We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for one night and it was a lovely experience.Large room ,good food and helpful staff; what more could you want.Well worth a visit if you're thinking of visiting the area.The gardens surrounding the hotel are very pleasant and I'm sure that in the spring and summer are full of colour.We will definitely visit again.Not a bad spot if you are staying for the racing at Chester.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarmacWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    219
    79
    33
    17
See reviews for
127
484
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The 6 day stay was perfect, The trip was business related but the country setting combined with welcoming staff made for the ideal balance between work and relaxation. Highly recommended for those who are looking for a change from the glitzy hotel scenes with hotel food. If you don't go to England often, consider staying here as a way to experience warm English hospitality in an historical English country house. Not quite "Downton Abbey " , but you feel like its down the lane.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband was in the area for a week of business. During that week, he turned 65 years old. The hotel made my husband's 65th birthday extra special by baking him a cake and providing birthday cards. Malcom, the chauffeur, was most helpful, competent and caring. A great experience at a special place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YNPTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to Nunsmere Hall for a relaxing weekend and that is exactly what we got. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, allowing us to change our dates after we were snowed up in January. When we arrived we were met by a cheerful and efficient concierge, checked in smoothly and efficiently and shown to our room. We were delighted to learn we had been upgraded to a junior suite, which was magnificent. Luxury was the watchword for the entire weekend. Dinner that evening was superb, as it was again the following evening - superb service then and at breakfast, which was equally delicious. All I all, a weekend to treasure.



Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jt1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was also a member of the Burns Night group who were stranded for a time at this lovely hotel. I just had to add my congratulations to the manager and all the staff, who not only served us a great Burns Night dinner, but went way beyond the call of duty for us that evening.

The hospitality was possibly better than I have received anywhere in the world with everything done beyond normal hours for our comfort whilst we waited with uncertainty for the journey home. And what better surroundings to spend the time waiting with a warming fire, in the comfortable ambience created by the staff and the lovely hotel. Alcoholic and warm drinks were provided and reassuring, friendly and great service by the staff and manager.

Unfortunately, unlike the very lucky lady in our party who reviewed this glowingly before, we did not in the end, stay for the whole night but I am sure if we had done so, we would have been equally pleased with the accommodations. Just a word to the other reviewer who said the drinks were expensive, we had wine at dinner that was reasonably priced as was the meal which was equally great value for the cost of the dinner (and beautifully cooked and presented). All in all, our party I know were extremely impressed with everything that night and will be returning very soon to sample more that Nunsmere Hall has to offer.

Thank you so much again to the staff who help to make this a wonderful place to dine or stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkeyWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent the evening at the hotel - hotel is great, location is brilliant, service is fantastic and then you reach the worlds smallest bar. This is where you then proceed to pay exceptionality high prices for an average product! £5 for a can (yes can) of Guiness. Beautifully poured (into a Boddingtons glass) and given some bizarre treatment to make it look like a properly dispensed pint - is this theater worth £5? - hell no! If you want a small bottle of coke that'll cost you the same as 2 litres in the real world. Its madness I tell you! And if you dare venture onto the top shelf be prepared to remortgage your house!

Just because you are in a beautiful rural Cheshire location does not mean you have the right to fleece people!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank big_yorkshire_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had just shared an excellent Burns Night meal with friends at this beautiful hotel and we were enjoying ourselves so much that we didn't notice that we were gradually getting snowed in. There was a lot of concern amongst our party as our taxi was unable to get through to take us home as planned. The manager, Mark was absolutely brilliant. He discussed various options with us and continued the hotels warm welcome throughout the discussions. He managed to contact a more local taxi for us who was able to shuttle us back home through the snow. All except for one - me! True to his previous hospitality, Mark was able to give me a room at the hotel (no it wasn't christmas) and throw in breakfast. The room was spacious and comfortable and I was provided with overnight necessities which I, of course, did not have with me. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and my Eggs Benedict was just right. All of the staff, both on the evening before and the next morning were friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and I couldn't have asked for better service or accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HRS, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing