We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shameful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northwich
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We arrived at 14:15 and we were put in a room that had not been cleaned even the beds were still unmade. We had had a very long, stressful journey and only had time to get a cup of tea before we had to leave to go to a christening.

We had just made tea and sat down when reception was on the phone asking us to change rooms to a clean one, if there was a clean room why were we put in a dirty one? We refused to move as we were leaving in 5 minutes.

On our return the room had been "cleaned" there was a hole in my quilt cover and I had noticed the bed side lamp shade was not secure in any way and was leaning on the bulb surely this is a fire hazard.

There was no where near enough tea milk or sugar in the room and our tea spoon that we had used earlier had dissapeared. Have you ever tried making tea without a spoon?

As for the bathroom it smelled like a urinal!

Some thing to be warned about it is in a mobile phone black spot neither of us could get a signal in the hotel.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank boogiesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear of your experience at the Northwich Sandiway hotel. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by both our Guest Relations Team and the Management team at the Northwick Sandiway hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 303 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2009

We decided to go to Chester Christmas shopping and rather than stay right in Chester - and pay the accompanying premium price - to stay on the outskirts. Chose this particular Premier Inn partly because of the price (the company were doing their '2 nights for £29 a night' promo) but also because of the location - not far from the M6 but not far from Chester.

Brilliant service began the day before our trip with an email from Premier Inn reminding us of our booking. On the day of our trip they texted me a reminder, including a 'textback' facility where I could request either directions or a postcode for a satnav. Then half an hour later a phone call from the hotel, asking if there was anything in particular we needed in our room!

We arrived quite late but a still very friendly receptionist booked us in and we went to our room - and whilst this is a budget chain, it had one or two more 'luxuries' than its rival, Travelodge - a hairdryer, soap and shower gel in the bathroom, extra pillows (at Travelodge you have to ask), and refreshingly Premier Inn trust you with a heated towel rail in the bathroom - unlike their rivals who've unplugged them all! And like some luxury hotels, you get to pre-order your choice of newspaper for the mornings.

Breakfast is available in the adjacent pub, The Blue Cap (Chef & Brewer chain pub), which you can either arrange in advance or on the spur of the moment, and hotel reception were kind enough to ring through to them on the Saturday morning of our stay to book us a table for dinner.

Because it's not right in the heart of touristy Chester, this is very much 'a local pub for local people' so you can feel very much an outsider, but the staff are friendly. The only gripe we had is that having booked, the duty manager said we could sit at a table marked 'reserved'. We'd settled in when another staff member told us in no uncertain terms that we couldn't have that seat as regulars had booked it. We were shown to another room and another table suggested, then when we sat down he said he'd meant a different one! A condiment to go with my partner's meal was requested but not delivered, as was a side order.

If you stay here with a view to going to Chester, we'd recommend the Park & Ride: out of the hotel, turn right, follow signs for the A51 to Chester but before the city centre look out for park & ride signs.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel, and if we go back and can get a similar price we'd stay there again. Warm, homely, comfy, welcoming and quiet - and first class customer service every time from Premier Inn staff!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldbrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2009

It is great to hear of your positive experience with Premier Inn. It is so good to hear that your stay with us was a comfortable and that we met your expectations. At Premier Inn we strive for excellence and are keen to learn from our guests reviews how we can achieve and maintain this. Thank you again for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

The Premier Inn in Sandway is a conveniently located budget accomodation, about 40 minutes drove south of Liverpool airport and about 20 minutes from Chester. It is adjacent to a pub which serving drinks and meals in easy walking distance, and within a kilometer of a large service station with convenience mart and extended opening hours. The hotel is located on a main road and is well marked, easy to find, with ample free parking.

The checkin was friendly and efficient, and the ground floor room was quiet and comfortable. The bed was firm and clean, the front desk was able to give a prmpt 5 am wake-up call. There was a small TV with local cable channels and wireless internet for a fee. The room had in-room coffee and tea, there was no minibar or safe. The bathroom was clean and well-appointed with towel warmers and a tub / shower with ample hot water.

A good place to drop anchor if you need to make an overnight stop while passing through, or as a simple base for visitng the region.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveH-ExPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed for one night at the premier inn. Great rooms, well cleaned,comfy beds ,everything you could expect for the price paid. Next door to the premier is a lovely quaint pub. The food was good and reasonably priced,they even had entertainment on. The only issue we came accross was getting a taxi ,It was valentines night and we were attending a wedding,we ended up very late as we really struggled to get a taxi, we were told this is a usual problem on a saturday night and booking one back is essential or you will not get one. Be warned ! but not the hotels fault obviously just a problem in the area. I would defianately reccomend staying here .

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rach1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Was very easy to book on line, but also i spoke to the hotel directly when i needed to amend my reservetion. The receptionest was very helpful and able to give me all the information i needed.
When we arrived the receptionest was very friendly and got us checked in very quickly. Also she told us about the good night guarantee Premier Inn offers, which means that they will sort out any of our problems and give us our money back if we are not happy. I haven't heard of this before and never been offered it at any other hotels i have stayed at (and alot of them i could have done with having it!)...

The room was very clean, alot more modern then i thought it would be too. In some budget hotels you pay less and you get a less quality room. But i can honistly say this is not the case with this premier inn.

Although it was not 5* hotel in the sevices it offers(no pool, room service etc), i would say it is 5* in staff service, cleanliness and comfort.

We did not have dinner in the Blue cap next door as had reservations elsewhere, but went in for a drink. it is very cosy , with open fires and a old country pub feel. We did have b'fast in the moring in the pub and it was very good, all made to order and eat as much as you like(which my bofriend took full advantage of)

We very much enjoyed our stay although only for one night, it was easy to get to (just off the A556 in sandiway) and everyone was very welcoming, if staying in northwich again would definatly go back!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yazza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We dropped in and where greeted by a very friendly helpful receptionist.
The rooms where very clean and spacious with ample facilities,it was nice to see a very comfortable bed with soft linen not starched sheets and windows that opened and heating that could be adjusted to individuals choice.
We then dined at the Blue cap public house and had a lovely meal with friendly staff and the atmosphere relaxed and traditional atmosphere complimented the menu choice.Thank you.
It has made our short break most enjoyable and certainly will return and would recomend this Premier Inn and Public House without any doubt as the best we have stayed at yet.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank herbanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Was just the ticket for a family of four traveling thru Cheshire. Rooms are spartan but very clean, up-to-date, and the price was right. Reception staff was polite and helpful, and the full English breakfast in the pub next door (The Blue Cap) was delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwich
2.1 mi away
Marston's Inn Hartford Hall
1.7 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
888 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Northwich Lostock Gralam
5.8 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel

Address: 520 Chester Road | Sandiway, Northwich CW8 2DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Northwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Northwich
Price Range: $64 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northwich Sandiway is a quiet,friendly hotel with ample complimentary parking located off the A556, linking Manchester and Chester. Situated next to the Bluecap public house & restaurant in the heart of the rolling Cheshire countryside, just twelve miles from historical Chester, four miles from Oulton Park race circuit and a stones throw away from peaceful country walks. Within easy reach of the towns of Northwich, Winsford and Warrington enjoying excellent access to the M6 and M56 motorways making it perfect for business and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel Northwich
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing