We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another lovely visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Folks Bar and Grill - CLOSED

The Folks Bar and Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Bar, American, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a lovely Saturday lunchtime - the weather was good, and lots of people in town. The restaurant wasn't overly busy, and had the terrace open, so was really pleasant inside and out. We had items off the lunchtime menu, and all 3 were lovely! The portion sizes were much bigger than I expected, and we all really enjoyed it! I definitely recommend the pulled pork. We'll be visiting again!

Helpful?
Thank KathO23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, Manager at The Folks Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review.

We've been really lucky, mostly, with the weather this year and our new terrace has had been a big bonus.

You won't be surprised to hear that the pulled pork is currently one of our best sellers. I know we're biased but it is delicious.

Thanks again for taking the time to help us spread the word of The Folks, we really do appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Folks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    54
    37
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Appalling attitude and service by all staff.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Never had a problem with this place before. We knew last orders was 9pm on food, so raced to get there and arrived at 8.45. Went to order drinks and ask for a menu, knowing time was against us. Bar lady warned of a 40minute wait on food, which we reluctantly accepted. Whether this was true or not or just a tactic to put customers off, we'll never know! Whilst we were hastily choosing food whilst waiting for drinks, a second member of staff informed is at 8.50 that they now had stopped serving food- even though a 3rd member of staff had just tilled her own food order in. That was ok though, as the 2 members discussed for all to hear, that she was "pi***d". No apology given- clearly didn't want our business. No sign of normal manager in- everyone can do what they want and get an early dart was the impression. We took our business elsewhere. Such a shame as Folks has great potential and we've been happy previously. But with a staff attitude like this, with no managerial presence it looks like it could fail quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Stockdale1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at The Folks Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to apologise unreservedly for the service you received on your visit, although do fully appreciate that an apology should have been made at the time.

We recognise that we didn't live up to your or our expectations on this occassion and are truly sorry for that. Please be assured that these are certainly not the standards we expect or require from our members of staff.

Our normal management is still in place but unfortunately was unable to be on shift that evening. It is clear that our plan to cover that and provide our normal level of service didn't work as it should have done and we are taking steps to rectify this.

We would really like to be able to discuss this with you in more detail and would really appreciate it if you could contact us on info@thefolks.co.uk.

Sincere apologies again for your experience.

Hope to hear from you soon

The Folks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent a great evening at The Folks sampling their fabulous menu - something for every taste and all freshly cooked.

The ambience on the Sunday we visited was very relaxing - nice comfy sofas to enjoy a drink or two with a comfortable restaurant area & outside dining area.

Prices competitive and good value - good bar stock. The staff were excellent , we were served very quickly and looked after very well indeed.

We will definitely be returning to The wFolks in the future to try out more of the menu & experience the live music on Saturdays!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at The Folks Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We're really glad you enjoyed your time with us. You visited on a Sunday, did you have the fabulous Sunday lunch or something off our menu?

It's really good to hear that you were looked after properly and made to feel relaxed and comfortable, that's exactly what we aim to do.

Thanks again for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you enjoying our live music soon.

The Folks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I have visited the folks several times and it just gets better and better! It's a truely quaint establishment that is superbly decorated to give it a real 'homely' feel. The staff are always friendly and on hand to answer any questions. The bar selection is great, and the menu is seasonal which makes a nice change to the usual bog standard corporate chains. The food is absolutely excellent, and the steak ale and mushroom homemade pie is a firm favourite. We leave the folks with full bellies, and smiles all round. I have nothing but good things to say about this place. It is a welcome addition to Sandbach and I look forward to our next visit

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley301086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at The Folks Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you, with reviews like that we won't be 'hidden' for too long.

Our food and menus have been designed to offer a good quality, home cooked alternative to the chains that seem to dominate the high streets so we're really happy we seem to be achieving that.

We look forward to being able to spoil you again soon.

The Folks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice, cheap but service needs improving ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is nice and a real change to the expense of local gastro pubs around the Cheshire area. It is a competitively priced menu with unusual ideas which are just a bit nicer than the usual gastro norm. Enjoyed our meals however the service was very slow and really needed some speeding up. It was not busy in the restaurant and there were plenty of friendly staff on, but clearly the kitchen staff need to work a bit quicker! Generally really nice though and a pleasant change...give it a whirl!

Helpful?
2 Thank burnbabybyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam P, General Manager at The Folks Bar and Grill, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others, we really do appreciate it.

We're sorry you found the service a liitle on the slow side. As I'm sure you'll appreciate, our food is freshly prepared to order so it does mean a slightly longer wait than you get where meals are simply heated up! However we do take your comments on board and are constantly looking for ways to ensure that you receive your orders.

We hope to see you again soon

The Folks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Folks Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing