We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical mushrooming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical mushrooming”
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I've just got back from a fabulous weekend fungi foray at the Nunsmere Hall Hotel. As a beginners guide to the huge variety of fungi that can be found if you know where to look, it was superb. From the moment we arrived to the moment we (reluctantly) left, my friend and I had a fantastic time.

The standards of care and attention to detail were excellent. The hotel staff were without exception friendly and helpful, the food was fantastic, the rooms comfortable and the actual fungi experience was perfectly pitched, enough information to be interesting, but not too academically oriented. The inimitable Fungalpunk Dave and his very knowledgeable wife Gill and daughter Katie provided us with a real experience.

I would heartily recommend this weekend event to anyone who wants to have a wander round some lovely grounds, be entertained and educated and eat wonderful food in beautiful surroundings with some very good company!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laprincesashazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    232
    83
    36
    18
See reviews for
131
508
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Having been asked by the Manager Mark Huntley to lead a fungal foray at the grounds as part of a 3 day mushroom celebration I can honestly say the entire adventure was one long enjoyable pleasure. My wife and 11 year old daughter thoroughly agreed and the food was really a cut above. The diversity and delivery of all meals was perfect and Mark and his wife and indeed family gave a hands on approach which must surely be applauded.

Hopefully the vibes will spread and Nunsmere will go on from success to success. Cheers to all who made it an excellent weekend.

FP/OMD

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fungalpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2008

We booked for a Sunday night stay and dinner on the Sunday evening and were given a pretty good deal. This is quite an expensive hotel but there's a 2-for-1 Sunday night dinner offer and then cheap accommodation offer to go with it. Without this i think it would have been a bit pricey for what was on offer.

The dinner was good, but the choice was quite restricted so i opted for the Sunday roast beef - which I'm normally loathed to do - but there wasn't anything else I fancied. Nevertheless it was pretty good. The room was very nice and comfortable and the staff and service good. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Wish we'd found this place earlier. It's a lovely old house in a very secluded setting surrounded by water. You think you are miles from anywhere but Chester is only 15 mins away. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, showing us to a gorgeous room. We were upgraded to a junior suite and as we were meeting another couple they had arranged for rooms near each other. Both rooms were big with lovely views of either the garden or across to the water. There were large bathrooms with nice toiletries and fluffy robes and loads of current magazines to read and bowls of fresh fruit.
We were surprised at dinner when people kept appearing as the bedroom had been so quiet we thought we were the only guests. The food was delicious, the only complaint being that both husbands thought the portions a tad small. Service was good, attentive but not fussy.
After a very comfortable night's sleep we had a huge breakfast to look forward to. There was a buffet of the usual suspects, fruit, cereal, pastries etc and a cooked course which was super. The chef managed to cater beautifully for an allergy-ridden vegetarian, we were very impressed. The breakfast service wasn't great though. We had to ask for coffee and toast several times and the waitress wasn't seen again after pouring only one cup. That was the only negative aspect of an otherwise great stay.

  • Liked — very comfortable, beautifully presented rooms and public lounges
  • Disliked — poor service from breakfast waitress
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

I booked the special offer available on Sundays nights which consists of 2 meals for the price of one and half price accommodation. On arrival we were met at the door by Paul Lawrence, the Head Receptionist, with whom I had made the booking and been very impressed. He took us up to our room, which had been upgraded from an executive room to a junior suite. The suite, Honeysuckle, was very comfortable and exceptionally clean, which is a must for me. We had two very large windows with views of the park and lake, and a beautiful bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and separate shower. The bed was huge with a wonderfully soft duvet.
The grounds are delightful and extensive enough to find privacy even if the hotel is full, which sadly it was not on our visit. This meant the restaurant was nearly empty and lacking in atmosphere - some soft music would have helped. I cant understand why there were so few guests when the offer was so good.
The table d'hote meal offered five choices per course and was exceptional value. We had the duck which a previous reviewer had compained was raw but ours was just perfect. My creme brulee was also just so.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and served at table, not buffet. This is included in the Sunday deal but its notional price is nearly £20 which is pretty steep.
Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
Minor gripes - the TV reception was dreadful and as the hotel is old there was a gap under the door which caused a draught when the window was open. A simple draught excluder would solve this.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the deal we took as exceptional value for money but the normal prices are pretty eye watering, though not unusually so for this type of hotel. If you can secure some kind of a deal go and enjoy.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SueWelch07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Stayed at Nunsmere twoards the end of February. Wonderful setting, hotel is situated on land jutting out into the middle of a lake. This offers water views on three sides with lovely mature gardens to stroll around and relax. The Whitegate Way also runs close by offering miles of traffic free walking or cycling along what was once an old railway line.

The food was fantastic and the wine list has some excellent choices available. Lovely to relax in the bar or the front lounge and read the paper.

The bedroom was large and airy with great views over the lake, the bathroom was also large and well fitted out with a separate bath and shower.

Decor is of the period and the place has a lovely old feel to it, ideal to get away from the modern hustle and bustle of travelling.

Staff were great, friendly and helpful but without being overly fussy, it made the experience very relaxed and enjoyable.

All in - an excellent weekend getaway location.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Secluded in the peaceful countryside situated on a lake. Nunsmere Hotel offers all the comforts and highest standards associated with a an exclusive five star hotel. An exquisite wine list, delectable food and superb service, with staff that can't do enough to make your stay just perfect.. I can honestly say I .just didn't want to leave this beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — Accommodation was just perfect, each room individually decorated to the highest standard - you just never want to leave the room!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
363 reviews
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 44 in Chester
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotwire, LateRooms, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing