We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent value and fantastic staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been returning to Alvaston Hall at different times of the year, sometimes twice, since 2001 and always have a great time. Yes, if you wanted to be picky, you could find the odd little thing to criticise, but overall it represents great value for money.
We usually stay in the Courtyard Chalet rooms, mainly because of the price, but all the rooms are very good and you can have the biggest and the best if it suits your budget.
The best thing about Alvaston is that, uniquely, the restaurant is also the cabaret venue and you don't need to worry about dining early to get a good seat to watch the show in another room.
The atmosphere is very informal and the staff, in all departments, are extremely nice and very helpful, they make you feel very welcome as soon as you check in. There is plenty to do, if you want to, or you can just relax and chill out.
We will return for more fun, and excellent value guaranteed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenaultCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,450)
There are newer reviews for Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,236 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We (Mr Mrs Ingram Mr Mrs Roper) had a great time at Alvaston Hall 10 December to 14 December 2012.
We left home to make what we thought would be about a two hour drive, we got held up on the M6 for 8 hours due to a very bad accident, we kept ringing Alavaston Hall to let them know what was happening, they said no matter what time we arrived they would find us something to eat.
We arrived at Alvaston Hall around 22-00 hours, they must have been watching for us, as soon as we pulled up in the car park there was a lady and a young gentleman to meet us, the lady took my wife by the arm to help her into the Hotel as my wife needed the Ladies Toilet, the young man took our cases and would not let me help him saying you go and get a nice warm drink.
When I walked into the Hotel to join my wife my wife was sat having a cup of tea, I joined her the tea was great, the young man who had took the cases to our room came back and gave us the room key, he also asked if we would like some warm soup, I said we would eat the sandwiches which the lady had brought then when our friends arrive we would have soup with them if that is ok, he said fine.
The sandwiches and tea was first class service, the welcome could not have been better if we had been Royalty, it was first class, it brought tears to your eyes.
We all watched for our friends (Mr Mrs roper) coming down the drive, as soon as they arrived they got the same first class treatment, the young man made us all some very nice hot soup with a bread roll, again first class, we had as much tea and coffee to drink as we required, could not fault it in anyway at all.
We then went to bed we stayed in a standard room The Limes second floor, this was a smashing room, looking forward to a good night’s sleep, which we did the bed was so comfortable.
The following morning we went to have breakfast getting another first class welcome, food first class.
During our stay we met a lot of very helpful pleasant staff; they always greeted you with a very nice smile, always willing to help you, guide you, direct you or give advice.
The food was first class throughout our stay could not fault any meal we had it was fit for a King/Queen, thank you.
We used the Leisure facilities found these to be first class, we joined in the quiz games these where very good, and good fun for all.
We listened to the singing during the day, joined in the games which were great, watched, joined in some of the dancing again great.
The entertainment every night was first class, the Pantomime was out of this world, the people taking part gave it their all, it was a show that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.
You have a great team at Alvaston Hall, we would like to wish each and every one of them all the very, very best for 2013.
We would like you to pass our comments on to all the staff and thank them very, very much indeed for helping to make our stay at Alvaston Hall great.
We have booked for December 2013 we are all looking forward to meeting you all again.
Yours Truly,
Mr E. Ingram, Mrs J. Ingram, Mr P. Roper, Mrs E. Roper

Room Tip: This was the first time we had been we stayed in standard double room second floor overlooking the c...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tobywingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The weather was awful, the break was wonderful, excellent food, comfortable rooms, superb entertainment and very couteous staff. A few days to remember and fantastic value for money. We are planning to go again later this year with our friends again

Room Tip: We had a basic room which was absolutely fine.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rustynail7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just returned from this 4 night break. It was a themed break 'A cruise on land!'. The entertainment team were excellent and they took us to europe(monday), asia(tuesday), america(wednesday) and back home(thursday). The restaurant also had a themed menu to match the destination as well as the usual cravery menu. The entertainment is in the restaurant and seats were allocated so no need to worry about not getting a seat! There were lots of different things to do:- quizzes, dancing, rifle shooting, archery, swimming, gym, spa, unfornately the golf course was closed due to waterlogged course but the driving range was open.
We were in a courtyard room and although it was small it was nicely finished with a nice shower room with a walk in shower. It was also very near to the facilities. One does have to go outside to access the courtyard rooms so an umbrella does come in handy.
The drinks are expensive but in line with most hotel prices. Liked the fact one could pre order a bottle of wine for dinner and it would be waiting on the table.
Thought only having one hour for breakfast was a little draconian and closing half the serving areas after 30minutes off putting. Also dinner times were from 6.30 until 8pm, maybe a little longer would be in order?
Did we enjoy the break? Yes.
Would we visit again? Yes.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank regency19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thanks very much for leaving us your comments and feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our themed “Cruise on land” break.

It’s great to hear you got involved in some of the activities we offer at Alvaston and I’m really
pleased you enjoyed your break and said you would visit us again.

Terry Sterling, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Twixmas at Alvaston Hall
27th-30th December 2012

Family of four in our party who enjoyed a lovely break once again.

The atmosphere at Alvaston is unique, and has to be attributed to the attitude and dedication of all of the staff members; they make you feel part of their big family.
The whole team put in a tremendous amount of effort to ensure guests are well looked after, nothing is too much trouble for any staff member here.

The rooms were comfortable, warm and facilities were good.

Food as usual, was excellent served to table or self serve whichever you choose, we were looked after at table by Lucy who did a great job!
Our bar needs were provided to table by Matthew who could not have been more caring and professional!

The entertainment was very good, the comedian was excellent but the ‘in–house’ entertainment team took first prize with brilliant shows.

A variety of activities ensured provision for all tastes including shooting, archery and in addition a nice pool and spa to relax in, various health and beauty treatments are available but book early to secure an appointment.

This is not the first holiday break we have enjoyed at Alvaston Hall,

We have booked three more breaks in 2013 – need I say any more!

kjcstaffordshire

Room Tip: We stayed in Grove house which was good but we prefer rooms in the main house.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjcstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have just experienced our best ever Christmas. From the moment we arrived in the car park until the moment we left we received first class treatment. Presents, fruit and chocolate awaited us in our room, welcome drinks and mince pies in the lounge. The food was delicious every mealtime, Christmas Lunch was especially delightful finishing with fruit, nuts and dates, the evening buffet was a choice of hot or cold (if you had room for it). Boxing Day Gala Dinner was the tastiest and most tender roast beef I have ever had and the meal finished with a chocolate fountain. The entertainment team were very friendly,helpful and extremely capable. We had the choice of dancing, quizzes, aqua aerobics, zumba and salsa classes, line dancing and we even had a panto, absolutely hilarous. There are various bars and lounge areas if you just want to relax or if you want a snooze or catch up with the soaps on TV (freeview) the rooms are very comfortable. For the more energetic there is always the pool or gym. The evening entertainment has everything you could want with dancing, singing,comedy and brilliant shows put on by the team Once again we made some lovely friends, as usual at Warners, and hope to meet up with them again next year, yes we have already booked Our congratulations to all the staff at Alvaston Hall for giving us the most wonderful time

Room Tip: All the rooms are to a good standard but signature or royal rooms offer that little bit extra,eg set...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a fine time here we had gone with older relatives and thought perhaps that's what the whole weekend would be, old people, and to some degree it was but staff worked hard at pleasing guests the entertainment was fairly good and because we have never been before we didn't know what to expect, that said some guests were obviously frequent travellers and knew the low down by heart. Food was fine and about the standard I expected so no great surprises or let downs there. I was looking forward to having a spa day because I find it so relaxing having a treat but have to be honest I recently had a spa day elsewhere and my treatments here did not match up but it was fine all the same. All n all if my older relatives wanted to return then we would accompany them it is also not to far away so yes we would return (but not as a couple)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantwich
0.9 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.2 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,205 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Middlewich
Travelodge Middlewich
#1 of 2 in Middlewich
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nantwich
338 reviews
12.8 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel

Address: Middlewich Road, Nantwich CW5 6PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range: $103 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience this superb 19th-century half timbered house with a range of facilities including a 9-hole golf course, fitness studio and indoor pool. Relax in our stunning contemporary Signature rooms, top of the range Royale rooms or the Courtyard outdoors room accommodation. Enjoy the evening entertainment whilst you dine in our splendid cabaret diner, The Grove Ballroom. Nearly everything comes complementary to your room, so make the most of our facilities and the service offered by our friendly team. Location: Alvaston Hall is located 40 minutes south-east of Chester, and 30 minutes west of Stoke-on-Trent. Set in the pretty Cheshire countryside, it's ideally located near Manchester and Liverpool too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich
Alvaston Hall Nantwich
Warner Leisure Hotels Alvaston Hall Hotel Nantwich, Cheshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing