We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch”
Review of The White Lion at Hankelow - CLOSED

The White Lion at Hankelow
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An award-winning, quirky country pub with great atmosphere and proud of it's locally sourced menu. Set in the Cheshire countryside, overlooking the beautiful Hankelow village green. "Local Food, Local Drink, Local Country Living!" Voted "Pub of the Year 2013/14" in the Nantwich Dining Out Awards.
Audlem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb lunch”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Great lunch last week!
The fish and chips were delicious and the dessert was the best I have had for a very long time (Lion's Mess). I'll definitely be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bensmum143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteLionHankelow, Manager at The White Lion at Hankelow, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Great to hear you had a good visit and thank you for taking the time to review. We hope you have a good start to the new year and that we see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    33
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and superb food”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I have avoided the White Lion for a number of years. Recently on the good report of friends we decided to re-visit. What a lovely surprise. We are very impressed both with the ambiance and the service. The welcome received is most encouraging and the food excellent. So impressed are we that we have now eaten there three times in as many weeks and have booked for New Years Eve. Thank you to the Heywood family and all of the staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eirelav57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteLionHankelow, Manager at The White Lion at Hankelow, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit and we hope that you come again soon and try our new menu within the next few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, great meal”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I went with 3 other people to The White Lion for lunch on Friday. We all had something different and all meals were superb. Everything was beautifully presented and the waitress was helpful and friendly. A lovely pub with a great atmosphere, serving good food. What more could you want?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteLionHankelow, Manager at The White Lion at Hankelow, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and we wish you all the best in the New Year.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Suspicious”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I will start this review as I do all my others by stating first and foremost that I have no personal interest in this pub or any form of association with the owners. I am a regular customer and appreciate what the Heywood family have done in regenerating the White Lion and putting a heart and soul back into the community.

I am therefore somewhat suspicious of the recent "dissapointing" review posted on TripAdvisor. Of course everybody is entitled to their opinion but I just cannot reconcile the negative comments made with my dining and drinking experiences over the past 12 months.

The White Lion is everything a village pub should be, real ales, good food and a warm welcome is assured plus the latest attention to detail which is the White Lion taxi service for those that wish to dine & drink without the worry of getting home afterwards.

I think its a wondeful pub, yes Im biased and yes I live in Hankelow therefore it is in my interest and everybody else that lives in the village that we support the Heywoods and make sure the White Lion continues to prosper becuase without a community pub there is no community.

Take the negative reviews with a pinch of salt and visit the White Lion, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeuceCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteLionHankelow, Manager at The White Lion at Hankelow, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you are enjoying what we have on offer. However 2014, holds much more and we are excited to get some new projects off the ground! 2014 is going to be a good one at The White Lion and we hope to see you soon so you can join in the fun with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Class Food & Service”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have recently moved to the village of Audlem, and we pass the White Lion on a daily basis plus we have heard nothing but oustanding reports about the new management at the White Lion and its food so, on returning home on Tuesday evening we decided to give it a try. Well, we're so pleased we did, the reception was excellent and the atmosphere is unbeleavable, let alone the menu and cusine.
We were informed by Dominic that it was Steak & Wine evening on a Tuesday, so although the main menu looked so tempting we plumbed for a Fillet steak and a Breast of Chicken complimented by a bottle of house red, fantastic, and especially all for just £24.99, and that's for two people in total.

In fact, it was so fantastic, we booked our small staff Christmas Luncheon there and then for 12 people, and we're also looking to book in for Christamas Day Lunch as well, if they still have a table available!

All in all it was just amazing, both the food and service from all concerned, thank you and very well done.

As for the two negatives you have recieved, I would take no notice of those as some people obviously expect the Ritz, but as their choice of food shows, at chip shop and burger parlour prices.

Just continue with what we were presented with on Tuesday eveing and you'll certainly go from Strength to Strength , see you on the 15th Dec Diminic, and thank you again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWhiteLionHankelow, Manager at The White Lion at Hankelow, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us so nicely. We are glad you enjoyed our Tuesday Steak & Wine night, which has been a great addition to the menu. Hope to see you again soon.
Team White Lion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Lion at Hankelow also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing