We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard work by staff rewarded” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gee's Kitchen - CLOSED

Gee's Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hard work by staff rewarded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

On the first day of reopening of Gee`s after the closure for Christmas, my wife and I planned to have lunch from the main menu with our family who were to return to their respective homes in the south later that day.
Imagine our horror when, after calling in at Gee`s in the morning to conrfirm their opening time, we were told that there had been a problem in the kitchen during the break. The owner duly warned us that the menu unfortunately would be severely limited but all efforts would be made to produce what they could in the short time before we planned to dine.
We did not consider going elsewhere and had complete faith in the staff as we had eaten at Gee`s on many occasions in the past.
When we dined, all of us ordered different main courses but we were assured that the staff had managed to make the dishes available. As expected, all meals were faultless and presented to their usual high standard.
As a result of the hard work put in, pleasure and relief in equal measure were clearly evident from the demeanour of both staff and diners ! Well done to all concerned.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireArtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    40
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Always a great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is my No. 1 place to eat in Sandbach. Always an excellent choice on the menu, attentive service and I get the impression of food prepared from quality ingredients with attention to detail. Good value too. I have not eaten there on an evening but have always been impressed when I have been in for breakfast and lunch. The only minus is the location, down a bit of an pedestrian thoroughfare between Waitrose and the high street, so don't expect to see much of a view - great for people watching though! Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Have been to Gee's on numerous occasions in the evening and have been consistently surprised and delighted with the food and service, finally inspiring me to write my first ever Tripadvisor review. Regularly updated menu is compact but always has a great choice and real care and passion is obviously put into all of the food, with innovative takes on classic cuisine, presented beautifully. Personal favourite dish recently has been lamb cooked two ways, slow - braised melt in the mouth and miniature moussaka served with harissa dressing. Mouth watering stuff.They do a good line in desserts too. Best food in Sandbach and at a reasonable price for the effort put in. Worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are never disappointed with Gee`s Kitchen and our dining experience is always first class. This restaurant genuinely is a cut above other local eateries and should be given the plaudits it deserves, with great service, quality of ingredients and execution of the dishes evident for all to enjoy. Absolutely outstanding!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blissfully delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Came here with a small group of seven family members and was bowled over. Truly heavenly. Smoked duck starter with popcorn - interesting and pleasing taste and texture combination. Followed by the blade of beef which was so tender it fell apart by the touch of a fork. Test of a good restaurant - their steak and chips, which my partner had. In a word, superb. Very friendly and attentive staff, not too intrusive, just present enough. Lovely balance. I live 3h away from this restaurant so to my intense annoyance I can't say this will be a regular fixture. But will give me a good excuse to come back again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hellebore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gee's Kitchen also viewed

 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing