We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service”
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #32 of 110 Restaurants in Northwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant on Trent & Mersey canal at Anderton marina, nr Anderton Boat Lift, Northwich, Cheshire.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have been here with friends several times. The best thing is the friendly service. Food average but nicely presented. Surroundings dated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmb1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northwich
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Again, no complaints. The food is freshly prepared, beautifully presented, the service quiet and friendly. Having discovered this restaurant only recently, we keep returning and are never disappointed. Yes, it's quiet but that's the beauty of it. Well recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Mothers Day lunch”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Took my mum here on mothers day, it was very busy but I am not surprised. The quality of food was great and at an exceptionally reasonable price. Mum had the traditional roast beef with all the trimmings and I had cod (for a change) it was lovely. Even though the staff were run off their feet, nothing was too much trouble. We will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What went wrong”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Having visited the moorings after reading the great reviews I'm left wondering what went wrong or was I at the wrong place..great atmosphere ? There's more on the moon..awful swing music (personal taste I know) ..it looked like a twee tee room with garden chairs and for such a popular place ,it was empty on a Friday nite ? My wife had the steak with was ample I had the cod which left me on and in the toilet the following day repeatedly.wont be in a rush to return until I'm of a pensionable age.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday Lunch Option”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Moorings enjoys a good reputation for well prepared home cooking. The Sunday luncheon menu is simple & unpretentious, portions are plentiful & served with a smile. Situated at the Anderton Marina there's lots of narrow boats moored or coming & going outside. It is the perfect place for all the family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Anderton, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing