We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced, poorly staffed and food average”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Legh Arms

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prestbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Legh Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over priced, poorly staffed and food average”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We went for a Valentines Day dinner. There was a special mini a la carte menu. The choices were not particularly spectacular, but the service was poor. ther waitress - or Restaurant Manager - was not over helpful but was overbearing. A restaurant of this alleged standard surely should have staff properly dressed & professional. Food was very average and because of this over-priced. I would not recommend this restaurant, until it restores some of its former quality

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    34
    14
    13
    12
See reviews for
40
44
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Really nice local pub in a superb village. Food and servcie are excellent but having visited a few times, we are running out of options on the menu.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWB2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

great place with a very busy bar
which also serves lovely food either in the bar area or in the restaurant,
the bedrooms r of a very high standard

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeans-r-us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Myself and my Irish family stayed here the night before my wedding and my family stayed there for an extra 2 nights after. From the moment I spoke to Renatta , the manager months before my wedding there was nothing that was a problem for her. She recommended hair dressers and constantly kept in touch with regards our rooms and prices. We were all exceptionally well looked after with herself personally cooking me my breakfast the morning of my wedding. Her staff are a credit to her and I had only wished I had stayed there the night of my wedding as well considering the gorgeous suite I stayed in night before. I would definitely go back and plan to very soon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purple34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Enjoyed a great night in thr packed out Legh arms. We were fortunate to grab a table, and the food we ate was great however the bar menu is a bit of a mish mash.

Some great starters but they are difficult to link up with a wide choice of mains - a real head scratcher as to what could follow what. The mains are either 'pub grub' or pasta and I think there is room for slightly more choice or some consideration as to what customers may order.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzielowert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Food in the resataurant - through to the rooms - perfect.
The friendliness of all the staff is also worth mentioning. I was staying there for my sons wedding weekend - and they shared [or tolerated] my excitement!!!
There is a definite problem with phone signal/internet service- but this was a bonus for us in a funny sort of way.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziejStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

from check in to chekout the service was excellent, want anything, the answer was always yes.

food was very good, so much so that we didnt use restaurant and ate in the bar which is full of diners and quite upmarkt in a cosy tradiditional way. main courses were just under tenner in bar & well worth it, think about £16-24 in restaurant. real ale was good and so is the wine, bar prices not bad.

parking is at rear and plenty of it.

modern room, very tasteful and well done with tv, hairdryer, fridge, iron/board. beds were ok but not most comfy ever. bathroom well fitted but could of done with slightly better cleaning and cobwebs around ceiling in here and in bedrm could do with going!

2 small niggles which are not worth thinking (and I am ultra picky) about as the food, atmosphere and possibly the most helpful and friendly staff we ever came accross more than make up for it.

Prestbury's a small village with couple of pubs, about 6 restaurants (inc thai, indian and italian!), florist, chemist, farm shop and a co-op. It is probably one of if not the prettiest village and everyone in it was ultra friendly.

4 star rating from us but if housekeeping was as good as everything else would be 5, will we go back... Yes, as soon as we can

If you like upmarket inn's with character and a warm welcome then this is spot on.

Room Tip: modern rooms are at the back and taditional are at the front but the road did seem quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestbury
0.0 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Prestbury
285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hollin Hall Hotel
Hollin Hall Hotel
#5 of 8 in Macclesfield
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Macclesfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,445 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shrigley Hall Hotel, Golf & Country Club
3.5 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legh Arms

Property: Legh Arms
Address: Prestbury, Macclesfield SK10 4DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Macclesfield > Prestbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Prestbury
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Legh Arms Prestbury, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing