We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supprise Sunday Lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chimney House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Traveling back from the north we decided we wanted to have lunch but did not want the expetiance of a motoway cafe, always a gamble when you come off the M6 to look for somewere but no sooner had we gone off the junction than the Chimney House hotel popped up.
If I had read some of the reviews I would have given it a miss. But I am glad we didnt. The food was good not great but better than the service stations and better Value . 2 course £9.95 & 3 was £12.95. Go for the 3 my husband loved the Chocolate Fonde! Service was interesting and fun.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Mave K,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to us here at the Brook Chimney House Hotel.

I am delighted to read your comments and very pleased to see that all our hard work is now paying off. Our Sunday lunch trade has increased dramatically and we have experienced a few teething problems but these were ironed out some weeks ago.

I hope you can visit us again in the very near future.

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 696 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have to say this was quite possibly the worst Sunday lunch I have ever had when eating out. The roast potatoes were like rubber - having obviously been cooked for a good few hours or been reheated from the day before. The food was drowning in gravy. The carrots were like mush yet the cauliflower was hard as rock.

I have to agree with the other reviews on this site and state that the food was simply poor... my partner and I finished our meals and left leaving the staff (who are clearly over-worked judging by how much the head waiter was sweating) to tender to more disappointed looking customers.

A half-full restaurant on a Sunday speaks volumes to me.

A word to the management too... the carpet is incredibly stained with food. Playing really loud hip-hop music is not really appropriate when people are trying to eat and chat... thankfully it was changed half-way through our meal to something more sedate.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulianG187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Juliang187069,

Man thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent experience here at the Brook Chimney House Hotel.
It is always very pleasing to receive both positive and negative feedback as it is a great way in which to use it as a learning tool so we can continually improve our service and offering here at the hotel. For this please may I thank you.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal but please be rest assured that every effort has been made to rectify the food that you received. We received many compliments on that particular Sunday so please accept my sincere apologies that your fayre was not the same as your fellow diners. The area of the carpet has been cleaned and I have checked the music system and none of it is hip hop music only pop, ballads and classical.

I hope that I can restore your faith in the restaurant and if I can be of any further assistance please do phone me at the hotel where I would be delighted to speak to you.

Kind Regards
Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for one night as an overnight stop with Alfa Holidays. I was quite worried by some of the reviews before I went. My room was o.k. but the windows need replacing and I could not reach to open one.The lady in the room next to me had a large crack in the window pane. The bathroom was superb and seemed to have been recently refurbished,The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.Checkin was quick but I was asked for my evening choice of menu before I had even had a chance to look at it. We were originally told that dinner was at 7.30 but this was changed to 7.00 and we were told that those who had already checked in would be phoned to let them know. Two of our party were not informed and came down halfway through the meal. The meal was adequate although the roast potatoes were clearly warmed up. Breakfast was o.k. if you got there promptly or you had to wait for replenishments.
We asked for a small wine at the bar and were told that they only had large wine glasses and the wine had to be measured they then realised they needed to get bottles of wine from the wine cellar although the bar had only just opened. One chap had his whisky served in a brandy baloon as they said they had no other suitable glasses.
When the evening meal was served the waiters just rushed round the tables with the food already plated up asking who ordered a particular menu choice until they managed to find the right person.
All in all not a terrible hotel but a few things need tweaking and a bit more organisation would make a lot of difference.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andysgirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,



Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Brook Chimney House Hotel.



I am very glad to report that the windows you mention are in the process of being replaced. I am unsure why two of your party came down late as the coach driver did tell every body of the dining times. With regards to the small wine glasses, these at the time were being washed due to the high volume of guests we were serving that night so they were not available for approximately ten minutes. The same applies to the whiskey glasses. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed the bathroom and had a good nights sleep so I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.





Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We went for Sunday lunch yesterday to this hotel. Our table was on the edge of the wedding ceremony area which was being set up around us whilst we had our meal. A vacuum cleaner was positioned close to our table too but fortunately wasn't used whilst we were there. We felt rushed out as they were moving chairs around and rolling out red carpet. This was about 2pm and the wedding was starting at 3pm. We felt that we were slotted in to earn a few quid for the hotel. Doesn't it matter about the experience of Groupon voucher holders? It seems that way! We could have been future customers but certainly won't be returning.

The meal was mediocre. We read the other comment which seemed to suggest a THREE course lunch. We had a choice of TWO courses and chose the belly pork and the banana and toffee Eton Mess. The roast potatoes were overdone and there was no offer of condiments or sauces. The dessert was a small tumbler (smaller than the one given to the next table) with some whipped cream, a few slices of banana, one small piece of meringue on the top and a trace of toffee at the bottom. Very disappointing.

We had a small glass of house white wine and a pint of beer. The bill for these was a staggering £9.20. So glad we didn't have coffee!

We are not daft and realise that hotels/restaurants are giving out vouchers in order to attract business/future business and that they want to make some profit on drinks. However, at these prices we will not be returning. The food is ordinary and only worth £5 and the place is in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank me_here_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,



Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent dining experience here at the Brook Chimney House Hotel.



I am very surprised to read you comments as I personally served you that day. The menu that was presented to you was a three course Sunday lunch menu and you were entitled to three courses as was everyone else on that day. I am unsure why you felt rushed as we took bookings at 2.30pm with no issues but if you did please accept my apologies. I do remember asking you after I served you the pork if you wanted anything else with your meals but your answer was no. A check back was also made to check for satisfaction. I do believe that your meals were excellent value for money as we source high quality produce here at the hotel. I have however taken your comments fully on board and will act on the necessary changes needed

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here for a night when I was over for a friends funeral. It was lovely & clean & very peaceful & quiet. The bed was clean & comfy & the breakfast was good. Lovely bathroom.
I live on the Isle of Man & can never sleep with windows open because of the noise of the sea gulls. It was so lovely to be able to sleep with an open window, that over looks quiet grounds. You would never know you are so near a motorway. It's a convenient hotel that feels out in the country.
I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsHIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear MrsHIsleofMan,

Many thanks for you kind comments and i look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We booked a two night stay at this hotel. We left this morning, foregoing our second night.
Granted, we had a small dog with us and so had requested a ground floor room - oh dear!! I did enquire as to whether all the rooms were of the same size and quality and apparently they are.
Where do I start?? The room was tiny and drab, the view from the window faced a brick wall complete with extractor fan which we worked out was from the toilets. The room was extremely stuffy and with the window open the road noise was unbearable. The bed was just a basic double. Cheap flat pillows. No hair dryer!

The evening meal was quite good however, quite a contrast to the breakfast, a buffet which had been well depleted and not restocked by the time we ate.

This is all such a shame as the external appearance of the buildings and grounds are lovely. Loads of parking and to be fair the lounge area is quite nice. Sort all this out and this could be a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JScrowston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,



Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Brook Chimney House Hotel.



The room you stayed in was recently refurbished and looks out onto part of the gardens. The country road is approximately 100 metres away and I have never had a noise complaint here before however I have looked into this. All our rooms are roughly the same size apart from our suites, family and executive rooms, these were all fully booked when you stayed. Hair dryers are located in the desk and extra pillows in the wardrobe.



I am please to read you enjoyed our dinner and you liked the gardens. Certain items did have to be re-stocked on breakfast due to the high volume of guests we had in that morning but I am assured that the time this took was minimal but please accept my apologies if there was a slight delay.




Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here for a friends wedding and had a great time. The buffet food was great and the venue very impressive, particularly the location to the Motorway (without the noise) and the gardens. Parking is great too.

However, the rooms are a little dated. They give off more a 3* rather than 4* appearance. Furniture, curtains and the bathroom could all do with updating.

Having said that, the staff we encountered were polite and friendly and the room and hotel was clean and very well presented.

Point to note: The drinks were VERY expensive!! I suppose this is normal for wedding venues but still, I did feel a bit robbed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hols_and_Meals_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Hols_and_meals,



Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Brook Chimney House Hotel.



I am very pleased that my team were able to welcome you so warmly and take care of you so efficiently during your friend’s wedding . I will be certain to pass your kind words on to my restaurant , kitchen and housekeeping teams . In terms of our bar prices at Brook Hotels we try to keep our drink costs in line with all the other local hotels and we regularly review them to ensure we are providing the best value for money to our guests . Like most hotel groups the refurbishment of our properties is continuous and on-going and we will begin to renovate some of our older rooms in due course .



I do hope you can visit us again in the very near future so you can enjoy our hospitality once again.



Kind Regards

Luke Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
4.3 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
3.9 mi away
The Vicarage Freehouse & Rooms
8.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,267 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
300 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chimney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Price Range: $63 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing