We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disapointed - travel agent review”

Grosvenor Arms Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grosvenor Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulford
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A stayed here for one night between christmas & new year to celebrate my birthday, after reading all the reviews we were very much loking forward to our stay.
Check-in was a little strange, hundreds of people in the car park (wedding)was told to walk though Nelsons bar wih our luggage, however later realised reception was a door next door - again crowded.
We booked a room only package - £15 per person for breakfast is very steep.
Upon arrival into the room (67) I was very upset, bathroom door was filthy, plug socket near changing area was loose and virtually hanging off the wall, skirting boards were all chippped and messy and pictures on walls were all wonky - not what we expected for a 'recently refurbished executive room'
Once settled, headed to the Spa for a swim & relax, very quiet and nicely laid out - but if I am being honest I recently vistied the Lion Quays (oswestry) this spa wa 100% better. Floors were uneven and very slippery, only 4 sunloungers to sit on, the swimming pool water was freezing, ladies changing rooms were very small, lockers free of charge - locker key had no ring to attach it to anything whilst I swam.
We booked a table at Nelsons bar - very pleased with this, service was quick, staff were polite & friendly and food at a good standard - the best part of our stay.
We left early Saturday morning - over all very disapointed with the standards on this 4*+ hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Grosvenor Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Terrible time ,food was cold ,xmass dinner. Manager did not want to know. He only wanted to smoke or get off early.Was like a nursing home. Never would we go again.Nothing to do but buy very expensive drinks in the pub..Not worth the money paid for best room ,was not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greytransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay, food rooms and service first class, and the very best of spa facility, the food in the restaurant was with out doubt fine if you get chance hace the panacotta beautifully if I was a greedy person I would have another one. One down point the mobile phone reception is not good, but apart from that I will recommend it to any body.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

If your looking for a venue to hold a Christmas Party, any other function or just somewhere to stop and relax, look no further than the Grosvenor Pulford. The hotel facilities are very nice, from the bar with open fires to the restaurant and relaxing leisure facilities. The rooms were spacious, clean, warm and comfortable, all one would expect/wish for. The staff were friendly, helpful, polite, competent and attentive. Our party of 36 all thoroughly enjoyed their christmas party, the food was excellent, appropriately cooked / prepared and served hot, which is no mean feat when serving 180+ people in one sitting. The entertainment, in this case DJ and Robbie Wiliams tribute act, were excellent and fun was had by all. It was also very good value for money. Hope to re-visit soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Simochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Large extended well-located pub in a country village near Chester with leisure facilities and function rooms. Attractive grounds. Room was comfortable in the standard brocade, tasselled curtains and dark wallpaper style. Breakfast poor. Service reasonable but not the best.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meirionydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulford
0.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,312 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rossett Hall Hotel
Rossett Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rossett
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Llyndir Hall, Chester South
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.0 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Arms Hotel

Address: Wrexham Road | Chester, Pulford CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Pulford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pulford
Price Range: $97 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Grosvenor Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing