We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Pulford
Post
Inbox
Search

“Fur Coat & No Knickers!!”

Palm Court Restaurant
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Pulford
Price range: $16 - $55
Description: Palm Court Restaurant, Bar & Piano Lounge situated within the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel is a unique dining venue offering quality British & European cuisine across a range of menus. Experience elegant evening dining within the chic restaurant with cocktail bar & piano lounge featuring bubbling fountains and baby grand piano, also ideal for relaxed all day dining including brunch & afternoon tea.
Restaurant details
Description: Palm Court Restaurant, Bar & Piano Lounge situated within the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel is a unique dining venue offering quality British & European cuisine across a range of menus. Experience elegant evening dining within the chic restaurant with cocktail bar & piano lounge featuring bubbling fountains and baby grand piano, also ideal for relaxed all day dining including brunch & afternoon tea.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for two to celebrate a special birthday on the back of a review which stated that this was one of the Top 10 Afternoon Teas in Cheshire.

All I can say that the ones outside the Top 10 must be truly dire!!!

We requested Vegetarian Sandwiches as part of our Afternoon Tea - we got a selection of four flavours - Cheese & Pickle, Egg Mayo, Avocado & Pea Shoots, Olives & Something? First thing to state - crusts were removed but the white & brown bread used was cotton wool, cheapo, flavourless & limp! The cheese & pickle filling was nasty grated, mild plastic cheddar mixed with Branston pickle - acidic, over pickled and not good. The egg mayo was ok. The avocado and pea shoots was horrid - pieces of avocado skin and stringy pea shoots - YUK! The last flavour was Olive based but gawd only knows what it was supposed to be - my guess is some kind of tapenade? We got whole olives and some green vile tasting slime!!

We ordered one coffee and one tea. I got a pot of builders tea and my wife got one cup (not a pot or a cafetière in sight!) of poor quality filter(?) coffee. Only as we payed our bill was she offered a refill.

The fruit scones were very nice but were only served with clotted cream - no strawberry jam? We requested some and got the tiniest ramekin with a smear of strawberry jam in it!!

We were most looking forward to the cakes but by this stage we were done so we asked for a box so we could try them at home later.

Again these were also hugely disappointing. First up we tried a banana loaf with a huge layer of nasty confected cream - tasteless and yet slightly nauseous. Then came the so-called creme brûlées - No brûlée and all gelatinous gloop. Next up a mini lemon meringue pie - soggy pastry and the merest hint of lemon - not horrid but not great! We should have probably given up at this point but we soldiered on - a fairly pointless attempt at something akin to a black forest gateaux and lastly the final insult a completely stale eclair which claimed to have something to do with rhubarb but was completely tasteless.

So we spent an hour and a half and nearly £50 that we will never get back and do not even have fond memories going forward!!

Not Good!! However all the cheshire ladies in their fur coats, sipping their champagne. seemed to be enjoying themselves ....

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank recordrancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonHotels, Owner at Palm Court Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Palm Court restaurant, though it is disappointing to see that your Afternoon Tea did not meet with your expectations. It is very surprising and disappointing to see that you did not enjoy our offering, as our Afternoon Tea generally receives fantastic praise. I will be certain to pass this feedback on to our kitchen team, who use all feedback to improve the service we provide.

Please accept our apologies for this seemingly rare lapse in our high standards, and I hope that you will be motivated to return to Palm Court again in future so that we can improve upon the poor impression this recent visit has left.

Best wishes,

Clara
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had the pleasure of a great afternoon tea here saturday afternoon as one of about 40 people there to celebrate a wedding anniversary. The food and service were excellent and highly recommended. Will be back again to enjoy a quiet afternoon tea for two as it was great.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank eifioncymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonHotels, Owner at Palm Court Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent Afternoon Tea at Palm Court. We are very glad to see that you had the chance to enjoy our popular offering as part of such a special celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back for a future treat in Palm Court!

Best wishes,

Clara
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was efficient and friendly by waiting staff. All food was served on hot plates, was delicious and beautifully presented. Palm court was enjoyed by all

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonHotels, Owner at Palm Court Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Charlotte,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Palm Court. It is excellent to see that your entire group enjoyed their visit, and experienced our high standards of both service and food quality. We hope you have the opportunity to join us in Palm Court again soon!

Best wishes,

Clara
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The surroundings are beautiful and the distance between the tables allows privacy. The service was excellent, the best I have experienced in a long time. We made two requests during the meal and both were dealt with quickly and with a smile. This restaurant makes you feel special and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Looking forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank FionaR9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonHotels, Owner at Palm Court Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Fiona,

What a fantastic review! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your birthday meal at Palm Court. We love having the opportunity to help people celebrate, and we are so glad to see that you were made to feel special during your celebration! This is exactly the impression our team aim to give ever time.

We thank you again for your kind review, and look forward to welcoming you back to Palm Court soon!

Best wishes,

Clara
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful decor, welcoming and comfortable. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Delicious food. We love eating here. We also really like the current menu.

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonHotels, Owner at Palm Court Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Gillian,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Palm Court! We are so glad to see that you have been impressed with our restaurant, from the quality and diversity of our menu to the warm welcome you have received from our team. We thank you again for your kind review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Palm Court soon.

Best wishes,

Clara
Marketing Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Court Restaurant also viewed

Dodleston, Cheshire
 
Rossett, Wrexham
 

Been to Palm Court Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing