We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night Dinner Deal”
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bridge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Friday Night Dinner Deal”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Deal is a 3 course dinner and a bottle of wine for 2 people for £40.
There were 18 of us and the restaurant was packed.
We were given a lovely table right in the centre.
The staff are fantastic - so polite and very welcoming.

There are a decent number of menu choices.
The food was superb and helpings too large to finish.
The ambience perfect.
The same deal midweek is £33.
i would highly recommend this for a special meal as a group or a romantic dinner for 2.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dibs66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    84
    38
    38
    18
See reviews for
85
109
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was accompanied by a colleague to meetings in the area so, as I was from this area, I thought I would impress him, rather than the usual "standard format" hotels stay somewhere a bit different.

Reception was perfect and efficient.

My colleague was impressed that were shown to our rooms rather than the old – “rooms are that way and lift over there routine”….
Rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. Wi-Fi through out too
Being in centre of the village it’s handy for the Pubs and the restaurants. ,,, And breakfast was excellent. If you are in the area stay here. You will enjoy it…

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBH0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Whenever I am in the area I stay at The Bridge en-route to Belfast. The hotel has been in the family for years and is still run by Mrs. Grange. The reception staff are long-serving and friendly and the restaurant manager is professional and discreet and the sommelier knows his wine. All regulars are known by name and welcomed warmly - just as it should be. They always arrange for me to have my favourite room!

If you can afford it, do stay in the old part of the hotel, as the rooms are so comfortable. The other rooms are very nice also, and reasonably priced.

If you are staying for a few days, ask for a half-board rate: it's well worth it, and dining in the restaurant every night is a pleasure. Sunday lunch is a great traditional English dining experience.

The set meal is very reasonable, but it's well worth it to dine off the carte: there are some great dishes, including Dover Sole. Don't be afraid to ask the sommelier advice on a suitable wine: it won't break the bank and a good claret is very reasonable.

Like most great chefs, he can be a temperamental and doesn't take criticism well. However, this is a small point and one bonus is that he understands that many traditional fold like well-cooked vegetables and will provide them on request!

The breakfast buffet is well-presented, and the breakfast cook competent. It would be good to see porridge that is not instantly cooked, but traditionally made; but I suppose that so few people request it that it would be a waste to make it the night before in the traditional way. So few hotels nowadays even know how to cook porridge correctly.

Room Tip: A room in the old hotel is my preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had Sunday lunch with friends - first class from start to finish. I had the roast lamb and believe me it was just great.
Staff very courteous and friendly, would struggle to find anything negative about the Bridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband & I had our wedding at the Bridge in September and it was absolutely amazing!
Our room was comfortable & clean, and the food is delicious, really lived up to its reputation.
The weather was a definite help as we could spend lots of time on the patio and in the very photogenic gardens!
The hotel itself was small enough to be intimate, but was professionally run - All the staff were extremely helpful & friendly and we felt very much at ease and several guests have mentioned how much fun they had, so thanks to everybody!
Very much recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a wedding in Prestbury and were looking for a place to stay that was cosy, value for money and near the wedding reception venue. The bridge ticked all of these boxes and more. The house dates back to the 1600's, hotel staff are lovely and accommodating and breakfast was substantial and satisfying. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Highly recommend this b and b.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kath31Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend at The Bridge, 2 of our lovely friends had their wedding reception there. Friday night we ate in the restaurant there was an offer 3 course for 2 plus as bottle of wine for £40 the food was delicious esp the plaice fillet. Our room was adequate very clean and with everything we needed, maybe lacking in a bit of personality but we were not planning to spend much time there. Breakfast was very good plenty to choose from the staff really helpful. The wedding was superbly managed with every attention to detail and the meal was again delicious and hot which always makes the difference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poppygrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestbury
2.1 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,558 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
3.5 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Property: Bridge Hotel
Address: The Village, Prestbury, Macclesfield SK10 4DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Prestbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Prestbury, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing