We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Our stay on 24th&25th sept” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our stay on 24th&25th sept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We would like to congratulate the whole team at Nunsmere Hall from the time we walked in the door and were greeted by the porter in the most welcoming way to our beautiful room and the most helpful staff; the most delicious food we have tasted in a long time and beautifully presented too. We would definitely recommend Nunsmere Hall to anyone wanting a very special stay. Thank you to all the staff for our delightful getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    194
    66
    28
    14
See reviews for
118
427
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently attended a wonderful wedding held at Nunsmere hall. Everything was on site, ceremony, wedding breakfast, evening entertainment, accommodation and this was perfect for us we have a 7 month old baby. One couple even had a monitor which had enough range for them both to enjoy the evening entertainment while baby slept. The rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. The venue had other rooms so that babies could be taken to quiet areas. Lots of space to sit, to rest those feet after dancing. The wedding ran very smoothly and it didn't feel like the place just did conveyor belt weddings. The food for the wedding breakfast and then breakfast the next day was also very good. The staff were very polite. The rooms were on the expensive side but ever so convenient for new parents and it was well worth it. We didn't have time to explore the grounds but they looked idyllic from the window!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quantumdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the good points: the location was fantastic, the food was great, and the staff were very helpful both on the day and in the organising of our wedding.
Now the bad: the rooms are very expensive for what they are. My mother-in-law's room had no kettle (for £145, although they did leave the actual tea and coffee), whilst our honeymoon suite actually had a door going through to an adjoining room! Not very romantic...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blenderovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We are the newly weds that were married at Nunsmere Hall Hotel on 7th September 2013.

We had the most memorable, romantic, beautiful wedding which was co-organised by Stephanie , Keeley and fantastic waiting service by Jon and staff. We could not have asked for more.

Our guests have already sent us thank you cards for the best wedding they have attended for venue, food, drink, staff attention, entertainment, quality of rooms and of course myself and my husband.

Specifically both myself and my husband would like to thank all the staff for the smooth running of our wedding and also the relaxed atmosphere the day after our wedding for everyone having breakfast, checking out and allowing us time to say goodbye to all our guests.

Please note that Tracey B was not a guest of ours. She was an enbittered gatecrasher who did not even know what our names were or in fact whose wedding reception she was attending.

Our guest list was small and intimate and everyone who was invited to our wedding was invited to join in our whole day.......not to attend a stranger's most intimate day of their lives but just to party for their own selfish needs!

Tracey B totally missed the point of our wedding who didn't know us and we are very angry that she would take it upon herself to write such a nasty review about a wedding she was neither invited to, knew the people or in fact paid for any part of it, including turning up without a card with good wishes to the newly weds!

Hold your wedding at Nunsmere Hall Hotel and you won't be disappointed. Make sure your guests have plenty of tissues as the venue itself is surrounded with romance and beauty!

Room Tip: We strongly recommend Hydrangea a Junior Suite overlooking the Italian gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

As we came up the drive and pulled up out the front I was impressed. When we checked in we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. Fantastic. We were taken to our rooms and assisted with our bags by a lovely gentleman. The rooms were lovely and spacious, with a large bathroom and a massive bath. We had drinks out on the terrace and had a walk around the gardens which were lovely. After a relaxing soak in that fantastic bath we all went down for dinner. We had groupon vouchers for the 5 course taster menu. The food was lovely, service was fantastic, staff were so friendly and attentative and helpful. The fruit pimms jelly wasn't great tho, too much mint. The rest was great. Had a restful nights sleep in a very comfortable bed with feather pillows and duvet. Lovely. Had a nice breakfast the next morning. We had a look in the Marquee for weddings , I would choose to get married here. Such a lovely place. Peaceful, pretty, friendly staff, lovely food, I could not find anything to complain about except having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just spent two wonderful day's and the food was some of the best we had ever at a hotel. The chief is a masters craftsman, also are room was large and spacious with comfortable bed and pillows. Very friendly staff from reception to the wine waiter making us feel welcome and special. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend Willow it's right at the top on the third floor at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ideal location for visiting Oulton Park race circuit which is what we did. Discreet attentive staff & an ideal wedding venue with nearby lake & lovely grounds & a gravel circular driveway for photos. All rooms are named after trees or bushes; we had an old brass style bed in ours & plenty of space, the bed was comfortable but not very big (probably a standard double). The en suite bathroom was large with an old bath and mirrored dresser, the shower wasn't very powerful & no shower caps were provided although toiletries were. All the floors were varnished floorboards with rugs over them. Our bathroom floor could have done with a good vacuum to get all the debris out from between the cracks in the boards! All the floors and staircases creaked (a lot) and finding our room was tricky at first as there were lots of nooks & crannies to negotiate. Our room was too hot (it was August bank holiday & reasonably warm weather outside) and we could only open the old sash style windows a small amount, but perhaps this was a good thing as when we returned in the evening our room ceiling was swarming with flies, midges & goodness knows what... Breakfast was a choice of full english or other cooked items which was good but there was not too much of it so anyone with a larger apetite may prefer more! The selection of fruit juices was good but the breads, pastries etc that are usually provided as standard fare at other hotels was poor. Don't let my review put you off... it is just that my preference is for a modern more contemporary hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MisJoules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing