We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Windmill at Tabley

Windmill at Tabley
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windmill at Tabley
Ranked #1 of 1 Tabley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

This was without doubt one of the best places we have ever stayed. From the moment I booked all queries were quickly answered.Only small with 7 bedrooms ,we stayed in a family room with our two daughters . The decor was up to date and excellent,the room large and very comfortable .bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower.
We stayed on a Saturday night and were warned in advance it was 'party night' !!! The only negative was it was Xmas party night and the only menu on offer was the Xmas party menu which we had not been warned about. Having said that the meal was very good as was the breakfast in the morning. I was disappointed not to be staying longer !! The staff were all helpful, friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    39
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
33
61
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Found the hotel (pub) very easily - it is right on J19, impossible to miss. I parked my hire van near the door as i wanted it to be under lights as it had a lot of valuable stuff inside. The very first thing that was said to to me by the staff was "Could you move your van to another space? The manager doesn't like vans in the front spaces because it puts people off coming in". I explained the situation and apologised for having to leave my 911 at home. Going up to the room was quite worrying as the stair and landing carpets were utterly filthy - obviously not cleaned in years and years. Fortunately though the room was much better, although being at the front there was substantial traffic noise until late in the evening. I had a shower and settled down to a nap as i'd been driving for about 10 hours. 20 minutes later i was woken by the manager unlocking my door and coming into my room. She was very confused to see me there and exited rapidly shouting apologies. I went downstairs to see what was going on but she had vanished, leaving it to the embarrassed barstaff to explain she hadn't realised i had checked in. Didn't sleep too well later either as the mattress was soft and old with a spring sticking through in one place. Breakfast was basic but decent but unfortunately it all went wrong again when i was given my bill - despite not having had any food or drinks the night before i was charged for a lot of both! I had to argue the point with the staff and in the end offered to show them the evidence of the takeaway that was in the bin in my room. At this point i was told the bill was the 58 quid it should have been in the first place. Fine. I offered my credit card - the machine was broken. All-in-all, VERY disorganised and poor service but maybe on a good day it would be adequate if you wanted cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We requested early access to our room (11am) in order to attend a local wedding, and the staff were only too happy to help, with our room ready on arrival. The room itself was spacious and clean, with an excellent bathroom. Following a decent night's sleep, we were served a good quality full English. A very stress-free stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Bazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Room - large, spacious, well decorated and clean. Found it a little noisier than expected but OK fr convenience of location.
The evening meal was good. Service mixed - waitress good, bar staff a little distracted but adequate.
The problem was that when we went down for a leisurely breakfast (we booked here specifically to prevent the usual 2hr commute) we were seated in the bar where wafts of disinfectant were eminating strongly from a bucket left at the bar. Thought - not great but can live with it. The cleaning staff, having finished their coffee/fags/read of the newspapers then proceeded to hoover. Not relaxing at all. Told David we werent' happy but didn't really seem to care and kept repeating that 'they had to clean sometime'. Whilst I understand that, most pubs manage to do so without being so intrusive. Didn't feel listened to, there was no offer to just switch the hooveer off for 10mins for example or suggest we eat in the adjoining room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlot99059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshman
Level Contributor
225 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Good food large clean rooms close to Tatton park and Dunham Massey and right next to the Motorway but still hardley any noise

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boodera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

A colleague and I stayed here for a couple of nights while working locally. The rooms are very spacious (in fact so large I almost strained by eyes watching the small telly from my bed :-) ). The room was clean, nicely decorated with a lovely powerful shower. My only criticism is the traffic noise, a price you have to pay for such a convenient location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England, U.K.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here as we went to the american car show at tatton park the day after. The hotel is very close to a motorway junction yet this isn't very noticeable. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the food was delicious. I mentioned to my girlfriend that if the hotel had freeview (which i presume it now has) and was on the more well known last minute websites, it would be more popular. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobula26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabley
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Knutsford Tabley
1.2 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
919 reviews
1.6 mi away
Longview Hotel
Longview Hotel
#8 of 9 in Knutsford
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Cross Keys
The Cross Keys
#9 of 9 in Knutsford
141 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Hinton Guest House
The Hinton Guest House
#2 of 14 in Knutsford
145 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pickmere Country House
Pickmere Country House
#3 of 14 in Knutsford
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill at Tabley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill at Tabley

Property: Windmill at Tabley
Address: Chester Road, Tabley WA16 0HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tabley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tabley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill at Tabley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality food, drink, accommodation and service in the traditional way. We offer comfortable, cared for rooms, friendly faces and value for money that you only find in a well-run, privately owned establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windmill at Tabley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill At Tabley Hotel Tabley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing