We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - yet disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel looks lovely and indeed is beautiful, as are the grounds yet the disappointment comes from lack of staff (through the day), noise and the right hand seemingly unaware of what the left is doing.
We were given a beautiful room overlooking the garden, unfortunately the bed was very hard and neither of us was able to sleep, added to this the creaking of the floorboards whenever anyone walked passed or along the corridor, (including the night porter at 4.30.am and 5.30am). All fire doors slammed and were not cushioned to close slowly, plus the chap in the room above ours getting out of bed, going into the bathroom or just walking across the room. Yes, I know old manor houses creak having stayed in a number, but this was so relentless and tiring.
Needing a lie in the following morning we ordered breakfast in our room. The receptionist said we couldn't have "Full English" in the room only continental. My husband told her the bar manager had informed us the previous evening we could order whatever we wanted for breakfast as there are no menu's to fill in and place on the outside of the door.
We did get a full English breakfast in the room, but not until the housekeeper had knocked on the door asking to clean the room at 8.50am!! Guess I should have left the cat out!
Such a shame, as we were so looking forward to a relaxing break in a lovely setting. As it turned out I was glad to arrive home and have a good sleep.
The bar manager and the doorman were the only staff I met, both were very friendly and helpful. I did see guests wandering about the hall looking for the reception staff or someone to order a coffee from.
Maybe just a one off, but it's not the usual experience you expect of a 4 star hotel.
Sorry, I expected better.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mancunian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

696 - 702 of 908 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Visited on a travelzoo deal, and what a great deal it was. This hotel is fabulous, very classy, without being pretentious, each member of staff we met, treated us so well, friendly, helpful, and very efficient. We were given a complimentary upgrade to the Amaryllis suite, huge room, fabulous views over the garden, and lake. We were very impressed with both the afternoon tea and the five course tasting menu in the evening, both part of the deal. Both were excellent, With very generous portions, quite unexpected. We were treated to lovely nibbles in the bar, nice touch. Breakfast did not disappoint, same excellent standard of quality in food and service. Hard to find fault, ten out of ten, well done Nunsmere Hall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have dined here a few times before with very mixed experiences, some great some not so. Today was worse than not so. It really needs an update and perhaps a clean of the decor. The staff were very poor and treated us with

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We took advantage of a travelzoo offer to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and what a great deal it was!
We were upgraded to a mini suite which was huge and the bathroom was bigger than a premier inn bedroom ...well almost!! Lovely room and furniture.
The setting of the hotel was beautiful and we had an enjoyable walk through the grounds.
The hotel is very clean and tidy although the dining room ( not the crystal room ) could do with a bit of a makeover but I did see decorators in the hotel during our stay so perhaps it's on the cards.
Food was very good .there was not a lot of choice on the tasting menu (part of the deal) but the
afternoon tea (also part of the deal) was beautifully presented and was really tasty.
So to sum up ....great hotel great setting and really good food..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The setting of this hotel is magnificent. a long drive ending up at a gravelled forecourt. Melvyn the meet and greeter in his Bowler hat opened the door and made a fuss of us that other etsablishments would do well to emulate as it immediatly puts yuo in a good frame of mind to enjoy the occasion.We took eadvantage of a deal. I'm often uneasy buying meals this way, althougth this feeling is slowy dissipating the more i do it. I also think the restuarants are glad of the custom, especilly mid week evenings. Everyone from the General manager Mark - to the serving staff were excellent. We were offered exellent quality nibbles with the Champagne (part of the deal), which you dont get elsewhere with deals offering a glass of bubbly, We had the tasting menu. Slightly more food than I expected and beautifully presented on quality crockery. My fish was a little overdone but apart from that it was perfect. Toilets are clean and the whole buliding and grounds combine to make you feel part of the Cheshire Set.On the night we were there the Polo Club were having a dinner. How upmarket is that. And totally befitting of the setting.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kace20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went on a travelzoo offer for a tasting menu. The choice on the menu was not great but you don't expect that. The food that turned up on the plate was nicely presented. There were some strong individual flavours. There is obviously a good team in the kitchen preparing the food.Petit Fours were extraordinary.
Excellent service.
The only thing that let this restaurant down was the decor/ambience. Needs an interior designer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank goostreygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cannot praise the staff enough ,absolutely brilliant. Afternoon Tea was truly amazing.The hotel and grounds are wonderflul.What more can one say.The gardens are begining to look beautiful some sun and what to relax.

Room Tip: well worth upgrading your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
359 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
403 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
4.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
507 reviews
9.9 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range: $68 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing