We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Where to start... On the initial viewing for Nunsmere Hall as a potential wedding venue for my brothers wedding he knew straight away that this was where he wanted to hold his wedding. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel relaxed & well looked after.
The day itself, we arrived to find Melvin (the porter) smartly dressed in his bowler hat & 3 piece suit opening our car door & taking our lugguage into the hotel. Stephanie (the wedding cordinator) on hand with 2 glasses of champagne for the bride & groom.
Directed into the lounge area by members of staff where we were served canapes & champagne. The staff constantly ensured your glass was filled and were very efficient at all times!
We moved into the marquee for the wedding breakfast (all 120 of us) where again the numerous number of staff were on hand to assist guests to their table. Will (Food & Beverage Manager) was on hand do introduce the married couple before our wedding breakfast was served.
The food was outstanding. The Head Chef (Craig Malone) ensured all 120 meals were hot, cooked to perfection & presented beautifully. Empty plates were evident during all three courses!
During the meal again the waiters & waitresses ensured wine, champagne & water were topped up and were visable at all times.
Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff during the day or evening reception. I can only praise every single member of staff that worked
I have read previously about lack of staff & bar prices. I can only strongly disagree... The staff are absolutley amazing especially Front of House Will & Jon. There were at least 2 members of staff behind the bar at anyone time, and in regards to prices Pilsner Urquell in one of the finest lagers in the world, you expect to pay for quality.
I personally have NO negatives regarding this hotel - The rooms are spacious & comfortable with housekeeping of a high standard and the gardens are well kept.
If you are looking for somewhere perfect to get married or stay the night look no further! It's a beautiful hotel within beautiful grounds with brilliant staff.

Room Tip: I have 4 children so if your looking for a family room I'd highly recommend Fuchsia
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    233
    83
    36
    18
See reviews for
132
510
8
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful venue set in stunning grounds - great for weddings. BUT really let's it's self down with the exceptional bar prices. Several weeks earlier I spent an enjoyable evening at a bar at tower bridge London and spent a fraction of the price. Prices at Nunsmere start at £5.00 a pint and if you have guiness expect to pay the same only you get a can with some strange shock treatment. If you enjoy a spirit, expect little change from a tenner. My advice - take your own alchohol you have been warned !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blighty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

my wife and i were down for the BSB weekend of 6th of july , we felt uncomfortable with the SIR and MADAM on arrival but i can NOT FAULT ANYTHING, the staff were BRILLIANT , the food was first class , will be back next year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I'm not really sure I stayed in the same hotel as everyone else here judging by their "excellent service" reviews
We stayed here for my nephews wedding and I have to be honest was disappointed with the service and extortionate bar prices.
The setting of the hotel is beautiful and the staff are very pleasant and polite but the service was very inefficient and slow during our weekend stay
There was only one person on the bar for most of the day and evening which resulted in long queues and 15 minutes waiting time to be served. At times there wasn't anyone on the bar and the guests were left wondering whether the bar was actually open or not.
I don't quite understand why there should only be one bar person at a wedding of 80 guests. It was very frustrating and disorganised.
The prices are a rip off. £5 for a pint of lager or bitter and £6-50 for a whiskey and lemonade.
What a disgrace. Everyone was complaining how expensive it was and it wasn't so much the money issue. It was the fact that you feel ripped off
You expect to pay a little extra in hotels but when the money isn't going on extra staff you wonder why they charge what they do.
Breakfast was another story.
We were sat in a "dining room" which was rather cramped and set out in a very unsocial manner.
After about ten minutes our order was taken for breakfast.
It was another 25 minutes before we got it by which time my sister walked out as she had been waiting over half an hour.
The breakfast was very disappointing. My sausage and bacon certainly wasn't cooked to order and was dried up and hard.
I left it.
After paying £195 for a roomi expected an excellent breakfast but it didn't happen.
There were a few people who left without eating because of the wait.
I feel there are some strong improvements needed when there is a wedding on to service the amount of guests they KNOW will be attending.
The wedding was beautiful. The food ok but sparse
I wouldn't choose to stay here again. I could spend my money on far better.
This is an account of my own personal stay and my experience of Nunsmere Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairandsquare07862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Business Network Chester returned to the fabulous Nunsmere Hall Hotel for its July lunch event. Service was excellent, with the staff very attentive and showing great flexibility and determination to ensure we had a successful event. serving over 60 in a tight turnaround, service was spot on for timing, was discrete and the food was delicious!
Very much looking forward to our return in August.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegriffters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

In honour of my friends 60 th we decided to have the lunch menu. All I can say is...wow! What a wonderful surprise. This is a true fine dining establishment with service and surroundings to match.
The food was utterly superb and the staff absolutely charming.
I have also sampled the afternoon tea,but after the lunch today I shall be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent service from the welcome to the time of your departure. Had Champagne Tea in the afternoon served with finger sandwiches accompanied by home made cakes and scones. We stayed for a three course evening meal. For the evening meal we started with pre-dinner drinks in the lounge whilst perusing the menus and little touches of service stands out like your drinks are carried through from lounge to dinning room, which is rarely done, waiters were most attentive before, during and after the meal. The Hotel boast "Awarded 4 Red Stars and two Rosettes by the AA. Recently voted Cheshire Life Hotel of the Year. Twice voted County Restaurant of the Year by the Good Food Guide". We certainly will back this up! Providing us with excellent food, service and wine service throughout our stay. Rooms were quaint, spacious, free wifi on hand, the walk around the gardens were pleasant for the time of year before the evening meal. The "Cheshire Breakfast" (The produce are local I was informed, this tickled me!) had excellent choices and equally enjoyable. All in all a great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakmere
9.1 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Willington Hall Hotel
Willington Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarporley
351 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
12.6 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,741 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#2 of 4 in Tarporley
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Property: Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Address: Tarporley Road, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing