We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar prices to make your eyes water!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bar prices to make your eyes water!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent the evening at the hotel - hotel is great, location is brilliant, service is fantastic and then you reach the worlds smallest bar. This is where you then proceed to pay exceptionality high prices for an average product! £5 for a can (yes can) of Guiness. Beautifully poured (into a Boddingtons glass) and given some bizarre treatment to make it look like a properly dispensed pint - is this theater worth £5? - hell no! If you want a small bottle of coke that'll cost you the same as 2 litres in the real world. Its madness I tell you! And if you dare venture onto the top shelf be prepared to remortgage your house!

Just because you are in a beautiful rural Cheshire location does not mean you have the right to fleece people!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank big_yorkshire_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    233
    83
    36
    18
See reviews for
132
510
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had just shared an excellent Burns Night meal with friends at this beautiful hotel and we were enjoying ourselves so much that we didn't notice that we were gradually getting snowed in. There was a lot of concern amongst our party as our taxi was unable to get through to take us home as planned. The manager, Mark was absolutely brilliant. He discussed various options with us and continued the hotels warm welcome throughout the discussions. He managed to contact a more local taxi for us who was able to shuttle us back home through the snow. All except for one - me! True to his previous hospitality, Mark was able to give me a room at the hotel (no it wasn't christmas) and throw in breakfast. The room was spacious and comfortable and I was provided with overnight necessities which I, of course, did not have with me. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and my Eggs Benedict was just right. All of the staff, both on the evening before and the next morning were friendly, helpful and attentive. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and I couldn't have asked for better service or accomodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with every aspect of this hotel from the very first contact by phone. We booked a double room but were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite when I told the receptionist I needed to book a nice room to make up for the fact I'd made my husband do a four hour 'Strictly in a Day' dance class when he hates dancing! We were met with a very warm and friendly welcome in the car park by Melvyn, the very helpful doorman - nothing was too much trouble for him throughout our stay and he went out of his way to take an interest in us.
The suite, Gardenia, was beautiful. Very spacious and well equipped, with a large bathroom, it felt very grand. The fact that there were a few knocks to paintwork added to the homely feel and certainly did not detract from the feeling of luxury.
We ate in the restaurant where the food and service were excellent, with the waiting staff being knowledgable about the menu. Despite it being an exceptionally cold weekend, every where in the hall was very warm - we enjoyed a sit in front of the open fire in the library.
The bed was very comfy, with feather duvet and pillows and conducive to a good night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent in every respect, followed by the highlight of our visit, borrowing Angel and Fritz, the hotel's two black Labradors for a walk in the stunning grounds. All in all this is one of, if not the best, hotels we have stayed in, especially because of the excellent service from every staff member we met, they were all clearly, and quite rightly, proud of their hotel. This is a perfect spot for a special stay, we will be going back again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I arrived with a girlfriend and left with a fiance.
Jonathon and his staff are what makes this hotel. I have stayed (when I was working) isn some ot the country's top hotels but this has a magic that others don't have.
Evening meal great. Breakfast great. We can not praise the staff highly enough.

Room Tip: Just book and go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have stayed here before and got notified by e mail of a fabulous offer for Afternoon Cheshire Tea (all the trimmings) and B and B - great location next to Lake, great gardens - including Bee Hives. The Rhodedendrum room is palatial - free robes too!. Tea was great - we had a loveley dinnere and smashing breakfast - loved the log burner in the Bar - we will be back - as Arnie might say

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatElse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We took a two day break in Cheshire between Christmas and New Year, and stopped at Nunsmere. We had takena New Year's break here a few years ago, and were, once again, not disappointed. The hotel itself is delightful, with very attentive staff. The room we stopped in was truly wonderful, with plenty of space and lovely furniture and a most comfortable bed. And the restaurant served up a quality meal on both nights that was delightful, complimented by a good wine choice.

For the management team, the only thing we would say that was a small negative was the application of a discretionary service charge. We didn't mind this being levied on the restaurant bill, but do not think that it should be levied on the wine bill and bar bill too. A minor niggle, but unnecessary.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen-Mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Super Christmas package. Staff very helpful, friendly and attentive. Delicious food. Room all you could ask for. Be taken for a walk around the lake by an energetic labrador. Must repeat again.
Reg and Joan Thomas, Chester. December 2012

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
374 reviews
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
351 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
12.6 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,761 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing