We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not a four star hotel and the breakfast was the worst ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chimney House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Leics
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is not a four star hotel and the breakfast was the worst ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Honestly this hotel it is not a 4 star hotel it's more like a poor 3 star hotel with a nice reception area. It desperately needs a refurb and a really good manager ? Ok it's right on the M6 junction 17 but that's it's only plus . The cooked breakfast was awful and I couldn't eat it . The receptionist apologised but I am sure I was not the first to complain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreedomLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke K, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear FreedomLeics,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Chimney House Hotel.

Your only negative comments make reference to breakfast. Due to this i carried out a full review of this and personally worked on several busy shifts in order to bring about change. This i am glad to say has happened and i thank you for bringing this to my attention. Without any other feedback i am unable to action anything but please ring me directly at the hotel where i will be delighted to address any concerns you had.

I am working very closely with our new owners to further enhance our product here in areas which need it. I am glad to say that this is in progress.

I do hope that you can visit us again very soon so i can show you round the hotel and highlight the areas which have been freshened up. Also so that you can enjoy a better breakfast experience.

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    166
    138
    99
    107
See reviews for
106
272
18
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, bargain for £40 wowcher deal, food great and superb staff, we had a lovely stay and would definitely return again.
We were made to feel so welcome even having the remote control for most of the evening!
Book with confidence

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyAnnKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke K, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear SallyAnneKennedy,

Mant thanks for your kind words and the team here is delighted to read your feedback.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was disappointed with my short stay at this hotel starting from when we tried to check in to our room.
When checking in the receptionist told us to our surprise that we were booked into a double room and not a family room as we originally booked!
After getting changed back to a family room we were given a small plastic card to a room. The room was small and musty, which was clean but basic, it had a Freeview TV and the only channels that worked without the signal breaking was BBC1 and BBC2; the ceiling had yellow stains on it and the net curtains stunk of nicotine.
We were in the middle of getting changed and some complete strangers walked in on us when we were half naked, they used the plastic card they were given for their door but accidently came to our room and opened our door!!
We were wedding guests at this hotel and everything was going fine until we had a few drinks at the hotel bar and twice the staff tried to overcharge us for our drinks plus the food was rock hard and not very appetising.
The following day before we checked out, we all had a shower and it leaked water all over the place between the bath and the shower screen.
We went to reception and came back not being able to get back into our room as the plastic card was not working and a red light was flashing on the lock of the door, luckily a cleaner was around to let us in.
This was definitely not a 4 star hotel and after our experience here I’d give it 2 stars at the most.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BANNER3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Only paid £40 for one night b&b for two of us through Wowcher, and for that much you can't fault it. Our room (47) was clean with what appeared to be a refurbed bathroom. A little small but what do you want to do in there? Staff were all helpful and polite, though overworked through small numbers. We had the three course dinner in the restaurant for £20 each. You could pick small faults, but for that much you'd be picky if you did. Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartke_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Shocked by this place
- ignored by staff so had to ask for table, return to order a drink and again the food
- sandwiches were just awful
- toilets blocked and bathroom had no hand towels
Expensive too

Sort of place you just wish you'd never left the M6 for and just gone to the services.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Saveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

nice settings and very good receptionist on arrival. dealt with fact my booking was not on the system very well. Rooms tired and not welcoming. Bathroom has no accessories you would expect to find i.e soap, shower gel, moisturizing cream etc. there was nothing at all. bed was comfortable but a few light bulbs were missing. breakfast time. I love a good English breakfast, its part of staying in an hotel I think. Unfortunately this hotel failed to deliver. It was a quiet Tuesday morning with only a handful of guests to cater for. we asked for crispy bacon and 2 rashers of streaky came that were as crispy as poached egg!! talking of which, I always go for a poached egg and out it came. It was a shame the chef was heavy handed with the vinegar in the kitchen as it tasted like a pickled egg although cooked to my liking with a nice runny yolk. The portion size was a little on the small side and the mushrooms looked like they were yesterdays breakfast. I did feel sorry for the elderly couple who were dining there as well because, after walking round the actual kitchen trying to find someone to get them tea and a cooked breakfast, they had to go and get the staff out of a management meeting to come and take their order! It is a comfortable and nice hotel and if a couple of improvements are made then it is a nice place to stay, just not quite the 4 Star as advertised

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I booked this hotel for one night for my wife and I. It was a birthday celebration taking in a day in Chester followed by a 'retail therapy' day at the Trafford centre on our way home. I had read some 'iffy' reviews, especially about the food so planned to eat at a pub about 8 miles away, but got held up on the motorway so reluctantly decided to use the hotels restaurant. I shouldnt have concerned myself because the food was very good and i was able to use my tastecard. The staff were great the room was very clean, the bathroom and shower good and overall my wife and myself were very happy and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: I think we had a newly renovated room so might be worth asking, rooms from 20 to 30 i think, ours wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Property: Chimney House Hotel
Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing