We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, fantastic location and lovely staff!...”
Review of The Cheshire Cat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cheshire Cat
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have eaten here on a number of occasions, the most recent being valentines day. We had such a lovely meal, great service and atmosphere. The outside bar area is very swish too. Do try the chicken if you go, and the skinny fries are to die for!
Will be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kln_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

It's good to see you enjoy our skinny fries as much as we do - they are prepped daily in our kitchen by the sack load! Be sure to come back again soon and say hello to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our company hosted an event here for 2 days with customers, suppliers and colleagues - Sara and her team did a fantastic job organising and running the event. The food at the event was very good and receieved plaudits from all who attended.
We've already booked for next year!

Room Tip: Ask for the Octagen room......!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thanks for the review Chris. We look forward to seeing your again for next years International Cheese Show. Hopefully you'll have some more winners!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lovely food!
Whenever family visit they insist on coming here as it it just wonderful!!
A lovely atmosphere, you always feel wanted nice bar area and small back yard/ paved area.
Lovely for a summer meal out the back, we even brought the kids in and they throughly enjoyed it too!! Its a lovely place and even lovelier food!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Hi Lilian, thank you for your review. We're so pleased you enjoy your visits to us and that your family insist on coming time and again! We hope to keep offering you a relaxed and enjoyable dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 on a Thursday night as a young (25 & 30) couple staying in te Octogan Suite and booked the night before on laterooms.com for £120 B&B rate.

We stay in a variety a hotels for business and pleasure in the UK and abroad from Premier Inns to Raddisons and Hiltons. Seasoned hotel patrons.

The arrival:

We arrived at 3pm for check-in (19/07/12). Check-in was, as advised by LR.com from 2pm onwards. The yound chap at he bar/desk didn't have a clue. He stuttered his way through a 10 minute check in explaining to us three times that he didnt know what he was doing. Finally a rude manageress type ladt waded and took a pre-authorisation from my debit card and showed us to the room which WASNT ready in time for us. Still being cleaned. Even though we arrived an hour after check-in. We werent impressed. If you're selling a room for £120, you should be made to feel welcome and part of the place. We didn't.

Dropped bags off in the room with the cleaner (!) and made our way out the hotel for a drink. The bar btw is very cool. A mixture of meodern glass,plastcs,metals and mirrors set within a listed cottage-type property with exposed wooden beams. Its very unqiue and sets a nice atmospehere to chill in. An experience far from what youd get in one of the big chains.

We went in the italian across the road (also owned by the same guy, Paul Scholfield we think). Wow. What a different first impression. Welcoming and professional. They couldnt do enough to make us feel comfortable and look after us. We had several cocktails and relaxed. Would deffo reccommend. Service at the hotel itself though, during check-in was 6/10. Felt like we were in the way.Try harder next time.

The room:

Octogan suite was very cool indeed. Its, as you'd expect, octogan shaped. Bed at the back with a two-person jacuzzi at the end of the bed.It had a 50-odd-inch LG Plamsa TV and 2.1 surround sound system with lots and lots of amient lihgting. Perfect for a romantic get away. Tassimo machine with coffee and biscuits. Wet room for showering and wooden floors throughout. The room was definately a 9/10. Noise WAS a problem. As other reviewers have stated.Didnt bother me but my G/F was kept awake by drunk ramblings/singing till about 2pm. They should have a disclaimer on this one. Especially as the standard room rate is £180.


Area:

The cat is on Welsh Row in a Cheshire Village called Nantwich. Its a quanit little village (maybe a town?) with plenty of little pubs, restaurants and shops. A nice place to mooch, lots of unusual shops. We enjoyed it. We ate at the Thai Aori I thnk. £55 for four courses and drinks. Very good value and very tasty. Try it!!



Breakfast:

Top notch. Both had full english and coffee. Lovely coffe and breakfast was large and all good quality stuff and cooked well. Plenty of toast, fruit and ceral and juices. The girl working on breakfast (morning of 20/07/12) was spot on. Absolutely polite, helpfiul, friendly and "on-the-ball". She knew her job, she was organised, efficient and owned the breakfast area. Very professonal and gave the kind of service that should have been experienced at check-in. The kind of service that makes you feel special and therefore makes you want to go back. 9/10 for breakfast.

Note we didnt eat eveing dinnerin the CCat as the check-in experience was so crap we thought why give them any money.

Overall:

A unique building, in a nice quanit village (Nantwich), a fabulous and special room (Octogan suite) which is geared up for romantic getaway. They just need to hone their customer service skills a little. Shame really, as this let down the experience. Its a product and their produt wasnt quite there. Overall 7.5/10

Room Tip: they'll all be noisy----go during the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank digitalangel1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your very detailed review. We will do our level best to take your comments on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Attended my niece's wedding last weekend with the buffet reception held in the hotel and stayed the Saturday night. Bedroom was modern, very comfortable and well equipped - but the noise!! WARNING,. do not take room 2 on a Saturday night. It faces the court yard of the hotel, which is really an outdoor extension of the bar, and is directly adjacent to the entrance of the separate hotel room complex. If the noise of other hotel customers wasn't enough, the noise from the bar customers and music went on until 2am with blaring music, possibly from another bar though, still heard up to 3am. The night was relatively humid and we dare not open the window.
The old part of the hotel is superb though with modern fittings beautifully contrasting with the "olde world." The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had, freshly cooked and with top ingredients. the quality of the food for the wedding buffet was also excellent. The prices of drinks are rather steep though. £5 for two "Appletisers" is reaaly pushing it.

Room Tip: Pick one facing the rear, though I was told that there was a lot of car park noise too. Don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

We have had several complaints from hotel guests about noise levels in the warmer weather when windows and doors are kept open. Unfortunately the majority of the noise you can hear comes from other local bars who have licenses extended beyond ours. The music in our bar is strictly controlled and finishes at 1.15am and we keep our external doors closed as much as possible to minimise disruption to guests. We have been in contact with various bodies within our local council to ask for their help in controlling noise levels late at night. Please be assured we are doing everything possible to minimise noise in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

we and some of our family stayed here over my daughters wedding weekend, the rooms were excellent in particular the octagan suite where the bride and groom stayed. Sara and the staff were very helpful and friendly and did everything they could to make the weekend run smoothly, the reception and the food provided was very nice indeed, everyone complimented the wedding buffet, I was very pleased to find that while we were at the church ceremony all the rooms were cleaned and tidied, all the staff did an excellent job.
the only down side was the noise late at night from the local bars, but overall we had a wonderful time staying at the Cheshire Cat and we are certain to return as my daughter and her husband live in Nantwich.
Just one niggle I had was that I would have prefered a kettle instead of a machine to make my tea in the morning, as I had never used one before and there were no instructions.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank posts186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased your daughters wedding was such a success. We hope to see you again when you're next visiting your daughter and new son-in-law!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful building, lovely rooms, lovely breakfast..... no complaints at all here.

But unfotunately the noise is totally unacceptable. They really should warn people booking at the weekend, I felt it was totally unfair. The review that says it is like sleeping in a nightclub is totally correct, I wish I had checked TA before I booked.

Perhaps it was worse because it was Summer so people were drinking outside until 1.15 am, and call me a kill joy, because normally I love listening to all those party classics such as Wham and Spandau Ballet..... but when you have come away and want a chilled break, it really was totally unacceptable.

I just don't understand why they would go to all that effort with the rooms and then not do something about the noise. Although they stop music at 1.15, the bar next door carrys on until gone 2am.

I gave them a 2 because they have clearly made an effort, but as I said, I dont understand the point when they do nothing about the music?

Room Tip: Ask for a room futhest away from the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCatAtNantwich, Director at The Cheshire Cat, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

We have had several complaints from hotel guests about noise levels in the warmer weather when windows and doors are kept open. Unfortunately the majority of the noise you can hear comes from other local bars who have licenses extended beyond ours. The music in our bar is strictly controlled and finishes at 1.15am and we keep our external doors closed as much as possible to minimise disruption to guests. We have been in contact with various bodies within our local council to ask for their help in controlling noise levels late at night. Please be assured we are doing everything possible to minimise noise in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
2.3 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 10 in Crewe
2,294 reviews
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
17.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheshire Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheshire Cat

Address: 26 Welsh Row, Nantwich CW5 5ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $111 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheshire Cat 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cheshire Cat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheshire Cat Hotel Nantwich
The Cheshire Cat Nantwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing