We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Find”
Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Ranked #6 of 72 Restaurants in Sandbach
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Surprising Find”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This was the first time we had been and it was a real surprise to find such good food and a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We went on a Monday, party of six, and although quiet it still had something to offer. The staff were attentive but not always hovering and the food was excellent. I do have to say though that the vegetarian choice was not extensive and if you did not like aubergines then it was very limited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    236
    126
    73
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice food, very good service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The restaurant is truly capacious, with endless nooks and crannies. I've been to restaurants like this in the past, where they are using an old building with a previously different function, and they often struggle to match the provision of service with the constraints of an old building. The Old Hall somehow has managed to succeed. The menu is comprehensive and with a wide variety of fascinating combinations. If I'm honest, the food when it arrived on our table of four, didn't live up to it's billing on the menu. I get the impression that the simpler dishes are more likely to succeed, at least during peak times, and the restaurant was packed, which is usually indicative. For me the real stars were the numerous staff, who were energetic, knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not as good as past visits”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Came here for an early (6pm) dinner last week and was quite surprised at how the quality of the food has dropped since our last visit.
Had the scallops as an entree, they came with tempura-battered cauliflower and some kind of puree. Really needed something sharp/tangy as a contrast as it was all very mellow and creamy.
Had the fish and chips as a main and the fish was much smaller than previous times. I've always ordered the fish here and it's usually a lovely thick fillet. This was both thinner and smaller.
Despite being quite early, the staff seemed very rushed (perhaps they were shortstaffed that night?) so I didn't get the opportunity to mention it at the time. Not sure I even would have, it wasn't terrible food, it just wasn't up to the usual excellent standard I'd come to expect from this place.
We will go back again, but if it's the same quality, we'll probably find another local place to eat at in future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Historic building, old world charm, great building, food could be improved”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It's great to see this historic manor house back in use and seemingly thriving. We had lunch at The Old Hall and thought the atmosphere was good and the service was excellent - efficient and friendly.

Good selection of wines and some guest beers, but only one from Cheshire. I would recommend a wider range of local beers if possible.

The food was ok, however there was nothing on the menu that was obviously from Cheshire. The menu should be reduced - far too many options! Cheshire is a county abundant in great agricultural produce so why not have local dishes and produce on the menu? Why would anyone come to Sandbach for 'Malaysian Chicken' ? - even though I know this dish was very tasty. The Old Hall's future must lie in serving great local products and local dishes and not in being some bland provincial bistro/gastro bar.

My views above reflect a desire to see local restaurants play to their strengths and rise above the far too abundant mediocre dining experiences. The Old Hall has an unrivalled historic setting and needs a locally based menu to reflect this.

I would recommend anyone to eat there but would urge customers to ask for local produce. No more Malaysian Curry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

10 of us visited to celebrate a 50th birthday on a Saturday evening....food is amazing, service started off as excellent, although tailed off to poor and only half the table was cleared from dinner, although as the food was awesome and the wine was flowing we didn't mind. Staff were very friendly...go visit the bathroom ladies...it is amazing, you could have a party in there it's huge and very beautiful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank MShirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Hall also viewed

Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Been to The Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing