We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Saxon Grill at the Crown - CLOSED

Saxon Grill at the Crown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: British, Bar, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Crown has now closed, food is now served at our sister pub the Market Tavern located next door, the menu shown on our website is now available there. All the team from the Crown are now based at the Market Tavern and look forward to welcoming you!
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Good setting, smart decor, food good pub standard not exceptional but very acceptable at the reasonable prices, cheapest I found in Sandbach.

Service good, polite friendly but not overly so.

Also didn't like the wine glass prefer traditional stem ones but that is nit picking.

Would I return? Yes and often at these prices you can afford to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gettingitspent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonGrillSandbach, Owner at Saxon Grill at the Crown, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed the food.
We understand that some people prefer the "traditional" stemmed wine glass and now have some, so please do ask for one on your next visit if this is your preference.
We hope you will continue to support us and welcome your feedback. Kevin M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (239)
There are newer reviews for Saxon Grill at the Crown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 202 of 239 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a difficult time finding somewhere to eat in Sandbach. This was one of the few options. It wasn't busy yet took over half an hour to get our scampi and chips. We were told we couldn't have tap water and got gouged £3 for tiny bottles of water. The food when it arrived was not bad and obviously fresh. The trouble was we'd been left so hungry and were about to get up and walk out when it finally came.

Thank SuePT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonGrillSandbach, Owner at Saxon Grill at the Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Sorry you felt the service was slow, unfortunately there were others dining with us including a party in the private dining room and as all our food is freshly prepared I believe the 30 minute wait was acceptable.
The member of staff was under the impression that you asked for sparkling water hence the bottled water you were sold.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit but hope you will try us again and give us more feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

A group of 9 of us had the private dining room for a birthday meal and we were all very impressed! The waiter was lovely, made us feel very welcome and was very attentive. The menu suits everyone from the more adventurous to the traditional palate. The starters were wonderfully presented and very tasty, with the main courses being equally impressive.
The experience of the private dining is in a beautifully decorated room and The Crown has been renovated to a high standard. We regularly visit The Old Hall and found the food on a parr and very good value in comparison.
We wouldn't hesitate to go back here and look forward to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raffa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked in for 7pm,had drinks from the bar and were shown into the comfortable area and given menus to chose from.ordered them and sat there until 7.30 even though lots of tables and our table was empty! Food was lovely when it finally arrived but
no atmosphere at all.barmaid was also
the waitress didn't see anyone but her serving and on a
Saturday evening? Won't be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CheshireAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaxonGrillSandbach, Owner at Saxon Grill at the Crown, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thanks for your comments, sorry that you had issues during your visit.

Unfortunately on the first Saturday in August due to holidays we were understaffed, so apologies for the delay in service.

We do try to get all meals out as quickly as possible but as they are all freshly prepared this may not be as quick as those establishments that have pre-prepared food - for this I will not apologise as this would compromise the quality of the food served.

I am glad that you enjoyed the meals and hope you will visit us again and give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just popped in for a quick meal while in Sandbach, and everything was great, the venue, the staff and obviously the food.

A real gem.

Thank chesthair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saxon Grill at the Crown also viewed

Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing