We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and filling main course”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Holly Bush Inn

The Holly Bush Inn
Ranked #31 of 103 Restaurants in Northwich
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Holly Bush Inn is one of the oldest pubs in the country dating back to the 16th Century. The Inn and Barns Accommodation are situated in the Bartington Green Conservation area. The area covers only 2.04 hectares and is the smallest conservation area in the Vale Royal Borough. There is a Grade II listing on the barn and pub, which was previously a working farm. The Holly Bush is a privately owned public house since 1993. The pub has recently been refurbished to restore the traditional thatch roof, provide a larger restaurant area and to convert the barns into 14 luxurious en-suite non-smoking bedrooms, now with FREE unlimited Wi-Fi internet connection.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent and filling main course”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We met a friend at The Holly Bush for lunch today and used the restaurant for the first time. My husband and I both had marinaded belly of pork with chips, carrots, peas and a special herb gravy, which was absolutely delicious. The portions were so big that I couldn't eat all my vegetables (though I made sure I finished the pork) and had coffee instead of a dessert. We will certainly go back again. The dish was on the "day's specials" menu and doesn't figure on the à la carte list. Perhaps it should!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    17
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“New Years day lunch”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The wife used to bring her mum here and is a longtime
Since we have visited.

The food was fantastic red hot and tasty, the service was great whilst it was busy the two staff looked after everyone well.

Reasonable prices but be aware of the portions.

Going back soon

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet Tuesday”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Visited for dinner on a Tuesday evening; the food and service were very good. The menu is a little unusual as it is set out under chicken dishes, pork dishes etc. so you have to read it thoroughly as similar meals are in different sections based on the type of meat. The meals were piping hot, fresh and plentiful and reasonably priced and we enjoyed the food. The atmosphere is a bit lacking in the dining room - there were only 3 couples eating and there was no background noise so we were all conscious of listening to each others private conversations!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parga, Greece
Level Contributor
162 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We popped in here for dinner on our way home from Altrincham as we had passed it a few times and it looked nice. We downloaded a menu which was very extensive so we thought we would give it a try.

Initially when we walked I we were not sure where to go as there were several small rooms and an even smaller bar. We asked about food and were told to find a table but we would find most reserved if we hadn't booked. We managed to find the restaurant and a table and were given menus. We ordered salmon with jet potato and veg and lemon sauce, and BBQ chicken with cips and salad. The service was quick and our waiter was lovely. The salmon was nice and a large portion but not very nicely presented, just piled up in bits on the plate. The potato came with 2 cafe style portions of butter, and the veg was mash carrot and swede so I am glad I didn't order mash potato or I'd have had mash veg x 2. It would have looked much nicer with a little dish of butter, lovely seasonal greens and as for the lemon sauce, it was like wallpaper paste, congealed and we did mention this and it was taken off the bill.

My husband said similar about his chicken, nice but a chicken fillet would have looked nicer than diced chicken on the plate, and did want veg but not mash carrot so went for salad instead.

The decor was very dated, 1980 style lights, place mats and lots of artex and blown vinyl. All in all not what we expected, there are nicer places in the area to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanoushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Long wait”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went to the holly bush on a Sunday evening with my wife when we arrived it was very busy and the tables free had a reserved sign on them it didn't look good as we hadn't booked. When the waiter came we asked for table for two and he removed one of the reserved signs and we sat there.we ordered our food and waited just short of an hour didn't order starters as we wanted a sweet instead glad we didn't as when the food arrived it was very large and very good .i got the mixed grill and my wife had scampi .food was hot and well cooked and worth the long wait.tip don't get a starter if you are getting the mixed grill.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerard032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holly Bush Inn also viewed

Little Leigh, Northwich
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Holly Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing