We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Wedding!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Wedding!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We felt very well looked after all round by these people. Lovely location in glorious park-like setting with lake and walks.
Two small niggles:
1. They are coming due for an upgrade -- carpets, for example, are beginning to look past-best;
2. Bar prices very steep. GBP 6.00 for a pint is way-over!
For these reasons, they lose the last 'star'.
Would come again (but spirit-in my own booze!!!!!)
GREAT location for a Wedding!!

Room Tip: If there's a wedding going on during your stay, MAKE SURE YOU'RE NOWHERE NEAR THE LATE NIGHT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RKAngelInFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    171
    63
    24
    13
See reviews for
116
393
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We would like to congratulate the whole team at Nunsmere Hall from the time we walked in the door and were greeted by the porter in the most welcoming way to our beautiful room and the most helpful staff; the most delicious food we have tasted in a long time and beautifully presented too. We would definitely recommend Nunsmere Hall to anyone wanting a very special stay. Thank you to all the staff for our delightful getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently attended a wonderful wedding held at Nunsmere hall. Everything was on site, ceremony, wedding breakfast, evening entertainment, accommodation and this was perfect for us we have a 7 month old baby. One couple even had a monitor which had enough range for them both to enjoy the evening entertainment while baby slept. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. The venue had other rooms so that babies could be taken to quiet areas. Lots of space to sit, to rest those feet after dancing. The wedding ran very smoothly and it didn't feel like the place just did conveyor belt weddings. The food for the wedding breakfast and then breakfast the next day was also very good. The staff were very polite. The rooms were on the expensive side but ever so convenient for new parents and it was well worth it. We didn't have time to explore the grounds but they looked idyllic from the window!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quantumdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the good points: the location was fantastic, the food was great, and the staff were very helpful both on the day and in the organising of our wedding.
Now the bad: the rooms are very expensive for what they are. My mother-in-law's room had no kettle (for £145, although they did leave the actual tea and coffee), whilst our honeymoon suite actually had a door going through to an adjoining room! Not very romantic...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blenderovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are the newly weds that were married at Nunsmere Hall Hotel on 7th September 2013.

We had the most memorable, romantic, beautiful wedding which was co-organised by Stephanie , Keeley and fantastic waiting service by Jon and staff. We could not have asked for more.

Our guests have already sent us thank you cards for the best wedding they have attended for venue, food, drink, staff attention, entertainment, quality of rooms and of course myself and my husband.

Specifically both myself and my husband would like to thank all the staff for the smooth running of our wedding and also the relaxed atmosphere the day after our wedding for everyone having breakfast, checking out and allowing us time to say goodbye to all our guests.

Please note that Tracey B was not a guest of ours. She was an enbittered gatecrasher who did not even know what our names were or in fact whose wedding reception she was attending.

Our guest list was small and intimate and everyone who was invited to our wedding was invited to join in our whole day.......not to attend a stranger's most intimate day of their lives but just to party for their own selfish needs!

Tracey B totally missed the point of our wedding who didn't know us and we are very angry that she would take it upon herself to write such a nasty review about a wedding she was neither invited to, knew the people or in fact paid for any part of it, including turning up without a card with good wishes to the newly weds!

Hold your wedding at Nunsmere Hall Hotel and you won't be disappointed. Make sure your guests have plenty of tissues as the venue itself is surrounded with romance and beauty!

Room Tip: We strongly recommend Hydrangea a Junior Suite overlooking the Italian gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As we came up the drive and pulled up out the front I was impressed. When we checked in we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. Fantastic. We were taken to our rooms and assisted with our bags by a lovely gentleman. The rooms were lovely and spacious, with a large bathroom and a massive bath. We had drinks out on the terrace and had a walk around the gardens which were lovely. After a relaxing soak in that fantastic bath we all went down for dinner. We had groupon vouchers for the 5 course taster menu. The food was lovely, service was fantastic, staff were so friendly and attentative and helpful. The fruit pimms jelly wasn't great tho, too much mint. The rest was great. Had a restful nights sleep in a very comfortable bed with feather pillows and duvet. Lovely. Had a nice breakfast the next morning. We had a look in the Marquee for weddings , I would choose to get married here. Such a lovely place. Peaceful, pretty, friendly staff, lovely food, I could not find anything to complain about except having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just spent two wonderful day's and the food was some of the best we had ever at a hotel. The chief is a masters craftsman, also are room was large and spacious with comfortable bed and pillows. Very friendly staff from reception to the wine waiter making us feel welcome and special. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend Willow it's right at the top on the third floor at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
9.4 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
12.8 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,839 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing