We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"disappointing"”
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #22 of 110 Restaurants in Northwich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Restaurant on Trent & Mersey canal at Anderton marina, nr Anderton Boat Lift, Northwich, Cheshire.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"disappointing"”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

very disappointing. I had tuna and swordfish that I waited an hour for and I can only assume it was frozen and not fresh. I'm not sure why we had to wait so long as there was only one more table to be waited on??? Waitress seemed confused and didnt know the menu at all and the 50s background music grated on us a bit. On a positive note the chips my wife had were nice (served with Morrison's meat pie).

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank woollicabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went for a meal and throughly enjoyed it lovely outlook over the river/canal

Helpful?
Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We visited this restaurant for Sunday Lunch and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food for a well priced meal. The portions were over generous (too much veg) I dont think the yorkshires were home made but overall the meal was lovely, The garlic mushroom starter is now my favourite and my family raved about the leek soup. The staff are very friendly and polite and we will definitely go again

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yasmin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford Cheshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere excellent food”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Moorings is a scenic restraunt offering an excellent menu for all ages and times of day My personal favourite is Sunday Lunch .The roasters are to die for food is well cooked and well presented and plenty of it .Price is good too Visited 4 times now a favourite for Sundays staff very friendly and accomodating

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junefinney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a very good meal”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

we went to celebrate my birthday,and it was a very good choice, There were six of us; there was a set menu available but you could mix and match out of main menu too if needed, Some people had two courses and some three. The meals were all prepared from fresh and you didn't mind waiting because when it came it was very hot and arranged nicely on the plate, it looked very appetising, The restaurant overlooks the marina with canal boats getting ready for holidays, It is really a lovely picture.
The portion sizes were ample you didn't leave feeling hungry, and it was good value for money.

It appeared that there was only one waiter who had to all the seving jobs. My only complaint would have been that they could have done with one more staff member. Apart from from that i would give them 9 and a half out of ten

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Anderton, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Great Budworth, Northwich
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing