We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel
Ranked #4 of 5 Sandbach B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“warm welcome”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

my partner and I arrived 7.30ish after a long day and received an efficient and warm welcome from the staff who quickly organised a table for dinner and escorted us to the room in the outside annexe.
the room was spotless but was very small, as was the bed. some noise from people in the annexe just moving around above.
the service was good and the food quite plentiful but average and drinks on the expensive side.
continental breakfast was varied but croissants/pastries etc not very fresh
however would prob use again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigladYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    44
    20
    15
See reviews for
52
76
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited the Boars Head for there lunch time offer £6.50.
I had chicken and my Mrs had cottage pie.
My Mrs was very disappointed with the small portion and the fact it had no sides but the pie itself was fine.

My chicken was served with the worlds smallest salad lol but I suppose the meal on the whole was ok.
We had two drinks which nearly came to the same amount as the food, shame.

On the seat where we sat had a massive tear and we thought that overall the place could do with a spruce up.

The barmaid and waitress were friendly.

So to sum up.....not a horrible experience and we would go again but no time soon and only with the offer.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Innkeepers Lodge, Holmes Chapel on 4th May. On arrival we received a really lovely welcome and was given our key very quickly. We arrived at 8.00 pm and asked if we could get a table to eat, although it was very busy we were told they would reserve the next table for us and to go straight down when we had checked in the room. We were given a room in the annexe (other rooms were inside) but it was really good value for money. There were six rooms in the block and we had an upstairs one. The room consisted of a tiny entrance hall, a good sized bathroom and bedroom. The room was spotlessly clean with flat screen televison, tea and coffe making facilities. We had nice fluffy white towels. It was warm and very cosy.

The evening meal was really good and the meal prices were reasonable with a good choice. Breakfast was in with the price, we paid £56 for the two of us (it was bank holiday) but we thought this was really good value. We had continental breakfast which consisted of fruit, yogurts, cereals, toast, tea and coffee etc. It was delicious. You could have a full english breakfast at a price (think it was £6.95) but we found we did not need it (although it looked great).

I would not hesitate to stay at this Innkeepers Lodge again. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyhowieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We arrived at this place on a Thursday evening. Check-in was friendly and efficient and we found room 305 on the first floor of the annexe quite pleasant. There are only 6 rooms total in this annexe (3 on each floor), the other rooms are off the main building.

You get your private front door, a fairly large bathroom (looks like it has been renovated recently) and a smallish bedroom. Only one bedside table, but hardryer, tea kettle and supplies, flatscreen TV and WIFI all provided. Even had extra pillows.

The annexe has single glazing, however no need to worry as this building is behind the pub, so well clear of the village road. Shower and bathtub worked fine, towels looked almost new and were very fluffy. Only criticism about the room: we don't think you can get BBC channels on the TV. WIFI was stable on a low signal strength though.

Restaurant/bar: Wainwright and Doom Bar on draught plus a 'borders' beer, what a good start for a meal! We had a starter to share, then chicken breast and half chicken as main courses and finally rhubarb creme brulee. All well-prepared and served in good time and the desert was particularly delicious. We did not try any of their wines, however they looked reasonably priced and a varied selection.

Continental breakfast was included in our rate of £39 for a double including breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised to find bagels, white & brown toast, danish pastry, even cheese and fresh fruit and two different flavours of yoghurt. Juices were pommegranate and orange, there was a choice of coffee or at least 7 different teas.

Would definitely go back there again!

Room Tip: rooms 304-306 are upstairs in the annexe and behind the main building. very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited the pub for a belated anniversary treat, staying for one night. The room rate presented very good value (£35 with continental breakfast for 3 of us).
The room was fine for the money we paid and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant. It isn't the cheapest pub food but we felt the pub had a good ambience and the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we would recommend this pub for an overnight stay, particularly at the value room rates.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went with family for birthday meal, at my suggestion as I had had some excellent meals there a few years ago. I ordered steak, medium rare, when it arrived it was bordering on overcooked and was so tough I could not even cut it with the steak knife. When I complained I was given another steak, medium rare this time, and the chef had obviously done his best with a poor cut of meat, which was still tough and difficult to cut. At the prices charged I would expect better quality meat. The service which started out good deteriorated as the night went on and was so poor at the end that my son, fed up of trying to get the attention of a waitress, went to the bar himself to order our coffee and desserts. So disappointing and has marred all the good memories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithCWilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having read some of the previous reviews we were expecting some big problems! However, we were pleasantly surprised. We were given a really good welcome and shown to our first floor double room in the outside block. The room was rather small with no space for a second bedside table. However, the room was warm with thermostatically controlled radiators. There was a well stocked tea/coffee tray, flat screen TV, hairdryer and a dressing table with mirror but no room safe. If you were to forget the toothpaste, razor, comb or shaving cream then these are available - complimentary. Storage was very limited with for example, just four coat hangers in the wardrobe and no hooks on the walls or on the back of doors and the bed sheet didn't quite reach to the top of the bed but 'the gap' was covered by the pillows. The en-suite was spacious with a bath/shower and had dispensers for soap and shampoo/shower gel. On returning in the early hours on the second day of our stay we found that the room had been serviced but only one bath sheet had been left and in the morning the hot water to the shower went cold but after five minutes returned to normal. We had both the continental and full English breakfast included in our room rate and breakfast was fine. As we were visiting friends in the area we didn't eat in the restaurant. For a double room, clean sheets, warm and cosy, with full breakfast at £48.90 per night we got value for money and certainly didn't expect any 'trimmings'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
1.6 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
664 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
6.1 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
310 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel
Address: The Bears Head | Brereton Green, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sandbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bears Head is conveniently located just off J17 of the M6 and not far from Holmes Chapel. The hotel is convenient for Knutsford and Crewe. Each of our 25 rooms has a refreshing shower, a desk to work at, Wifi in every room, telephone and modem services, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen digital TV and a comfortable bed. Breakfast is a complimentary continental buffet, however there is a cooked breakfast available and an additional charge and is served in the Bears Head Vintage Inn next door. We are coveniently positioned for attactions such as Alton Towers,Joderal Bank and also Chester Zoo. We are also within a short journey of Manchester International Airport and for shopping trips to the Trafford Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bears Head Innkeepers Hotel Sandbach
Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel Cheshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing