We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warner summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were a mixed group of family old and middle, and in that context this was a good venue for an affordable break. They are midway doing some major works & if how the lounge has been refurbed is an indicator it will be very nice when finished.
I thought the guests were bit older than indicated in the brochure etc so except for perhaps the rock weekends that might deter youngerish guests
Good little 9 hole golf course attached, which on my visit at least (midweek) was little used, so very relaxing.
Very much a holiday camp theme to the evenings with meal followed, by dance, quiz and then cabaret, led by an enthusiastic onsite troupe
Spa was fairly tired and needs a refurb. Staff were all friendly and helpful .
At its price break, overall pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEvaluatorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,185 - 1,191 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was the third time we had been to Alvaston Hall and we have already booked to return next year. Please ignore the bad reviews on this website - all we can say is that they are made by miserable peoplel who don't understand the Warner Leisure experience and how to have a good time. When you go to a Warner hotel you go for 3 main things, good entertainment, good food and good atmosphere. These appear in abundance at Alvaston Hall. Having last visited a year ago we were amazed that we were greeted by Kate - assistant entertainment manager - as though we were long lost friends - by name and even a new hair style commented on. If you get involved with the activities on offer during the day and evening you soon get to know the team and end up feeling part of the Alvaston family.
There were a couple of new additions to the entertainment team since last year, Melissa and Ricky and they are also brilliant. Loved the time we spent with them during quizes and daytime activities and listening to them sing in the evening shows.
Yes there was building work going on but this did not stop us enjoying ourselves and we didn't leave the site for 7 days! If you are a member of the extended Alvaston family it becomes part of the excitement of the future for this brilliant hotel. It is the people who make the holiday not the building. We even got a guided tour of the 'temporary cabaret dining area' before we left by Sharon - the manager. We can't wait to see the final result of all the work.

Thank you to all for yet another brilliant week.
Kath and John Bradford

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from Alvaston Hall Hotel, had a fantastic week, the staff are amazing they cannot do enough for you. They are having some building work done at the moment, but this made no differance to the holiday. The food is awesome something for everyone, already booked to go back in seven week can't wait.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just returned from a break at this hotel - we have stayed here before, loved it, gave it a glowing review on Tripadvisor, and recommended it to friends who accompanied us on this visit. We now wish we had gone somewhere else. We were there midweek, and it may be that if you are there on a weekend, the building work will not affect you quite so much, but it was noisy, dusty and dirty and the gorgeous views from the hotel which we had described to our friends were completely spoilt by car parking, diggers, lorries, and ugly fencing. There was nowhere to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine. We believe it would have been better for the hotel to close for a few weeks, while they did the work. I believe the work is now being ramped up to get it ready for the Winter season, and will not be really finished until sometime in the Spring of next year. So please be aware when you are booking your autumn/winter break that the restaurant and entertainment room will be in a marquee whilst the current room is being extended and refurbished. They are hoping to be back in the proper entertainment/dining room by early December.

Hopefully, the hotel will advise you when booking, but they did not advise us that some of the hotel's public rooms would be closed during our visit. Having read some of the Management's replies on Tripadvisor, they say they have telephoned everyone and advised them of the changes. Well, you did not ring us!

We thought it would have been nice if the price had reflected the inconvenience, but it did not, and also that it would have been nice for some little gesture of "sorry" to have been made, such as a free drink or other little treat.

On to the positives, the entertainment team are really very good, very professional, enthusiastic and talented. The rooms (we stayed in "The Limes") are very comfortable and well-kept. There is a good choice of food, with varying quality. The waiting and bar staff were pleasant and helpful, but we thought were under-staffed and rushed. The snacks in the Fountain Bar are quite reasonably priced and tasty at lunchtime. The parts of the hotel which have been refurbished are lovely and when all the alterations are made, we might consider a return visit.

We just wish that Warner's would stop their silly pricing policy of everything being 30%, 40% or 50% off - why don't they just have a proper pricing structure so we can all understand it?

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, book a room in "The Limes", as you don't have to go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sunscreen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Some poor reviews prior to the visit, so it was suck it and see!
We enjoyed the experience, good room overlooking fields, the food - both breakfast and evening meals - were very good, there was an evening menu or carvery, a good salad bar, no complaints.
The entertainment Fri, Rod Stewart clone was good, Sat we had Counterfeit Quo who were very very good, the hotels own entertainment staff also good.
We were not inconvenienced by the builders as we never went to the gym/swimming pool area where most of the work seemed to be.
The only minor drawback was the understaffing of the bar area, particularly at busy times - during and after the shows.
So there you go, the hotel was full, so if you see one bad review for a particular week, just bear in mind the other 168 rooms were happy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Warner, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the give to leave us your feedback.

I am glad you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed your break. I will pass your comments regarding the lack of team at busy meal times to my Restaurant Manager.

General Manager, Terry Sterling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we`ve just got back from Alvaston Hall we arrived 9th Aug until 12th August we got a lovely welcome , we booked it last minute ,the night before we went I read reviews and was dreading it but we were shocked because like it said in reviews they are having building work done but it didn`t disrupt our wk end at all The room was clean it was cleaned every day we were there , the sports faciltys were really good and clean and the food and entertainment were outstanding we were well pleased with the service it was our first time with warner but it certainly won`t be the last , can`t wait to see it after all the building work is done . Thankyou to every member of Alvaston Hall .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous weekend break at Alvaston Hall. We are regulars and found the refurbishment well managed and didn't effect us at all. I cannot believe some of the comments made by people on this site. If people have a problem while staying at this hotel, I can assure you the Warner's team go out of their way to resolve it and are always friendly and approachable - that's how we have found them. With regards to the comments about the food. We saw no evidence of chefs chasing round the fields catching rabbits for dinner - what SAD person James R is making such a comment. As with any restaurant you can have a problem with something (although that hasn't been our experience there) but you would just ask the waiter to change it. Also there is so much choice as you can choose from a menu selection served to your table or go to a carvery with several choices and there is a salad bar with meat so you could have anything you want really - you wouldn't go hungry. Warner will also cater for special menu requirements - as I found when I had problems with reflux. The chef came out and spoke to me about my needs. I think they do this for diabetics etc. How many restaurants cater for individuals needs.
Remember included in the price you pay is daytime and excellent evening entertainment and full leisure facilities. Read up on all the things you can try e'g. Archery, Rifle shootings, dance lessons all included in the price.
I am sad to think such a great Warner Hotel and staff are getting poor reviews like this and have written this as honestly as I can. What I would say is, if you do not want to see any evidence of building work, then wait until this is finished. DON'T miss out on going to such a great place.
I hope other people who have had a good weekend as good as ourselves, will take the time to give their comments and support this hotel.
Maria and Steve Bevan

Room Tip: Check website for offers - and often half price room upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,224 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
155 reviews
12.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,011 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel

Address: Middlewich Road, Nantwich CW5 6PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $112 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience this superb 19th-century half timbered house with a range of facilities including a 9-hole golf course, fitness studio and indoor pool. Relax in our stunning contemporary Signature rooms, top of the range Royale rooms or the Courtyard outdoors room accommodation. Enjoy the evening entertainment whilst you dine in our splendid cabaret diner, The Grove Ballroom. Nearly everything comes complementary to your room, so make the most of our facilities and the service offered by our friendly team. Location: Alvaston Hall is located 40 minutes south-east of Chester, and 30 minutes west of Stoke-on-Trent. Set in the pretty Cheshire countryside, it's ideally located near Manchester and Liverpool too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich
Alvaston Hall Nantwich
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing