We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Eve”
Review of The Bulls Head

The Bulls Head
Ranked #32 of 110 Restaurants in Northwich
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Bulls Head at Davenham near Northwich is a friendly village pub serving home cooked, market fresh food and a selection af fine cask ales, lagers, beers & ciders. We have outdoor seating areas to the front, rear & side providing plenty of space for eating & drinking. We have 50 seater restaurant and 2 bar lounge areas which are also available for small parties. Dogs are welcome in the tap room.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having eaten here several times as we live locally we recommended it to my parents who travelled 15 miles to eat there on Christmas Eve. Having booked the table weeks in advance and knowing the standard of the food we were disappointed in the quantity and quality of the food and the service. Have given a 3 as overall our experience has been fantastic but would have given a zero for Christmas Eve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackanory_050767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    30
    15
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Davenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

For the first time in my life I was persuaded to have Christams dinner in a restaurant rather than at home. We booked a table for six at the Bulls Head and upon arrival were offeredour table, but chose to have drink at the bar. The staff were freindly and polite and let us chose our own time to sit down. The atmosphere was very festive and the food was excellent. I really enjoyed my first Christmas out and if everywhere is like theBulls Head, why would anyone face the stress and work of Christmas dinner at home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyChurchSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible - extremely rude staff”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Visited the bulls head in davenham on a Friday night around 5.45ish - pub was fairly busy but restaurant upstairs was empty - we were refused a table due to bookings and found staff and manager extremely rude - very poor service and no apology or alternatives offered. Manager clearly wasn't bothered about our custom and we were made to feel very unwelcome, staff in fact laughed when we tried to order some food at a table downstairs. Have heard poor comments from friends also about the pub and service. Would not visit again based on this expernce.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandiway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas party”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We recently had our work's Christmas Party at the Bulls head and had a wonderful time - food excellent, service excellent also and the atmosphere couldn't have been better. Have been going to this pub for meals for the last few years and each time excellent. I would advise anyone to go and give this place a try. Menu is good and food always presented well and very tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandiwayHappyroamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant village pub”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Another fabulous meal at The Bull. Sunday lunch with the kids, a top notch roast, great beer and a warm welcome from friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank jaydubelyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bulls Head also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing