We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of The Railway Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Railway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Nantwich B&B and Inns
Hereford UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. The rooms are single glazed and very outdated. The Railway Hotel is exactly what you would expect from a huge Victorian building. HOWEVER - our room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vincentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband, sister-in-law and I stayed here for a night en route to board our hired narrowboat for a trip on the Shropshire Union Canal system. Innkeepers Jane and Nigel had communicated with us via email prior to our stay and had recommended the two-beddroom building detached from the main building, a fun Victorian pub and inn decorated in a Beatles theme. The Railway draws qyute a crowd on weekends as it is a klive music venue. Our quarters were totally quiet and we all had a great night's sleep plus a fine full English breakfastthe next morning. The bathroom in our little cottage was long and narrow and panelled in wood which gave us good practice for the compact quarters of a British narrowboat, 72 feet long and just 6.5 feet wid (to fit though the canal locks) Nigel was an absoloutely perfect host and took time to help us with anything we needed. This inn is handy to both the Nantwich and the larger and busier Crewe rail stations. There's a supermarket across the road and our favorite market, Aldi's is next door, terrific for provisioning your hireboat. We'd definitely stay here agin -- it's a bit like the Cheers place where you feel like a local immediately. Even Oscar, the huge German Shepherd, was welcoming!

Room Tip: If you want peace a nd quiet, do requestthe detached en suite quarters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AECNorthBrunswick_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

great place confortable room, we love the dog many thanks

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concord35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We needed a place to stay in advance of our narrowboat cruise out of nearby Wrenbury, and we chose the Railway Hotel based on the lone 5-star review. We contacted the proprietor and reserved the family room (for two of us and our kids), as this room was advertised as a quiet place to stay, away from the noisy bar scene that occurs most weekends in the pub (in the hotel). Yet, when we arrived we were informed that the family room was undergoing renovations, and that we'd be put into 2 separate twin rooms in the main building, right over the pub. At about 9 PM the band started playing (a pretty good group, actually), but it was not possible to get any sleep until the band stopped at around 1 AM. I even put earplugs in and that did not provide enough quiet to doze off.

That said, the proprietors (Jane and Nigel) were super nice and helpful in every other respect, and so long as I could be guaranteed a room that's not over the pub, I would not hesitate to go stay with them in the future. And although we were using Nantwich as just a place to stopover, it was a charming town to visit in its own right.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amchja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

me and my husband stayed in the railway hotel for 7 nights, and it was such a pleasent stay. the rooms were clean, en-suit, dvd player everything we could of wanted. the rooms were cleaned every day. the service you received was great value. as we paid £35 per person, per night and this included breakfast,
the breakfast was amazing, full english with everything on.
on the weekends they have live bands, and they were so good, very relaxing which you could have a dance to.

we met lots of people there, as everyone was so friendly.
it was dreadful to have to leave, but we will defenetley be returning, maybe a longer stay in the summer.

  • Liked — it was clean and everything you needed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lisajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.3 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
338 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Wybunbury
250 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Crewe
Ibis Styles Crewe
#3 of 9 in Crewe
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Hotel

Property: The Railway Hotel
Address: Pillory Street, Nantwich CW5 5SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Railway Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing