We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel quality at a B&B price”
Review of White House Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White House Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 Prestbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hotel quality at a B&B price”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I liked the White Horse manor. It is not a hotel: don't expect bellmen, a bar, a restaurant or a gym. It's a classic English B&B... but it is much, much better than the typical B*B. It is an excellent value. The staff are attentive and kind. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are quiet and clean, with nice appointments and good fabrics. The breakfast is healthy and delicious. I slept like a rock, peacefully. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor. It was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
67
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I found the hotel, more bed and breakfast like than hotel. I did not enjoy the experience as it felt like staying in someone's home. The room was very fussily decorated, which seemed more to the owners ornate taste than to a more general traveller's taste. The bed was not very comfortable, with an old mattress and very thin and flimsy duvet. The room was also very cold, despite turning the heating up to fill blast.

The room had very dark and dated furniture with a four poster bed, with fake curtains. No light switches next to the bed so had to get out of bed to turn the lights off.

The bathroom was clean but quite dated to.

I did not appreciate being offered a cooked breakfast at an additional charge, when I paid over £120.00 for one nights stay. And also the fact that the breakfast is only served after 7:00 am.

The wireless also did not work and I was told to try the wireless in the conservatory, which was rather annoying considering I wanted to relax and unwinde in my room. And, it did not work in the conservatory so ended up missing out on checking emails and catching up on important work prior to my meetings the next day in the area. I requested a discounted rate which was declined.

There is also no mobile phone reception at ALL in the area which can be a big issue!

This is an over priced Bed and Breakfast, rather dated and lacking the required facilities for a corporate traveller. Better for people holidaying in the area, over 60, who have money to waste on over priced accommodation. I will not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arrived at this lovely old house late afternoon. Very warm welcome at reception and very helpful on where to dine at night. The room (Minerva) was beautifully fitted and the bathroom awesome. We chose this room because it had a Turkish steam room. Using it was a very enjoyable experience. We chose to have breakfast delivered to our room, and what a breakfast it was. I have never seen so much beautiful food. Well worth a visit, would stay again if ever there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel was great, comfortable and luxurious. The staff were very helpful and breakfast in the room was the icing on the cake. I would highly recommend it as a great value, high quality and friendly. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Check their website to see each room individually, each are unique in their own way. All look amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldeneyeWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

firstly the welcome, first class, staff that have a personality, intelligence and very friendly manor.
Next, the rooms, first class, luxury furnishings.
Nice little touches - cd player including a some quality CD's, DVD's available to loan from reception.
Breakfast was first class, great food, great service

yes, i read some other reviews of this place, the car park is small, the entrance is a little hard to find and you have to order breakfast the night before... none of these things affected my visit. I will return to this excellent establishment.

Room Tip: i stayed in trafalgar, a single room, but the room was larger than most single rooms i have stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossybear6437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have stayed many times at White house manor and it is a favorite of mine when I travel to the Manchester area. Out in leafy and green Cheshire and in the pretty village of Prestubury White house is a gem of hotels. It is a small hotel, with a family feel, few rooms and each room has an individual design. All rooms in common though is that they have great bathrooms and showers, great nice big beds and really nice interior. In middle of winter when English hotels can be cold, the White house is warm and cosy. Downstairs in communal areas they have open fire on winter nights and the staff are great, very helpful and really services oriented. Cleanliness is great and it is very well taken care of. Rooms can be smelling a bit dusty but an open window and 30 minutes and it is really nice and the room gets warm really quick. There are lots of restaurants and pubs in walking distance, of all shapes and forms. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: There are 7-10 restaurants in walking distance (10 minutes) from the hotel with the closest 1 minute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StalGutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a wonderful stay over the new year. Staff in particular Francesca made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much hassle for them. The room (Crystal) was gorgeous and breakfast was outstanding. I don't know why on previous review someone moaned about ordering breakfast night before. If u want freshly cooked breakfast cooked from scratch then the chef would need to know how many to make especially in a small run hotel. Outstanding stay and definitely worth the money.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody80_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestbury
0.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
306 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Central
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Manor

Property: White House Manor
Address: New Rd, Prestbury, Macclesfield SK10 4HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Prestbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Prestbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White House Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House Manor Hotel Prestbury
White House Manor Prestbury, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing