We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Worst Meal I have EVER Eaten!”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Reviewed October 8, 2006

I took a party of ten here to celebrate my Parents birthdays. The table was for 8pm we did not recieve our main courses until 9.50pm. When we recieved it it was cold and overcooked. The "new" potatoes were from a tin, and the "mash" potato was 'Smash' potato.My steak was over cooked and burnt around the edges and served cold. Two members of my party suffered from stomach aches the next day too! The meal cost £450 and it was the worst meal I have EVER eaten in my life. Many airline meals are better than this!

The only good thing was the beautifully presented table and the very friendly waiters - but then you cant eat them!!!

STAY WELL CLEAR FROM THE BRIDGE HOTEL RESTAURANT!

Stayed: September 2006
6  Thank alderleysnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 335 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2006

My wife and I visited The Bridge Hotel for dinner for the very first time last week on the strong recommendation of many of our friends.
We both found it very difficult to choose a meal as the menu was so extensive, in the end my wife chose the brie & cranberry tartlet followed by dover sole(presented & filleted at the table) and I opted for the king prawns & scallops followed venison(served perfectly pink).
We thought that both the quality of food and service was the best that we have had in a long time,the unobtrusive service and the little extras like the exquisite homemade bread offered,sliced and served at the table not too mention the appetiser of continental meats & olives complements of the chef all added up to a truely memorable dining experience.
The winelist was both extensive and reasonably priced and probably had something to suit everybodys taste. I was tempted by the Cristal & Chateau Petrus but in the end I settled for a glass of the house champagne and a bottle of Australian Shiraz
I would definitely disagree with the 2 previous reviews and strongly recommend this cheshire establishment as one of the finest in the area

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2005

stayed at this hotel a few times. Few do's and don'ts.
Do make sure you book a double, even if you're on your own. The single rooms are small and pokey. Do make sure you are staying in the newly built area at the back of the hotel. The older rooms are stale and can get noisy, as they are above the bar and restaurant areas. Don't eat in the hotel, its expensive and not particularly good food. They also play the worst musak on the planet, enough to give anyone indigetsion. In fairness if you shout at one of the waiters to turn it down, they usually oblige. Just walk across the road to the Leigh arms, good food, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices.
Leave plenty of time for breakfast, the guy serving is built for comfort and not for speed. On average it takes 20 - 30 minutes to get a couple of scrambled eggs.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank desbaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We went for dinner to this "Prestbury institution" on Friday 26th August and I can confidently say that this was the worst meal I have had in a restaurant in at least 10 years of regular dining.

As someone who has been in hospitality for over 15 years, both front and rear of house, I was amazed at the lack of prefessionalism and skills. Most of the waitning staff are foreign and have little command of the English language not to mention necessary training.

Let me just mention that the average price for starters is £10 and the average main course is £20 so we are talking about a restaurant that promotes itself at the highest level.

I had a main course described as an assiette of seafood that consisted of halibut, monkfish, seabass, 2 prwans and 2 green lipped mussels. The dish had been cooked under a grill until the sea bass skin was black, the mussels and prawns were of a rubber consitency and the whole dish was rendered inedible. The ingredients of this dish were neither fresh nor cooked with any skill whatsoever.

On discussing these faults with the manager, he then disappeared into the kitchen and returned to tell me that "the chef has always served this dish that way" "you mean he burns it all the time?" I said. "Look around you we are busy" the manager said to me. I looked around and saw a half empty restaurant at 9.00pm on a friday night!!! ".

Take my word for it.......go to the Whitehouse, the Legh Arms, Prestbury Village Restaurant, Nice Restaurant.......they are all infinitely better.

My advice to The Bridge is that if you are to market yourself as a top class hotel and restaurant then you cannot do this on the cheap. Please invest in training for your staff, a decent chef and fresh ingredients then you will be nearly there!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank hardtoplease67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank checco_e_la_simo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Pierluigi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: フロントに近い部屋は、結婚披露宴パーティなどやる会場と近いので避けた方がいい。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestbury
2.1 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,662 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
0.1 mi away
Legh Arms
Legh Arms
#2 of 2 in Prestbury
187 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Address: The Village, Prestbury, Macclesfield SK10 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Prestbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Price Range: $106 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Prestbury, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing