We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you enjoy beautifully presented food with flavours to die for, try it!”
Review of Gee's Kitchen - CLOSED

Gee's Kitchen
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Sandbach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you enjoy beautifully presented food with flavours to die for, try it!”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I'm writing this review after a couple of visits to Gee's in December - the most recent of of our regular visits since the restaurant opened. Once again, the food was superb, and the service relaxed and efficient.

The menu changes monthly, with imaginative dishes packed with flavour, carefully presented like works of art and with prices that are much lower than you'd expect to have to pay for food like this. Dax is a genial host, who really cares that his customers enjoy the remarkable food that the chef, Andy, presents.

A cafe/coffee shop during the day, serving excellent coffee, cakes and light meals, it turns into a stylish modern restaurant in the evenings, providing what I think is the best food around in an informal setting. You really pay about the same for 3 wonderful courses as you'd expect to pay for 2 or 3 courses in a decent pub.

We love Gee's and will be visiting again very soon.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    40
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need to visit”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Food was superb, very good value for money. Staff very friendly too.

Helpful?
Thank cuddlesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food in Sandbach”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Whilst the restaurant is not the most decorative in Sandbach, the food more than makes up for the experience.
Been there three times this year and never had the same menu twice.
Not the cheapest but excellent value and a superb chef, service and menu.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velox
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fine Dining Arrives in Sandbach”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

I have deliberately resisted writing a review for some months to ensure there is a degree of consistency at Gee's after our wonderful first experience. Glad to say 5 months later we're eating at Gee's once a week. We also attended the Beaujolais Nouveau evening as an extra. Without doubt the menu, taste and presentation all tantalise your senses and at prices often less than the local pubs and other Sandbach cafes / restaurants. What's more the wines are always a little different and often very reasonably priced. During the day, coffee and cakes, and lunches are exceptioanlly well presented and represent really good value - believe me we've tried them all.
Combine the above with knowledgeable and friendly staff and only two questions remain. When will other restaurants realise the bar has been raised in Sandbach and improve the quality of their food and service? When will you be visiting Gee's?

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Velox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Host, Great Chef”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have been eating at Gees once a week since it opened and I have only had one less than perfect meal. Food is fantastic and service is always with a smile and attentive.
The menu changes frequently and every time I try something new it becomes my favourite, it is obvious that the chef is a bit special not only the quality of the food but the lovely presentation.
This restaurant was previously Flavour and we thought the then chef good but this guy is even better.
Prices for a smart restaurant are as good as and often better than pub prices - for gourmet food.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gettingitspent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gee's Kitchen also viewed

 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing