We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly refurbished and sparkling.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel
Ranked #3 of 5 Sandbach B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Again stayed at the Bears Head. This time in one of the annex rooms. This had been newly refurbished with fresh paint and new carpets throughout. The stay cost us £34 including a quite substantial continental breakfast. Yes, the rooms are quite small but well appointed and very, very quiet. There were extra pillows, complementary toothbrushes and little items you may have forgotten to bring available at reception. This hotel is a little gem. We were there when they were undergoing an annual 'deep clean' and the pub and restaurant sparkled as a result. The restaurant is popular and therefore is quite busy. A super stay, not far off the M6 but with individuality and charm that many motorway hotels lack.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished annex rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MotorwayMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Decided to have a run out after a week-end of torrential rain, we stopped at the Bears Head because from the outside it looked inviting with it's beautiful exterior showing loads of character. However, on stepping inside it was very dark due possibly due the low beams.But it lacked atmosphere and general warmth. We found a table, slightly sticky but ordered from the daily specials board to give the place a chance to shine. We waited 20 mins for a microwaved jamican stew and a half hearted attempt to make belly pork look appealing. Come on, you've got a beautiful position on that busy road, don't take it for granted. We won't be back, and will not recommend you.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Annanddek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I stopped off here having travelled down from Scotland, arriving late in the evening. I read all of the recent reviews, but I found it to be great value at £51 for B&B. The room was small and the floor borads creaky, but it was more than adequate and clean. The ensuite was similarly clean and modern. I didnt have evening meal on my arrival, but the place was busy and it seemed toi have a loyal local support. This probably says something about the quality of the food. It was great being able to pop down for a pint before bed, so i found it a good stop off and I would have no heistation in doing so again. Its not 5 star, but considering the cost and the service, it deserves a good rating.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Wanted a break from driving on the way from Ullapool to Oxford and found this gem by accident.

Huge choice from the menu and reasonable value for money

Rooms cost £51.00 - not per person but per room so bear that in mind

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SquareDealGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Very disorganised on arrival you have to wait till from behind the bar is free to book you in. The room was small but bed very clean a pity you can not say that about other areas as I can only suspect the cleaner could not bend down or reach behind the TV to remove dust. The bathroom was quite another thing altogether; the was black mould growing along the edge of the bath and shower, up the walls, around the windows and in the corners behind the toilet. The net curtain was hanging down, if you even looked at the soap dispencer it fell off the wall as did the tissue dispencer plus the windows may have fallen out if you opened them. To add insult to injury we had very inconsiderate neighbours banging doors and stamping around between 2am and 3am then an early morning call alarm sounded every morning at 5.45am and did not reset itself till 6.05am; a request to check this out resulted in the manager coming to our room to 'sort it out'. We had booked for bed and breakfast but on the first morning not even one member of staff turned up to open the restaurant or prepare breakfast. All in all a very disappointing time and a comlete waste of money. We will not be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilldene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
awoolfenden, Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Many Thabks for your feedback.

Please may I assure you that all the rooms have now been refurbished and the issues you had with the breakfast have been resolved.

We do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future following our refurbishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Agree with previous review. Hardly slept at all because of noisy pipework. Contemplated sleeping in the bath but the radiator there was just as noisy. Issues with mildew as well around windows and bath and shower pressure was negligible. Apart from that the room was clean and the bed comfy, but why would you fix a hairdryer in a drawer at the other side of the room from the mirror?
Meal in the evening was good but service very, very slow, and we were locked out at breakfast time. When we did get in we had to ask for the coffee although it was after the 8am starting time. Someone needs to give the staff here a shake.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AilsaPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Plus point - its attached to a pub with friendly staff and acceptable bar food. But the hotel itself is not recommeded. Small room, chargeable wi fi, pathetic buffet breakfast and £51 a night. But the worst thing was the constant mechanical noise coming from, I assume, the water system. Bring earplugs if you ever stay here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonno_the_Yachtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
1.4 mi away
Chimney House Hotel
Chimney House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sandbach
692 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,256 reviews
3.8 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
339 reviews
2.4 mi away
East-View House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel

Address: The Bears Head | Brereton Green, Sandbach CW11 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sandbach
Price Range: $72 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bears Head is conveniently located just off J17 of the M6 and not far from Holmes Chapel. The hotel is convenient for Knutsford and Crewe. Each of our 25 rooms has a refreshing shower, a desk to work at, Wifi in every room, telephone and modem services, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen digital TV and a comfortable bed. Breakfast is a complimentary continental buffet, however there is a cooked breakfast available and an additional charge and is served in the Bears Head Vintage Inn next door. We are coveniently positioned for attactions such as Alton Towers,Joderal Bank and also Chester Zoo. We are also within a short journey of Manchester International Airport and for shopping trips to the Trafford Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bears Head Innkeepers Hotel Sandbach
Innkeeper's Lodge Sandbach Homes Chapel Cheshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing