We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As new residents in the area we popped in to try the grub on a Friday at lunchtime. Overall it was great and well priced. Will r”
Review of Legh Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prestbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Legh Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Stockport
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As new residents in the area we popped in to try the grub on a Friday at lunchtime. Overall it was great and well priced. Will r”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife loved her club sandwich and my pie-of-the-day was delicious. Quite busy - a good sign - but service quick and not overly fussy which is how we like it. Car park at rear could be better signed as we didnt know it existed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antthegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    38
    14
    15
    13
See reviews for
47
51
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a local, I use the Legh on a regular basis and for the most part I don't have any quibbles...decent food, well priced and friendly service. However, the last few times I've been in, I'm sorry to say that there seems to be a certain amount of complacency creeping into the operation. The food is, as I've said, good honest grub and it's consistent...however the service has gone right downhill. I witnessed tables being served food and then left with no cutlery to eat it...this same thing happened to me with the same waitress! The bar was full of dirty glasses and dishes for the 2 hours I was there...the staff making very little effort to clear things. There is a distinct lack of interest for the customers from most waiting staff....on a plus note...service is much, much better when the Manageress is present. In short, the Legh just need to keep a tight reign on the young bar/waiting staff because they let down the rear of house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardtoplease67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The restaurant at the Legh Arms was recommended to us as somewhere suitable for a special family birthday celebration, sadly it didn't live up to expectations! Although the restaurant knew our booking was for an 80th birthday there was nothing special about the table or service. In fact the table was for a party of 6 with an extra chair squeezed in on one side. The restaurant wasn't full and there were nicer areas where we could have been seated. The service was very slow although admittedly we did arrive a bit late but by the time we left the restaurant we had to rush around because there was left for what we had originally planned to do. We did mention the slow service only to be told it was because they were very busy in the bar! Not a good excuse at any time but especially as we'd had this lunch booked for well over a month.

The food on the whole was nothing special. Three of us had hake which was quite dry and didn't seem very fresh. As we weren't asked if everything was all right until the plates were cleared away it was too late to do anything about it. My husband is lactose intolerant and all the deserts contained dairy, most restaurants offer a "nice" fruit salad as an alternative, good restaurants see it as a challenge and come up with an interesting alternative, the waitress at the Legh Arms just said there's nothing you can have! The only time this has happened to us! On the plus side the desserts the others had were both very good - pannacotta and lemon posset.

As we're not local and can't vote with our feet, doing a Tripadvisor review is the next best thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeapingSalmon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went to the Legh Arms for Christmas Day lunch and an overnight stay.

It was the worst Christmas lunch I've ever had!

From when we arrived our table wasn't even ready and had to hang around a crowded, rowdy bar for 30mins. We then got seated and the 'canapés' arrived ha! We were a table of 10 and had 2-3 tiny canapés each which were dismal and tasteless. We then got served the legh arms traditional homemade bread which was disgusting and I wouldn't of even fed it to ducks!

We ordered our meal anyway and waited an hour for our starter which was ok although, nothing to rave about, sent one plate of food back as it was served horribly, the soup was bland and all the other starters got ate as family members were just starving!! The mains were a complete disaster and a real let down! The majority didn't bother with desert and the ones who did only got it as it was included in the set menu.

We complained several times to the front of house manager who was also rude, blunt and told us we had made her staff cry although speaking to staff they said they were fine and just getting on with their job and were overall happy :-) The manager was naïve and didn't listen to anything we were saying.

Considering we travelled all the way from jersey to spend Christmas with family and friends it was a complete disaster and the food was disgusting and the front of house manager behaved in such a rude manner she shouldn't be working with customers at all.

Furthermore, we had booked an overnight stay and were regretting it!! The rooms are spacious however, they were freezing cold and the beds were like sleeping on wooden floor boards!! We woke up shivering and aching all over.

I wouldn't be rushing here again, complete waste of money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Secret1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Absolutely everything you would order for a Christmas lunch out - fabulous food, friendly and efficient staff, beautifully decorated restaurant, excellent choices, great atmosphere and good value. Thank you to everyone who played a part in any of this - we enjoyed it so much, we booked for next Christmas Day on our way out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NixMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would like to thank the Staff and Chefs at the Legh Arms for making my Christmas Day lunch special. They did everything they could to make the day special. The food was excellent as always.

We ate this year in the Bar instead of the Restaurant, which was equally as good. Although the Restaurant was decorated amazingly and I will be reserving my table for next year as soon as I can.

My only complaint was a table of guests who complained about absolutely everything they could have complained about. Staff were running backwards and forwards doing whatever they could to the point where it became exceeedingly embarrassing. It looked to all the guests that were eating in that part of the bar (3 further tables) that they were trying very hard to get their Christmas Dinner for free. I actually stood up and told the party they were spoiling everyone's Christmas Day and got applauded by all the other tables!!

Its a shame that one bad review can spoil the reputation of a Restaurant that is booked solid for Christmas each year in July.

Please give the Legh a try, it is an amazing pub/restaurant, with amazingly friendly staff, and it speaks for itself by the huge clientele it enjoys.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicles110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a lovely meal here at the Legh Arms on New Years Eve.The food was up to the usual standard and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful.We had a very nice table for two in the restaurant for our meal and then went into the lounge just before midnight to see in the New Year .We would definitely recommend the Legh to anyone .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank L0cket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestbury
0.0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
306 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Macclesfield Adlington
1.9 mi away
Chadwick House Hotel
Chadwick House Hotel
#8 of 8 in Macclesfield
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legh Arms

Property: Legh Arms
Address: The Village | Prestbury Village, Prestbury, Macclesfield SK10 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Prestbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Legh Arms Prestbury, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing