We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice night away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel
Ranked #3 of 5 Sandbach B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited the Bears Head for a one night break it's set in a beautiful remote location a very pretty Inn both inside and out lots of period features as you can see from our photo's.We didn't get off to a good start as the lady that checked us in wasn't very friendly the same lady who took our order wen we went down for a meal was still unfriendly with us but seem to have time for other customers all other staff were lovely very helpful and chatty so we still enjoyed ourselves.The food was really lovely and plenty on plate no room for dessert drinks were very reasonably priced bottles of wine from 12.95 not bad at all! Nice comfortable room good value at £56 which was exellent as it was a family room bit tight on space when sofa bed was made up kept bumping leg on metal bit that stuck out otherwise perfect as you can also see from the photo's.If youhappen to forget any essentials such as toothbrush/paste they can supply you free of charge which we thought was a nice touch also shower gel is provided in shower stall too :)The free continental breakfast was great kelloggs cereals,toast,croissants,fruit etc plenty of it also if ya wanted anything cooked you just had to ask waitress and pay and small additional fee. We would definately stay here again as we had such a lovely time just a friendlier check in and service off that one staff member would of made our stay perfect :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabncarla b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our family used the Bears Head as a stopover on the way to Scotland. My husband and son had stayed there previously on the way to a football match in Carlisle and had been impressed, so it was the obvious choice. It is a nice looking inn in a quiet area just off the motorway. The room was fine for the 3 of us and the limited time we were there. We had already eaten so did not eat there in the evening but the meals sounded inviting and were reasonably priced. Breakfast was continental, or you could pay extra to have cooked. The continental was more than adequate!

All in all, we had a restful night and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhyssmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited family in Cheshire and chose the Bear Inn because it was good value for a family room.

However, we were pleasantly surprised by this gem of an 'Inn' style hotel that was a welcome change from the standard 'premierlodge' (nothing wrong with them) that offered good food, good value, a building with character and a family run feel with lots of friendly faces around to help (as opposed to a random chap on reception!).

Location is out of town, but great countryside, 5 mins from M6 and 15 from Jodrell Bank.

Staging post or location for a Cheshire visit - ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

my partner and I arrived 7.30ish after a long day and received an efficient and warm welcome from the staff who quickly organised a table for dinner and escorted us to the room in the outside annexe.
the room was spotless but was very small, as was the bed. some noise from people in the annexe just moving around above.
the service was good and the food quite plentiful but average and drinks on the expensive side.
continental breakfast was varied but croissants/pastries etc not very fresh
however would prob use again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigladYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited the Boars Head for there lunch time offer £6.50.
I had chicken and my Mrs had cottage pie.
My Mrs was very disappointed with the small portion and the fact it had no sides but the pie itself was fine.

My chicken was served with the worlds smallest salad lol but I suppose the meal on the whole was ok.
We had two drinks which nearly came to the same amount as the food, shame.

On the seat where we sat had a massive tear and we thought that overall the place could do with a spruce up.

The barmaid and waitress were friendly.

So to sum up.....not a horrible experience and we would go again but no time soon and only with the offer.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Innkeepers Lodge, Holmes Chapel on 4th May. On arrival we received a really lovely welcome and was given our key very quickly. We arrived at 8.00 pm and asked if we could get a table to eat, although it was very busy we were told they would reserve the next table for us and to go straight down when we had checked in the room. We were given a room in the annexe (other rooms were inside) but it was really good value for money. There were six rooms in the block and we had an upstairs one. The room consisted of a tiny entrance hall, a good sized bathroom and bedroom. The room was spotlessly clean with flat screen televison, tea and coffe making facilities. We had nice fluffy white towels. It was warm and very cosy.

The evening meal was really good and the meal prices were reasonable with a good choice. Breakfast was in with the price, we paid £56 for the two of us (it was bank holiday) but we thought this was really good value. We had continental breakfast which consisted of fruit, yogurts, cereals, toast, tea and coffee etc. It was delicious. You could have a full english breakfast at a price (think it was £6.95) but we found we did not need it (although it looked great).

I would not hesitate to stay at this Innkeepers Lodge again. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived at this place on a Thursday evening. Check-in was friendly and efficient and we found room 305 on the first floor of the annexe quite pleasant. There are only 6 rooms total in this annexe (3 on each floor), the other rooms are off the main building.

You get your private front door, a fairly large bathroom (looks like it has been renovated recently) and a smallish bedroom. Only one bedside table, but hardryer, tea kettle and supplies, flatscreen TV and WIFI all provided. Even had extra pillows.

The annexe has single glazing, however no need to worry as this building is behind the pub, so well clear of the village road. Shower and bathtub worked fine, towels looked almost new and were very fluffy. Only criticism about the room: we don't think you can get BBC channels on the TV. WIFI was stable on a low signal strength though.

Restaurant/bar: Wainwright and Doom Bar on draught plus a 'borders' beer, what a good start for a meal! We had a starter to share, then chicken breast and half chicken as main courses and finally rhubarb creme brulee. All well-prepared and served in good time and the desert was particularly delicious. We did not try any of their wines, however they looked reasonably priced and a varied selection.

Continental breakfast was included in our rate of £39 for a double including breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised to find bagels, white & brown toast, danish pastry, even cheese and fresh fruit and two different flavours of yoghurt. Juices were pommegranate and orange, there was a choice of coffee or at least 7 different teas.

Would definitely go back there again!

Room Tip: rooms 304-306 are upstairs in the annexe and behind the main building. very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
1.4 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
684 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
6.3 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,202 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
3.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel

Address: The Bears Head | Brereton Green, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sandbach
Price Range: $71 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bears Head is conveniently located just off J17 of the M6 and not far from Holmes Chapel. The hotel is convenient for Knutsford and Crewe. Each of our 25 rooms has a refreshing shower, a desk to work at, Wifi in every room, telephone and modem services, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen digital TV and a comfortable bed. Breakfast is a complimentary continental buffet, however there is a cooked breakfast available and an additional charge and is served in the Bears Head Vintage Inn next door. We are coveniently positioned for attactions such as Alton Towers,Joderal Bank and also Chester Zoo. We are also within a short journey of Manchester International Airport and for shopping trips to the Trafford Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bears Head Innkeepers Hotel Sandbach
Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel Cheshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing