We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm a criminal?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher

Kingfisher
Ranked #71 of 102 Restaurants in Northwich
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I'm a criminal?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Ordered some drinks and payed with a £20 note. Was given change for a £10. Come back tomorrow after we've counted the tills. Went back and got my money without an apology or admission of mistake. Left a terrible taste in my mouth. People make mistakes everyday which can be cured with a smile, gesture or sincere apology. I make my way to a pub with a little more atmosphere these days.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JMatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    26
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Decided to dine here having been in for a drink a few months ago and liked the atmosphere and the look of the menu, We took a chance by popping in at 6pm on a Saturday evening, without booking, and were lucky enough to find a table, even though it was very busy.

Before going on with the review, I just want to say how lovely the atmosphere at the Kingfisher is. As I said above, it was very busy when we arrived and became more so as time went on. There were groups, pairs of friends, couples and numerous families with young children which, in other venues, might have conspired to create a rather hellish experience! However, the staff at the Kingfisher were definitely doing something right as people were being seated quickly, orders taken and tables cleared so that there was a buzzy but relaxed and friendly atmosphere - quite different to many gastro type pubs I've visited, which attempt to cater to all and fail miserably!

Anyway, the staff who served my husband and I were all really friendly and efficient. Our drinks came promptly (and contra to other reviews, the glasses were sparkly clean!) and our food orders taken. I chose from the specials menu and my husband picked from the Artisan section on the main menu. The food was excellent! I had butterfly chicken in honey and mustard sauce on bubble and squeak with seasonal vegetables and I have to say this was possible the nicest pub meal I have ever eaten. Everything was hot and fresh and the portion was generous (a little too generous for me actually!). My husband's meal was similarly well received. Our drinks were replenished quickly and when we asked for the bill - shock horror! - that actually arrived promptly too!

We will definitely return. Thank you Kingfisher for a lovely evening!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Kingfisher food gas improved dramatically in recent months and a new menu was introduced before Christmas. Not sure if it's a new chef, better quality produce or a mix of two but they're doing something right, excellent pub grub with good presentation.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ouzo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Drink whilst waiting for a takeaway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We went for a quick drink on Saturday evening as our takeaway would be 20 minutes.

Plenty of staff behind the bar but lots of dirty tables and areas reserved with no one sitting at them.

Children running around waiting for an accident to happen.

After 10 minutes the dirty glasses were moved but the table was not cleaned.

Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely family pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have been a regular at the kingfisher for the last 6-7 years, we often have family meals and parties in there, we've been to a few other local pubs but there is always a welcoming feel at The Kingfisher.

The manager Carolyn is always happy to please customers as are her staff, although the food is " pub food " it's always been very good, and I'm very happy to keep going back and recommending it to my friends and family.
We were in on Sunday and had great roast dinners, much better than most carvery options these days , plus a added bonus when the in laws are happy too

The refit recently has made a huge effect on the the pub, I really like the pub and all the staff know the regulars very well, myself included.

Certainly will be heading back for food and drink soon

P Walton

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pwaltondesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing