We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carers Health and Wellbeing Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Carers Health and Wellbeing Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We chose Nunsmere for our event because we wanted carers to feel special and relaxed. The staff (particularly Melvyn, Keeley and Clare) were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
Feedback from carers that did attend on the day said that the venue and its location very much contributed to their enjoyment of the day and I would definitely agree.
Thank you for making the day special for our carers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    213
    74
    29
    15
See reviews for
121
472
7
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Well what can we say, absolutely fantastic, we went to my brothers wedding on Saturday 29th March, from start to Finnish it was brilliant, the food was excellent . The staff worked so hard and nothing was too much trouble, Our Room (Orchid) was beautiful. Thanks to everyone.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our daughter got married at Nunsmere on Friday and we would like to thank all the staff for their kindness and attention to detail that they gave our party, whose ages ranged from 92yrs. to 3mths, from Thursday afternoon until Saturday morning, nothing was too much trouble. All the meals were excellent, the Wedding Breakfast being particularly memorable.
We would definitely recommend the venue

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very oldy wordly - classic hotel - stayed one night on a pleasure/business trip - staff were very friendly and the doorman a gem - room I had was spacious and comfortable albeit it did need a bit of updating and some wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom - restuarant was top draw and the food was well presented and tasty. Bar is a bit pokey - could do more with it - not very intimate - the grounds were massive - I didnt take a walk but they were very pretty and the drive is long and winding

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stockyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I went to Nunsmere a couple of Sundays ago (to speak with their wedding co-ordinator) but we decided to have Sunday lunch first. We were going with our minds pretty much made up that this is where we want to hold our wedding… so thank God the food was good or this could have changed everything!

The staff were SUPER helpful. As we only decided last minute to eat lunch there, there were no free tables in the restaurant but they put us into the library. This is where you can pay (something ridiculous like £200plus) to have a “private dining” experience, but they allowed us to have it as there was no room. Really nice of them.

I ordered blacksticks blue soufflé for starters and calves liver for mains. They were both beautifully presented and really tasty. The soufflé was as light as air and the calves liver was just so amazingly soft it was literally like slices of pate. Very impressed. My partner and his Mum and Step-Dad all went for the roasted sirloin beef for main course which they were all very pleased with.

I ended my meal with some kind of apple tart which was gorgeous – the pastry was excellent. My partner had the white chocolate cheesecake which again he really enjoyed.

We finished the meal with coffees and some lovely little fudge pieces.

Really good meal, excellent service and the venue as always was very nice. We have in fact now booked out 2015 wedding there so thanks to everyone for helping us to make the decision that much easier!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stocktonhfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I attended our nephews wedding yesterday, what a delightful setting it is. The grounds are really beautiful and can imagine in summertime would be a lovely splash of colour.. The wedding ceremony was beautiful first time we had attended a Civil Wedding. The Wedding Breakfast well what can I say but that it was outstanding, each course beautifully presented and a joy to eat. The staff went out of their way to please and must be congratulated on the superb job that they did.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Nunsmere Hall is a fine period hotel in an attractive wooded setting in rural west Cheshire. Its accessible but relatively (by Cheshire standards) remote location, off the A49, makes Nunsmere Hall a peaceful and tranquil rural getaway. Following a friendly and efficient welcome in the hotel's imposing entrance hall, we were shown to our room via the lift, clearly shoehorned into the building some time late last century. Our quirky, split level room was large, if a little unorthodox in shape and layout, with a set of stairs leading down to the bedroom area within the room itself, a through door leading on to the en-suite bathroom. The decor in the bedroom was a little chintzy and florid for my tastes, and I'd have appreciated a firmer mattress, but the room itself was tidy and immaculately presented, and complemented by a pleasant view through woodland towards the large mere which surrounds the hotel on three sides. The spacious function rooms on the hotel's ground floor are suitably luxurious, and it's easy to see why Nunsmere Hall is a popular choice for wedding receptions. For the morning after the night before, a perfectly adequate breakfast was provided which set us up nicely for our onward journey to Wales. On the whole, a very good hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroaringcataract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
12.8 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing