We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay”
Review of The Railway Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Nantwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is the second year I have stayed here as part of a large group and Jane and Nigel have always made us feel very welcome.
Great location in town centre with lots of take aways and restuarants on its doorstep and a Morrisons across the road.
The rooms are comfortable, warm and clean and the single room was spaceous.
Shared bathroom; always clean and fully stocked.
Great full English breakfast provided.
The pub has great live music at the weekend and gets very lively with a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the premises if staying at the weekend due to the live music in the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

we only needed a bed and for that it was ok, the location was perfect as it right in the middle of the town and we was going to a boxing match. The rooms are a bit dated but was clean, the pub downstairs has a good serlect of ales and the staff was happy and jolly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howardballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here on the seventh of December for my wife's birthday, another couple were supposed to be with us but had to cancel the day before due to illness, no fuss or moans from Nigel and he made us very welcome. Room was large and clean, really comfy bed, nice and warm.Had a great day in Nantwich and came back to see the band that was on called Vavoom, great atmosphere, really good night was had by all I think. Music stopped at tweve midnight and we had a really good nights sleep followed by a full English at 9.30, which could of been later if we so wished! We will stay here again if in Nantwich as it is only five minutes walk to the town, has ample parking and is reasonably quiet at night especially the rooms at the back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When arriving at the Railway, we went to the bar to get our room key, and we where asked to pay £70.00 upfront ,we had not even seen the room, never had to do that before as they had already got our credit Card details. Went to the room, it was not Luxury as made out on the sigh outside, what made us laugh was that on top of the bathroom was a bed with a mattress not sure even how you would get up there. we had a shower took about 20 minutes before we even got wet. We went out to my cousins party at the White house, had a Fab time, when we got back at midnight the music playing was really load, we had not been told when booking that they have live music that goes on to 12.30am in the morning. Had breakfast was ok, when we went to give the key back they asked for £70 said we had already paid it as she said OH .We asked for some sandwiches when we arrived as we had travelled a long distance and they told me that they don't do food after 2pm,IT'S A HOTEL, SURELY THEY SHOULD OFFER SOMETHING.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Really grateful to Nigel and Jane for making my recent guests so welcome. I held a birthday party in town and some friends needed accommodation when most of the town was booked up. I was able to book a few beds (7) at the Railway and the hosts made my guests feel very welcome indeed. The rooms are perfect for a short stay and provided a good nights sleep, with comfortable beds,cleanliness, great service and a fantastic breakfast .which was on the table waiting at the pre-arranged time... The proprietors could not have done more to help me out and all of my guests echoed the view of the one, who was heard to say ... "Isn't the Northern half of the country a refreshing change to the South!!!!"

Room Tip: For a group, ask about the stable block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a stop point on a long distance walk due to its location.
From arrival things seemed to be a little off, I know they had a busy weekend with the 'Jazz Feastival' going on, but it seemed that we were interupting things by arriving.
The room given was large but in poor condition, fittings in the Bathroom fell off the wall, it was all rather tired and dated.
Accepting that the noise from the music went on until midnight, the room was still not quiet, with banging of doors and noise through until 3am, not a great sleep.
Breakfast was adiquate, no real options and all fried, the breakfast room seemed to be bing used as a store room, maybe this was due to the bust weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chillie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and 3 other friends stayed here as we were attending a friends 30th birthday party in nantwich. The room was clean and tidy with nice comfy beds and the owners were very welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The cooked breakfast the next day was lovely with as much tea and coffee as we asked for. We were told we could check out when we wanted and there was no set time for breakfast which was great for 4 very hung over ladies!!!! We all said we would stay here again as its fantastic value for money and we felt very welcome here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nantwich hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
347 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Premier Inn Crewe (Nantwich) Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Swan Inn Rooms
The Swan Inn Rooms
#1 of 1 in Wybunbury
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Hotel

Address: Pillory Street, Nantwich CW5 5SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Nantwich
Price Range: $49 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing