We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be very good, now below average”
Review of The Saffron Room - CLOSED

The Saffron Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Used to be very good, now below average”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have eaten here many times and in the past have enjoyed the food as it has been different, tasty and well presented. Sorry to say, no longer seems to be the case. .
There are certain dishes we like, sometimes we try new dishes other times enjoy the ones we normally have.
Have eaten twice here recently and both times have been disappointed.
Sauces taste different, tend to be either too hot or mild and the fish and meat overcooked.
The menu is now also overpriced not just based on the food quality but also based on economics. It may be Prestbury, but .......
I hope that they get their act together........better food and lower prices and I will be back.......... otherwise no, I will go elsewhere for a decent indian meal.

In the past, I would have offered 4 out of 5, now, just gets 2 but really worth 1.

Sorry guys.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake-Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffronRoom, Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello Charli,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.I would like to thank you for your constructive comments as they will be taken in to a account and have shared your feedback with
our management,whom will look into this matter further.

If you would kindly like to further discuss your experience can you please write me at:

info@thesaffronroom.co.uk

thank you again for your comments and I look forward to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    15
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Joanna noble”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a fantastic night yet again food was amazing staff brilliant very helpful.We over the last 2 1/2 years have taken our family and friends and everyone has enjoyed there food and environment as much as we have. Who says you can't eat like a celebratory in Prestbury and not go home feeling that you have payed over the odds, go and I can personally assure you fantastic night.....ENJOY xxx

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nobleJoanna123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffronRoom, General Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello Janna,
I personally thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Saffron Room.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“a joke!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I was dragged along under duress last Saturday night as I was one of a party of six hungry people. Although we hadn't booked, we were assured we could be accomodated. We waited and waited and after half an hour were eventually shown to a table. Pappadams were ok, we then received a mixed starter...this consisted of a tough and gristly dried lamb chop, half a dried up sikh kebab, a tiny peice of chicken and an onion bhaji. Al of this was pre-cooked and re-heated..not a good start after such a long wait! Another 40 minute wait followed, and then we were served main courses...no apologies offered. Only one of our party actually enjoyed his main course, the rest of us left most of the meal. There are 2 overriding tastes in whatever curry is chosen......tomato puree and chilli powder! When the (full) plates were cleared...no one asked us if the meals were ok and by this time the manager had made himself scarce! Needless to say...that's 6 more Prestbury residents that won't be going back in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hardtoplease67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffronRoom, General Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello Mr.Cheshire,

I have previously responded to your unfounded remarks,this is third negative reviews from you.

I find it most unfair that you broadcast your unfounded remarks,simply you intended to cause damage to Saffron Room.
The Saffron Room is very popular restaurant and we have been accepted by our customer,local communities highly.

Kind regards,
Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten in this restaurant many times . The food has always been good , but in the recent Time the quality of the food has been going down the Hill the Service had always been good but .. i Wish they would do something About the food consistancy.one week hot next runny mild get you act together before you feel the pinch

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaffronRoom, Manager at The Saffron Room, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your view with us.I would like to thank you for your constructive comments,as they will be utilised for training purposes.
I have shared your feedback with the floor manager, whom will look into this matter further.

If you wish to further discuss your experience,can you kindly write me at;

info@thesaffronroom.co.uk

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope to hear from you soon.

Warmest regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Takeaway to Forget”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Invited over to a girlfriends house recently the 3 of us decided to have a takeaway from the Saffron Room & it was a disaster.
Apart from the poppadoms & accompaniments the main courses were extremely disappointing -obviously familiar with eating Indian food for many years, we aren't novices here.
The main courses were lacking in flavour, the chicken was quite tough and the sauce was just like eating tomato puree, what we also struggled with was the sauce as it was an absurd and rather unappetizing purple colour, we didn't finish the takeaway and sufficient to say I doubt we would give it another try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saffron Room also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing