We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem. Lovelly food. Very freindly”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Northwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A hidden gem. Lovelly food. Very freindly”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Food was cooked to perfection and i am very fussy. When we arrived we were told there was no room in the dining room so we settled for a drink and a peek at the menu. Then the barmaid kindly told us if we did wish to dine they could now squeeze us in. It was clean, cosy and freindly, even my partner who doesnt normally say much commented on how nice it was. It was very reasonably priced too. If you want a modern plastic palace with art on a plate then its not for you. This a a quaint old english in with traditional grub and a bit of modern international fayre thrown in. Oh and mature staff not kiddies in cute mini dresses (who look very nice but lets face it arent the most efficient). We will definately be back and its not often we say that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeboudica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    13
    2
    8
See reviews for
35
33
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night in advance of a track day at Oulton Park. We arrived just after 4.30pm. There was some confusion over how to get in but a brief phone call brought someone out to greet us.
Check in was easy and we were shown to our room on the first floor of a small block to the back of the property. We had a double room with ensuite shower room. Finding an issue with the cleanliness in the bathroom, we reported it. We were offered an alternative room but decided to stay put as our room was adjacent to our friend's room. We were delighted to find that not only was the issue sorted, but done to a very high standard before we had even had a chance to finish a drink in the pub garden.
We ate in the pub where the extensive menu meant that there was plenty to chose from for an evening meal, which went down very well. As we had to leave at silly o'clock in the morning we did not have the opportunity to sample breakfast. I was surprised to find that despite our early start the other guests must have left even earlier as the car park was empty. We had not heard them leave.
All in all, The Holly Bush was easy to find, a pleasant stay and convenient for what we wanted. We would probably stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This pub has real period character, the bar oozes history and they don't make them like this anymore. Sadly the food is disappointing, you don't have to search to hard for better dishes at comparative prices......typical meal costs about £10 but no better than we have found at other places. I was genuinely shocked at the whitebait, never found it so poor - they don't even offer so much a dip with it and that's unusual....

I t was disappointing to see bored staff in an adjoining room, lying around, gossiping and clearly anxious to get away....overall, I would say head to the Leigh Arms along the road or the Riverside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here and would highly recomend this hotel to anyone. The staff are all fantastic and very friendly they cant do enough for you. When we arrived we were greeted by Martin who is the manager, our room was ready for us even though we got there at 12.30, we stayed in the family room which was immaculate, lovely towels folded on all the beds and all the tea and coffee facilities you need.The beds were really comfortable, and anyone who says otherwise must obviously come from a luxury mansion, as in all the years i have stayed in hotels this is the best by far. The food is to divine and you can clearly tell that it is all fresh home cooked food, the chef is called Martin too and was a lovely chap, who came to speak to us whilst we were sat in the beautiful gardens, and when i say beautiful it really is outstanding and catered for all children and adults as they have a bouncy castle and a park in the gardens along with lovely clean garden furniture. The surroundings are stunning too. I would definatley return here and would highly recommend to anyone. A beautiful place with lovely staff that cant do enough for you. Thankyou once again to all the staff and the lovely friendly regular customers, we will be back. And a huge thankyou to Barry (the owner) for everything and making our stay so enjoyable.XX

Room Tip: Any room as the place is so serene and tranquil on a night, all with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Checked in about 3pm on Friday 19th July, was welcomed and checked in by Martin who offered us a drink from the bar to take up to the room (bar closed between 2 and 5pm). We had an upstairs double room en-suite, pine furniture, really comfortable bed and 32" flat screen TV. As it was a really hot day my husband asked Martin for a fan which he supplied straight away. We booked our meal for 7.30 and had a couple of drinks in the beer garden before dining. The food and service was excellent, very attentive staff and always on hand to help. After our meal we returned to the beer garden with a bottle of wine, it was a really lovely evening the beer garden is huge and has the usual picnic benches as well as plentiful garden furniture, swings, slides and bouncy castle for the young ones (I only wish we had found it when our son was young, it would have been ideal!). We booked breakfast for 9am, the table was all set ready with a jug of fresh orange and Martin offered us tea, coffee, toast and we both opted for the full English but you could have any variation of breakfast. The food was again excellent, everything is piping hot and fresh and plentiful portions.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing break away with excellent food and service. The Inn and bar is a listed building which dates back to the late 1700s and the accommodation is in the separate converted annexes. It was lovely to see the old fixtures and fittings still intact and the restaurant being kept within the character of the Inn. Everyone we spoke to were pleasant and helpful and made us feel welcome. There are other bars and restaurants within walking distance and plenty of golf courses in the area. We will definitely return again as soon as we can. Thanks to Martin for your excellent attention to detail and making our stay really enjoyable. Kevin and Barbara

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Lovely good quality food, massive portions.

Staff are very friendly and service was quick. Went on a Sunday around 6pm.

Restaurant looked a bit outdated, could do with redecorating.

Would visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmw1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Went out for a works lunch a few weeks ago. To be fair the place is really picturesque and the staff are really friendly, but for a pub it lacks atmosphere and the food is avarage at best. But another plus side is that they do have really good guest ales at very good prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris_Atherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwich
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich South Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hartford Hall Hotel
Hartford Hall Hotel
#3 of 3 in Northwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Northwich (Sandiway) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens
8.6 mi away
The Sandhurst
The Sandhurst
#2 of 2 in Middlewich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wall Hill Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Property: The Holly Bush Inn
Address: Warrington Road, Northwich CW8 4QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Northwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Northwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Holly Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holly Bush Inn Northwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing