We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent country local with great food and a nice atmosphere”
Review of The Holly Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Northwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, Uk
Level Contributor
268 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent country local with great food and a nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a superb local pub in an excellent location just minutes from the M6. We stated in the (huge) car park in our Motorhome, as the pub has a reciprocal arrangement with a Motorhome owners club. So we cannot comment on the rooms, although the whole set-up looked really nice. But the food in the restaurant was great value, with an extensive menu. Wine prices were also very reasonable. We would gladly stay or eat at this pub again; in fact, I'm sure we will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    23
    13
    2
    9
See reviews for
37
33
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I repair catering equipment all over the country..and that how i stumbeled across this pub..its now one off my best pubs to visit ,stay,eat and drink...most kitchens i visit are not the cleanest and put me off eating there...this one i can kindly says is spotless...and food is lovely...even the chips are nice home made ones not frozen ..and the rooms in the barn convertion have a very warm feel..its a family run pub...which is gtreat to drink and eat outside in the summer..you can let the kids play on the bouncy castle and have a nice meal and drink without hassel....5 stars in my opinion

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We visit the Holly Bush as often as we can, it's traditional charm and warm welcome from ALL is truly the way a pub should be! great selection of wines and drinks at reasonable prices, and the food is amazing home cooked, outstanding selection good portions and such value or money.
The views of other people on here regarding decoration and it being outdated? I would question what they expected? it has maintained it's features and charm and that is praised in my opinion and what makes th Holly Bush different from its competitors.
Must visit and judge for yourselves

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarabeth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My first visit to the Holly Bush Inn was wonderful experience, I thought the food was delicious and the staff were friendly and tentitive to every customers needs. I would highly recommend the homemade chips and burger some of the best I have tasted anywhere and the fruit crumble was lovely. I will be back again without a doubt this is a superb little place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Had my wife's 70th birthday party for 22family and friends on the 6 th of April. From the booking to the end of the party the attention given to myself and my wife and the whole guests was excellent. The staff (Martin Michelle Carol and STACEY were amazing) The three course meal was hot and plentiful and certain special meals were catered for. Stacey was the crown in the jewel with her pleasant attitude and friendliness the whole evening it made the evening flow without any hitches. I would recommend this hotel/restaurant to anyone and will return myself for future occasions. Well done to Tim (chef) for the excellent cooking. I hope this review helps future patrons

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here last week for two nights while I was working at Oulton Park race circuit.

So, we arrived at the hotel and first thing you notice is the bulidings rural character and intimate setting. The owner checked us in with no problems and was very helpful and friendly to assist us.

I checked into my room which was fairly small and the decor was a little dated, but at least it was cosy and warm.

There is a nice little bar there with a coal fire, only thing i can say is the beer was a little expensive at £3.30 a pint.

In regards to the food there, it was not really above satisfactory as the starter and main were more or less identical even though they were two totally different dishes. However, the staff were more than helpful to us and the breakfast was really nice.

In summary this place is a nice little stopover hotel with a good vibe and plenty of character, but no more than a three out of five.

Room Tip: no tips for here really
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBooth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

In terms of curb appeal the pub looks attractive from the outset

However after stopping by for a pub lunch I didnt think it had a great deal going for it

Decor gave the impression of an early 90's theme pub and the food was pretty terrible

Wont be returning in a hurry

Staff were friendly enough however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northwich
4.0 mi away
Hartford Hall Hotel
Hartford Hall Hotel
#3 of 3 in Northwich
229 reviews
5.9 mi away
Travelodge Northwich Lostock Gralam
3.9 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Wincham Hall Hotel and Gardens
5.3 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
0.8 mi away
Wall Hill Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holly Bush Inn

Property: The Holly Bush Inn
Address: Warrington Road, Northwich CW8 4QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Northwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Northwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Holly Bush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holly Bush Inn Northwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing