We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best cooked roast beef in any local carvery”
Review of The Watermead Pub

The Watermead Pub
Ranked #34 of 110 Restaurants in Northwich
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: postcode is CW9 7UA
Middlewich
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best cooked roast beef in any local carvery”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The carvery here is excellent with a good choice of roast meats, vegetables etc. For anyone with very young children, there is an excellent,small indoor play area to keep the little ones amused. The atmosphere in the watermead is excellent too. I visit at least once a month, meeting up with friends from Warrington who absolutely love this venue.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rainbowrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    158
    103
    53
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Please fix the roast potatoes!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We think the carvery is the best value and we used to visit alot when we couldn't be bothered to cook at home. £20 for 2 adults and 2 children is a no brainer... But the roasties put us off now. They're too large and often dry inside with an impenetrable skin. Size isn't everything (as I tell my wife), I prefer a smaller roastie with crisp not leathery skin. I've been to packed pubs for sunday lunch and had some terrific roasties so surely it's not a volume issue. It's got to be the method.
Otherwise the pub is a great budget eatery. The staff are friendly and the place is clean and comfortable. If you're not bothered how you take your roasties then I would recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LordofKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Follow the crowds!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Popped in for Sunday lunch and was pleasantly surprised, The placed was rammed (around 3pm) and apparently it's like that all day, everyday day but that speaks volumes of the food, I guess. There was no wait and the placed ticked like clockwork. As good as Momma used to make and cheaper than eating at home!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Carvery not open Again!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have visited the watermead on 3 occasions. 1st time was for the carvery on a saturday afternoon, Food was ok. Service a little slow.
2nd time Also on a saturday to find to my dissapointment the carvery was closed. so we had some kind of steak pie and chips, not really what i wanted. went away cussing!
3rd time giving them the benefit of the doubt we tried them again. Only to find yet again the carvery not on. WHY DOES THIS PUB ADVERTISE CARVERY MONDAY TO SATURDAY & ITS NOT!!!
Needless to say we wont be wasting anymore time hoping for a carvery here.
So we went to the chesterway & had mixed grill & 8oz steak. excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank littletedCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
656 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“good food. good value. friendly staff.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

One never knows if a tempting good deal will actually be a good meal, but as it turned out, we got both. Offering 2 for £10 for their carvery meals, we decided to try The Watermead restaurant across the carpark from our Travelodge accomodations. The carvery offered a choice of one of three meats - beef, ham or turkey - and my beef was quite good, but it was the choice of vegetables that made the meal ... they weren't overcooked and mushy steamtable usuals - they were hot but still fresh and tasty and the roasted potatoes were crispy outside and tender inside - seconds all around! The staff were all genuinely pleasant and the decor was not overdone and the restrooms, as everything else we saw, were clean. A very good value and a definite recommendation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KLsWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermead Pub also viewed

 
Lostock Gralam, Cheshire
 

Been to The Watermead Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing