, obviously popular with the locals, with good quality food and a really lovely atmosphere ... wouldn't hesitate to recommend! Thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will come back when we're on our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosehmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boot Inn also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Boot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing