We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of The Saffron Room - CLOSED

The Saffron Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Living close by I am a fan of Prestbury restaurants and the Saffron Room which serves delicious fresh indian cuisine is no exception. I would recommend their signature dishes; the king prawns with cumin and the chicken tikka balti with minced lamb are both superb tasting dishes that you will not find in your normal high street Indian restaurant. Staff are always really friendly and professional and the restaurant has a great ambience whether you go at the week end or a Monday night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidmyers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'm not at all surprised this is ranked number 10 out of 11 restaurants in Prestbury.

This is a poor Indian Restaurant. The poppodoms certainly weren't freshly prepared and the accompaniments were just awful, flavourless and uninspiring.

To be fair the starter was pretty good. I ordered The Saffon Room Kebab and this was plentiful and tasty.

The main courses that we chose to share were terrible. We ordered the Cheesy Masala as this sounded a bit different (garnished with cheese and wine). It certainly was different but not in a pleasant way. i can make a better sauce at home. The second dish was chosen for the same reason as the first, it sounded different. The Balti Chicken Tikka Jalfrezi is as the name suggests I think. It tasted like the remains of last nights Balti, Tikka and Jalfrezi mixed together with a plentiful supply of chiles to try and hide the flavour. Truly awful.

The keema nan was possibly, no definately, the worst I've ever tasted. Flat and tasteless.

The service was poor with one of our party having to wait a good while before his meal was delivered after everybody elses. As a result of this he was a little longer getting to the end of his meal than anybody else but two waiters insisted on trying to clear the table before he'd finished.

We didn't want to complain too much as we were with customers but had I been with friends or family words of complaint would have been forthcoming.

Needless to say that when the card machine was presented to me to pay the bill and I was instructed where to add a gratuity the column remained blank.

Awful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanaam a, Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Mr.Ray..I take exception to your claims regarding The Saffron Room.
I find it most unfair that you have chosen to use a restaurant review page to broadcast your unfounded remarks.With this in mind I have decided to take you up on your points raised and to
justify the meal served here.

Our recipe and dishes menu are different from others Indian restaurants I am not surprise if you find it unusual because you haven't dine here before.
You remarks about Cheesy masala;this is from our signature dish and very popular dish what you
describe [cheese and wine]. prepared with fresh herbs and mild spice cook with masala sauce&white wine.Balti Jalfrezi;one of our best seller and very popular dish from Balti speciality dish,freshly prepared stir-fried chicken cooked with capsicum,green chillies&onions,delightfully flavoured with balti spice. on your comment Balti chicken tikka jalfrezi is as the name suggest remains of last nights Balti,Tikka and Jalfrezi mixed together with a plentiful supply of chilies to try and hide the flavour truly awful!!
What can I say you truly sound like a competitors allies or agent with intention to cause damage.
We well come constructive criticism and we take seriously to improve any aspects.
If you wish to contact me direct please do so.
info@thesaffronroom.co.uk

Many thanks for your co operation.

Kind regards

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have eaten here many times and in the past have enjoyed the food as it has been different, tasty and well presented. Sorry to say, no longer seems to be the case. .
There are certain dishes we like, sometimes we try new dishes other times enjoy the ones we normally have.
Have eaten twice here recently and both times have been disappointed.
Sauces taste different, tend to be either too hot or mild and the fish and meat overcooked.
The menu is now also overpriced not just based on the food quality but also based on economics. It may be Prestbury, but .......
I hope that they get their act together........better food and lower prices and I will be back.......... otherwise no, I will go elsewhere for a decent indian meal.

In the past, I would have offered 4 out of 5, now, just gets 2 but really worth 1.

Sorry guys.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jake-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffronRoom, Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hello Charli,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.I would like to thank you for your constructive comments as they will be taken in to a account and have shared your feedback with
our management,whom will look into this matter further.

If you would kindly like to further discuss your experience can you please write me at:

info@thesaffronroom.co.uk

thank you again for your comments and I look forward to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a fantastic night yet again food was amazing staff brilliant very helpful.We over the last 2 1/2 years have taken our family and friends and everyone has enjoyed there food and environment as much as we have. Who says you can't eat like a celebratory in Prestbury and not go home feeling that you have payed over the odds, go and I can personally assure you fantastic night.....ENJOY xxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nobleJoanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffronRoom, General Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hello Janna,
I personally thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Saffron Room.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was dragged along under duress last Saturday night as I was one of a party of six hungry people. Although we hadn't booked, we were assured we could be accomodated. We waited and waited and after half an hour were eventually shown to a table. Pappadams were ok, we then received a mixed starter...this consisted of a tough and gristly dried lamb chop, half a dried up sikh kebab, a tiny peice of chicken and an onion bhaji. Al of this was pre-cooked and re-heated..not a good start after such a long wait! Another 40 minute wait followed, and then we were served main courses...no apologies offered. Only one of our party actually enjoyed his main course, the rest of us left most of the meal. There are 2 overriding tastes in whatever curry is chosen......tomato puree and chilli powder! When the (full) plates were cleared...no one asked us if the meals were ok and by this time the manager had made himself scarce! Needless to say...that's 6 more Prestbury residents that won't be going back in a hurry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hardtoplease67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffronRoom, General Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Hello Mr.Cheshire,

I have previously responded to your unfounded remarks,this is third negative reviews from you.

I find it most unfair that you broadcast your unfounded remarks,simply you intended to cause damage to Saffron Room.
The Saffron Room is very popular restaurant and we have been accepted by our customer,local communities highly.

Kind regards,
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saffron Room also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing