We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and inexpensive lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Butley Ash

Butley Ash
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Prestbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Horwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice and inexpensive lunch”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Called into the Butley Ash (what I would call a posh pub) for lunch with family (all adult). Passed it several times before and wondered what it would be like. We weren't disappointed. £50 bought 5 very nice albeit simple main courses, 4 puddings 3 lattes and 2 coffees. Everything was good quality and decent sized portions. Staff were very friendly, even letting us in 15 minutes before they opened - well it was raining at the time ! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cliff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    113
    47
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food was good pub food, reasonably priced and well presented. The best feature of our visit was the service which was friendly and efficient. It is a pleasure to be served by people who seem to be enjoying their work and taking some pride in it and this was certainly the case. The atmosphere was relaxed and if I hadn't been driving I would have been very happy to have stayed and had a few drinks after the meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JackandWillsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best pub in Prestbury”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Ash has improved immensely over the past year probably due to the new manager Helen. The food is tasty well prepared and good value. The staff are attentive and friendly and service is efficient. Definitely the pub to go to in the Prestbury area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank alipet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not happy”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Food was not what it said on the menu very disappointing! Will not be returning! I order a steak which was tough and full of fat! My husband had the special which sounded very good when it came it was chicken on water cress with a odd squashed peice of sweet potato no dressing and no flavour!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcwhirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just had our lunch at the butley ash , and it was just superb we had the deal that they have on at the moment everything was just perfect and the desserts are not only delicious ,the attention to detail they give at presenting there food can not be beaten , we celebrated our engagement at this pub 42 yrs ago so its a special place for us , great atmosphere and polite and well mannered staff you cannot beat it ,,well done

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAIDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butley Ash also viewed

Prestbury, Macclesfield
 
Prestbury, Macclesfield
Prestbury, Macclesfield
 

Been to Butley Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing