We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Vale Royal Abbey Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Oakmere
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Part of JWLees brewery, providing a warm, friendly welcome to diners and drinkers alike. Situated in beautiful Delmaere with a large beer garden and plenty of parking. We serve the best Ales from JWLees along with fresh and tasty food made & a great selection of wines and spirits. Not to mention we are dog friendly. The perfect place to stop after a long walk!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I've been going to this pub for years and have always enjoyed the food. Unfortunately over the last 6 months the service and food have been poor. Usually go for Christmas dinner but went for dinner on Christmas eve, food was awful, bar staff and waiting on staff were unenthusiastic. Didn't help that the chef could be seen 'adjusting' himself while barking orders 're table set ups. When u have competition in the form of the fishpool inn you really need to up your game. Oh and 3 errors when trying to calculate a bill doesn't inspire confidence.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Judithmcgrellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    86
    47
    41
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'Golden Years Christmas Dinner'............”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The menu is restricted, but that is no criticism.

We all had prawn cocktail with a goodly helping of granary bread. The salad leaves weren't the usual tasteless iceberg, but a selection of raddacio, lambs lettuce and others.

The turkey dinner literally filled the plate. Served with roast and mashed potato, sprouts, parsnips, carrots and red cabbage plus a bacon-wrapped sausage and stuffing (which was somewhat undercooked).

The service was prompt, courteous and efficient.

For just over £5, this was really good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Value and Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Having arranged to meet up with a new client I choose the Vale Royal Abbey Arms for its location. Once we entered we was greeted by friendly staff. whilst enjoying a coffee my client and I noticed the 2 meals for £9.99 so decided to sample the food.
The server Edd recommended the Fish and Chips which I can HIGHLY recommend. The Fish was Cooked to perfection. After the meal we was offered Dessert by a friendly mature lady who I believe to be called Jayne (according to the survey card which was presented along with the bill)
friendly and warm atmosphere will be visiting again very soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Landlord is a foul mouthed Lout”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The entire visit to this dirty pub was awful from the ridiculous melted candle display to listening to the landlord Doug telling his staff in front of that they were Lazy and f....NG useless I had never heard or seen such unprofessional behaviour in my entire life when I questioned Doug the landlord he claimed not to have said it but at least 2 staff and 4 other guests heard it when I asked the young waitress if she was ok she just said he often swears in public and regularly bullies staff this brewery must be very desperate to have such poor quality managers in charge this Doug and the brewery should be ashamed of themselves I have since learned he has a huge staff turnover AVOID AT ALL COST LANDLORD IS A FOUL MOUTH LOESER AND FOOD IS VERY LOW QUALITY

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Garry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food and value for money”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here after a shopping trip to Chester, and enjoyed two meals for £9.99, excellent value for money. The welcome we received was warm and friendly, and the food was great, piping hot and delicious. We even had room for dessert, which again was delicious. What made our visit however, was the warm and genuine welcome we received, and the excellent service throughout.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vale Royal Abbey Arms also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to Vale Royal Abbey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing