We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently brilliant”

Residence Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Residence Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 106 Restaurants in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $44
Cuisines: European, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In a 17th-century Georgian mansion house, Residence Restaurant & Bar offers international cuisine, a sophisticated cocktail bar and an al fresco garden terrace, across 2 elegantly designed floors. Beautiful and sumptuous, the interior at Residence Nantwich has intimate tables, chandeliers and chic furnishings. Residence is a popular Cheshire restaurant serving steaks, grills and local produce. Innovative and creative, The Residence menu features seasonal dishes. Residence has an international wine list and the dessert menu features treats like Chocolate Orange Torte or Trio of Desserts to share. In the centre of Nantwich, Residence Restaurant is housed in a charming Regency building, and is open 7 days a week.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistently brilliant”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Residence for food on a number of occasions and find that the table service and food is always excellent. The staff are very attentive, the food is great and the place is spotlessly clean.
Market menu is really good value. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilovegoodholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    118
    58
    23
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a couple we often visit The Residence for a couple of drinks and decided it would be an excellent place to celebrate our daughter's graduation.
The restaurant was about half full, quite good for a Tuesday evening but the service was not what I expected. We waited a long time for our order to be taken, the waitress was very helpful explaining which items of the menu were gluten free. The first course was served promptly but we waited a long time for the plates to be cleared (I don't mind waiting for the main course but I do not like looking at empty plates) and then the main course arrived. The food was nice, not outstanding, I did expect better. Again we waited too long for the plates to be cleared.
The menu was offered for sweets and several of our party chose one, and my husband an americno. We waited a long time for the sweets to arrive, which were very nice. My husband returned his coffee twice before giving up!
Overall I expected better especially for the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Popped in for coffee!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for coffee after trying lunch in town. It was quiet on a Monday but got the usual warm welcome. Watched wimbledon that was on and the bartender brought a flavoured water of the day, pineapple and mint. It was on display on the bar which we thought was a good touch! Be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shame about the staff”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely place , great food, shame the waiting on staff are not up to scratch. Tatoo"s, facial piercings and thick eye make up are not a good look, the south african girl needs to tone it down. Would recommend this place to eat and drink just staff standards need to improve. Other than that you cannot fault it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank knowsthetruth43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Something very special”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As a massive 'foodie' I have visited restaurants and bars all over the World from New York to Singapore, London to San Francisco and I only feel compelled to write a review when something is really good or really bad. Residence is something very special and I love it!
Residence is truly at the heart of the community, over the years we have experienced a free Champagne tasting course as part of the Nantwich food festival, a day at the races, great New Years eve parties, tribute bands and quiet drinks on the Patio sipping exceptional cocktails whilst watching the sunset (with complimentary canapes).

The customer service is excellent - every single staff member is knowledgeable, friendly, accommodating and attentive. Joseph is a cut above as he manages to do all of this whilst managing a busy bar, restaurant and team.

I bring everyone I know here when they visit Nantwich and they instantly fall in love with it too. I think the prices are comparable to other restaurants and bars in Nantwich although I would happily pay that little bit extra for the ambiance, service and food.

Residence is to Nantwich what the Empire State building is to New York.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Residence Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
Faddiley, Nantwich
 

Been to Residence Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing