We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely pub”

Vale Royal Abbey Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Oakmere
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Part of JWLees brewery, providing a warm, friendly welcome to diners and drinkers alike. Situated in beautiful Delmaere with a large beer garden and plenty of parking. We serve the best Ales from JWLees along with fresh and tasty food made & a great selection of wines and spirits. Not to mention we are dog friendly. The perfect place to stop after a long walk!
Winsford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely pub”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Lovely pub with lovely staff food was grate. Grate out door space to.we came at lunch time in the week and where very satisfied with the service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessycat1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks very much for the positive review, myself and the team are glad that you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    79
    43
    38
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pleasant time”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We met some friends for Sunday lunch,decided on the carvery,we were all impressed with the beef,must be the best I've tasted for a long time,Staff were great and after eating we sat in the huge gardens,lots of families with their children and dogs but lots of space for every body.Time flew by and we had spent four hours there,certainly call again,
.somebody local told us it had been taken over ,and the new people were a lot better?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us after your visit, myself and the team are glad that you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“39 fed and watered with no fuss”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed by the pre meal service we received when a party of 37 booked to eat at this Oakmere pub. When 2 more were added to the count their orders were taken with no fuss and served alongside the previous choices which had been mailed through earlier in the week. Once the main meals arrived all 39 were served within 15 minutes and the good was warm and well prepared and presented.

Highlights were the steak and ale pie and pulled pork burger.the scampi however was dry and overcomes. It that's a small grumble bearing in mind the feat accomplished by the staff and chef.

We were served by cheerful staff who could not do enough for us and were particularly helpful with the small children and rearranging of the space so families could sit together. We are very grateful and would definitely choose this venue again.

Helpful?
1 Thank DaftD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you at your next family gathering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Sunday carvery was dire, the meat was processed, roast potatoes undercooked. Onky turkey, ham and pork was on offer. Bothe the pork and ham were very fatty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sue2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Firstly let me apologise that the carvery was not what you had hoped for, I can assure you that we cook our meats fresh on the day of the carvery and we try to ensure that the standards and quality are the best they can be. Hopefully in the future you will give us another chance and we can change your minds about our carvery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Management”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

What a turnaround..the staff are actually smiling and friendly.Enjoyed a very pleasant evening with friends.
Under new management certainly makes a difference.

Helpful?
2 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair P, Manager at Vale Royal Abbey Arms, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vale Royal Abbey Arms also viewed

 

Been to Vale Royal Abbey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing